The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > iCUE Software

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-01-2019, 11:56 PM
Pingo Pingo is offline
Registered User
Pingo's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Posts: 2
POST ID # = 1006580
Pingo Reputation: 10
Question ICue update "3.16.56" cause a bootloop on windows new update 1903

So as I said in the title, after updating ICue to the 3.16.56 on the new windows update 1903, my entire Pc freaks out for no reason. The video output turn green and after the reebot it goes in a bootloop with the error "Inaccessible Boot Device", forcing me to go to the previous backup, wich is exactly the moment after the update 1903 end its installation.

I tried multiple times testing what could possibly cause the problem, after some tests I went to the conclusion that the new Icue update was 100% the problem. I don't know what to do. Of course I can keep the previous version, the 3.15.101, with no issues and no more update, but as u can probably guess, this doesn't really fix my problem and it's not a good idea to not update a software. I would like to not make a new and clear installation of windows because it's a lot of time and patience I don't wanna waste.

What can I do? I think is an audio incompatibility caused by the new audio of the update 1903 but i'm not sure this is the only one, even tho I've no idea what to do, i'm not sure that DDU could solve my problem and I don't know if corsair it's aware about it. Please help this is getting annoying

I apologies for my English, but as some of u can tell it's not my native language

Last edited by Pingo; 06-02-2019 at 12:03 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-04-2019, 05:07 PM
Corsair Calico Jack's Avatar
Corsair Calico Jack Corsair Calico Jack is offline
Corsair Employee
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 578
POST ID # = 1006927
Corsair Calico Jack Reputation: 10
Default

Hi Pingo,

We aren't getting other reports of this issue so it's likely isolated to this PC.

Some computer's have some fairly outdated drivers related to legacy hardware that can cause this. For example, does your computer have a CD/DVD drive attached to it? If so, try disconnecting it and see if the install goes through.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-04-2019, 05:16 PM
Pingo Pingo is offline
Registered User
Pingo's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Posts: 2
POST ID # = 1006932
Pingo Reputation: 10
Default

No I don't have an CD/DVD drive on my computer. As u can see my pc as some high-end specs wich was relased within 2-3 years ago I belive. I think is more a software thing than hardware
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-07-2019, 08:12 AM
Yemble Yemble is offline
Registered User
Yemble's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: Yorkshire (GOC)
Posts: 82
POST ID # = 1007246
Yemble Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pingo View Post
No I don't have an CD/DVD drive on my computer. As u can see my pc as some high-end specs wich was relased within 2-3 years ago I belive. I think is more a software thing than hardware
iCUE 3.16.56 works perfectly well with Win 10 Pro x64 1903, which I've been running since April. What you should do, however, is make sure that every hardware component within your PC is bang up to date with regard to drivers.

Do not make the mistake of assuming that Windows Update will keep all of those non-Microsoft devices up to date, because it will not! Intel's site is a good place to start. If you having trouble locating drivers for certain components, then try searching at StationDrivers. Note also that the mobo vendor sites rarely have the very latest drivers available, so home in at individual component level, for example, the audio chipset.

Last edited by Yemble; 06-07-2019 at 08:19 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-07-2019, 08:14 PM
cplifj cplifj is offline
Registered User
cplifj's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 79
POST ID # = 1007301
cplifj Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Corsair Calico Jack View Post
Hi Pingo,

We aren't getting other reports of this issue so it's likely isolated to this PC.

Some computer's have some fairly outdated drivers related to legacy hardware that can cause this. For example, does your computer have a CD/DVD drive attached to it? If so, try disconnecting it and see if the install goes through.
If you think an optical drive would cause problems for corsair gear (or software),

then i would advice you to stop advising anything to anyone.
This must be the biggest BS i ever heard.

Better advice would be to just diconnect all corsair gear and throw it away.
Problem solved forgood.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-07-2019, 08:51 PM
c-attack c-attack is offline
Registered User
c-attack's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 8,776
POST ID # = 1007306
c-attack c-attack Reputation: 104
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cplifj View Post
If you think an optical drive would cause problems for corsair gear (or software),

then i would advice you to stop advising anything to anyone.
This must be the biggest BS i ever heard.

Better advice would be to just diconnect all corsair gear and throw it away.
Problem solved forgood.
No, then you would still have the OS potentially trying to use/access other boot devices. Odd, I think that was in the original post. Maybe send your idea Microsoft's way.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-12-2019, 08:24 PM
Hank555 Hank555 is offline
BetaTesta
Hank555's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Location: Northeast USA
Posts: 6
POST ID # = 1007815
Hank555 Reputation: 10
Default I just had the same problem as the Top Poster of this Thread

I had the same exact thing happen to my computer after updating to newest Corsair Icue Version by clicking on Update within the icue program . On restart my computer would just stay stuck in a loop restarting itself before Windows log on . I had to Restore Windows to an earlier time when it was working correctly and then got back into Windows 10 and icue was reset back to ver. 3.14 . I am still not sure if it was Windows 10 new Update for 1903 that i got today or the Icue update corrupted Windows registry somehow . Right now I have 3.16 version of icue which i downloaded by itself and installed it after uninstalling 3.14 icue myself . I didn't get any looping of windows after restart Yet but i was thinking it could have been caused by the Uninstaller of icue if you install the newest version by downloading it and installing it by clicking on the Update tab within Icue . Anyway with Restore Windows 10 deleted the update for 1903 that came out today also .June 11, 2019—KB4503293 (OS Build 18362.175) . With icue 3.16 i have no sound with my corsair headset as well now. Really bad version of icue it seems that doesn't like to play well with Windows 10 1903 . Installing 3.16 also messed up my Lan Card connection on reboot so i had to have windows repair that also. I'm going back to 3.14 since i know it works and never had any problems with it. Anyone can download that from other sites since Corsair doesn't seem to keep any older software that works better for some people .

Last edited by Hank555; 06-12-2019 at 08:53 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 06-13-2019, 12:09 AM
Gronar Gronar is offline
Registered User
Gronar's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: Round Rock, Tejas
Posts: 105
POST ID # = 1007824
Gronar Reputation: 10
Default

I upgraded to 1903 yesterday and have rebooted multiple times with zero issues. iCUE v3.16.56.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 06-13-2019, 12:15 AM
KOKOtm KOKOtm is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 14
POST ID # = 1007827
KOKOtm Reputation: 10
Default

Same for me, everything is fine.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 06-13-2019, 05:25 AM
Sacco Belmonte's Avatar
Sacco Belmonte Sacco Belmonte is offline
Registered User
Sacco Belmonte's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 251
POST ID # = 1007844
Sacco Belmonte Reputation: 10
Default

I updated to 1903 yesterday. Latest iCUE was installed.

Had no problems whatsoever.
__________________
Do NOT mix PSU cables.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 06-13-2019, 04:30 PM
KevB88 KevB88 is offline
Registered User
KevB88's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Posts: 1
POST ID # = 1007898
KevB88 Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Corsair Calico Jack View Post
Hi Pingo,

We aren't getting other reports of this issue so it's likely isolated to this PC.

Some computer's have some fairly outdated drivers related to legacy hardware that can cause this. For example, does your computer have a CD/DVD drive attached to it? If so, try disconnecting it and see if the install goes through.
I also had BSOD after this update. More specifically I had the dreaded srttrail.txt error, not even windows recovery worked.

Not saying that the update has caused issues for everyone but the OP definitely is not alone. I literally created an account just to inform people.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 06-13-2019, 04:57 PM
c-attack c-attack is offline
Registered User
c-attack's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 8,776
POST ID # = 1007901
c-attack c-attack Reputation: 104
Default

There are always going to be people with problems when doing a major Windows update -- unless of course you believe Microsoft's spiel about "Windows as a service". My preference when doing these larger packages is to uninstall major service drivers (video/sound/iCUE, etc.) before taking the Windows update. Then choose the option not to download 'any updates' on install. That will the OS from auto-installing them. Then reinstall your drivers and run the update process like normal. When Microsoft makes substantial changes to how things work, it seems silly to expect the driver to auto-correct itself. There were some changes to the sound package this time. Anything that uses 3rd party sound drivers probably needs to be re-installed. That includes iCUE if you are using one of the Corsair headsets. Frankly anything that loads on boot and is critical to operation should probably be checked.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 06-13-2019, 11:43 PM
Gronar Gronar is offline
Registered User
Gronar's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: Round Rock, Tejas
Posts: 105
POST ID # = 1007927
Gronar Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by c-attack View Post
There are always going to be people with problems when doing a major Windows update -- unless of course you believe Microsoft's spiel about "Windows as a service". My preference when doing these larger packages is to uninstall major service drivers (video/sound/iCUE, etc.) before taking the Windows update. Then choose the option not to download 'any updates' on install. That will the OS from auto-installing them. Then reinstall your drivers and run the update process like normal. When Microsoft makes substantial changes to how things work, it seems silly to expect the driver to auto-correct itself. There were some changes to the sound package this time. Anything that uses 3rd party sound drivers probably needs to be re-installed. That includes iCUE if you are using one of the Corsair headsets. Frankly anything that loads on boot and is critical to operation should probably be checked.
I haven't used my Void Pro's for gaming yet but I checked them and they work fine.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 06-13-2019, 11:50 PM
Hank555 Hank555 is offline
BetaTesta
Hank555's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Location: Northeast USA
Posts: 6
POST ID # = 1007928
Hank555 Reputation: 10
Default

I did not have any problems upgrading to 1903 nor did I have any problems with the recent update for 1903 which includes more security for Bluetooth devices that locks out some older Bluetooth items . I only had the problem after installing update 3.16 within the icue program and it uninstalled my 3.14 icue and drivers and then put in the new software and drivers and upon reboot from that my computer went into a loop where it would keep restarting without getting to the Windows 10 logon screen and then said My computer would not start and gave me options to have Windows repair itself which did not work and then I chose the option to restore to a previous time which worked but many programs and updates were deleted .I'm not happy with what happened just because I thought maybe I might get better sound quality If I upgraded icue .I've come to the conclusion that my Corsair void headset earpads are trash and will never have the capability to cancel out any external noise like the newest model HS60 unless I can find replacement earpads that keeps external noise out,unlike factory earpads. I'm going to keep my icue software at 3.14 which works with 1903 and any other version of Windows 10 . Ver. 3.16 does not ! I tried it more than once with fresh install as well. . Something from the icue install process corrupted windows registry enough so it could not fix or repair itself on reboot .Many people with this problem might not have the option to contact anyone as their computer might be stuck in that loop and they need someone to repair it .
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 06-14-2019, 04:50 AM
mYb mYb is offline
Registered User
mYb's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Posts: 1
POST ID # = 1007950
mYb Reputation: 10
Default

Well, I have the same problem as Pingo, and it is not a isolated to his PC, not isolated to a version of Windows 10, and not isolated to a version of iCUE 'cause I have this problem before the 1903 windows update, and there are other reports around the interwebs about this problem from some time (here/reddit).

As Pingo's setup, I have pretty recent components, no CD/DVD drive attached.

i9 9900k
ASUS ROG Maximus XI HERO
Corsair CMR64GX4M4C3200C16 (4 x 16 GB)
Corsair H115i PRO
Corsair HX850i
Samsung 970 Pro SSD 1 TB
Seagate Firecuda SSHD 2 TB
Western Digital Blue 500 GB - The oldest part from my PC - but doenst make any difference if I swap it out
ASUS ROG Strix RTX 2080TI

Peripheral devices connected

Logitech G413
Logitech G502
Xbox One Controller adapter

No other usb device connected

The problem, I suspect comes from either a weird combination (misfit) of Asus motherboard and iCUE or a combination of Samsung SSD and iCUE, or Windows screwing something with the drivers but I have stopped Windows from updating drivers.


Even if I uninstall completly iCUE and install the new update the same bootloop or "Inaccessible Boot Device" BSOD.
I try from time to time after a driver update or motherboard BIOS update to update iCUE and I have to use restore point to revert to the previous version.


I forgot to mention that all drivers are up to date, all programs and windows itself, latest BIOS and firmware to all the components except iCUE.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
boot loop, icue crashing, windows 10

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:49 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.