The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Cases

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-10-2019, 10:16 AM
KombatKatana KombatKatana is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Posts: 4
POST ID # = 1023546
KombatKatana Reputation: 10
Default Possible Corsair 1000D M2?

Wasn't sure where to post this, but I figured this was the best place for now. I was wondering if there would be a Version 2 of the Corsair 1000D. I currently own one and I can say that it's truly a great case, but there still some issues that have me asking me "why is this an issue on a $600 dollar case?

1) Why is the ITX button on the back of the case??? I understand not wanting to cause confusion, but a big power button and a small power (possibly labeled "ITX") on the front panel could have solved this issue. My case being up against the wall makes it a pain to reach it.

2) It would be nice if the Hard Drive Storage Bay was removable. However, more annoying is that the hard drive holders are made of the cheapest plastic you can find? I understand you don't see them, but its the fact that I'm paying $600 for a case. I expect quality from top to bottom.

3) My next issues is with the back cover used if you have a single PC system setup... why does it cover half of the vertical Graphics card ports for the second system?!? I understand a vertical mount is included for the main motherboard and aren't covered, but why wouldn't I just use the two vertical mounts all the way in front? However, I feel this is a simple part fix that just makes sense. Even if I don't have a second system, I'm going to want to display my graphics card as upfront as possible.

4) Finally, this is purely personal preference but it would be nice if the 2nd system could fit a Micro ATX and not just a Mini ITX. I feel the case is already huge...whats an extra 3 inches? But this would allow the 2nd system to be either a gaming or stream/recording set up. At this high end, most people are going to use an Elgato HD60 Pro 4K, or similar, that plugs into your PCIE Lanes, so you can mirror your game and capture it to the 2nd PC. You can use the the chips integrated GPU, but you would be pressed to be able to stream AND record. So having the second PCIE slot, available on the micro ATX would enable a graphics card and a capture card. Yes, I know you can get a USB capture card, but at this price point, you're gonna want the best of the best. And yes, I can use the main motherboard for steaming instead, but I would prefer to use a bigger motherboard to handle the CPU and GPU that I'm going to tax as hard as possible on ULTRA settings for 244hz 1080p or 144hz 4K, while the streaming/recording PC will be 1080p 60FPS stream and record.

But most of these issues are not case breaking and the 1000d is still an awesome case. However, if these changes are made, mainly the first 2 and especially the 4th, I would buy the new version in a heart beat. I'm not sure what needs to be done to get the version 2 even considered, but I would love to hear your thoughts. Thanks
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 11-10-2019, 01:27 PM
Zotty's Avatar
Zotty Zotty is offline
CORSAIR Beta Team
Zotty's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: South Staffordshire, England, UK
Posts: 3,237
POST ID # = 1023555
Zotty Reputation: 52
Default

did a few concepts for this....

The 1000V (V for vintage hardware)



The 1000W (W for wide)




The 1000WV



The 1000T (T for Tall)

Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 11-10-2019, 01:34 PM
Zotty's Avatar
Zotty Zotty is offline
CORSAIR Beta Team
Zotty's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: South Staffordshire, England, UK
Posts: 3,237
POST ID # = 1023556
Zotty Reputation: 52
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by KombatKatana View Post
why does it cover half of the vertical Graphics card ports for the second system?!?

I have a solution for that.

Coldzero will makes case parts for you.. a guy in my Discord server (Corsair Case owners Club https://discord.gg/b6x8HpM ) came up with that idea and Coldzero made it for him....

https://www.coldzero.eu/corsair-1000...su-cover-plate






I also have a single system dual loop 1000d and have my gpu in the itx slots



Reply With Quote


  #4  
Old 11-10-2019, 10:20 PM
KombatKatana KombatKatana is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Posts: 4
POST ID # = 1023588
KombatKatana Reputation: 10
Talking Like the design

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zotty View Post
did a few concepts for this....

The 1000V (V for vintage hardware)



The 1000W (W for wide)




The 1000WV



The 1000T (T for Tall)

Haha. I can appreciate the designs. To be honest, I would buy the 1000W... Could fit almost fit a whole ATX in that big boy... Do it (you build that case Zotty!).
Reply With Quote


  #5  
Old 11-10-2019, 10:26 PM
KombatKatana KombatKatana is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Posts: 4
POST ID # = 1023589
KombatKatana Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zotty View Post
I have a solution for that.

Coldzero will makes case parts for you.. a guy in my Discord server (Corsair Case owners Club https://discord.gg/b6x8HpM ) came up with that idea and Coldzero made it for him....

https://www.coldzero.eu/corsair-1000...su-cover-plate






I also have a single system dual loop 1000d and have my gpu in the itx slots



I'm so glad that I'm not the only one with that issue. But I'm happy that there is a work around. I don't need the part anymore because I'm doing a dual PC setup. However, I'm glad I have someone to reach out if I want to make some case modification later in the future. But I will be joining your discord shortly.
Reply With Quote


  #6  
Old 11-11-2019, 06:44 AM
Zotty's Avatar
Zotty Zotty is offline
CORSAIR Beta Team
Zotty's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: South Staffordshire, England, UK
Posts: 3,237
POST ID # = 1023611
Zotty Reputation: 52
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by KombatKatana View Post
I'm so glad that I'm not the only one with that issue. But I'm happy that there is a work around. I don't need the part anymore because I'm doing a dual PC setup. However, I'm glad I have someone to reach out if I want to make some case modification later in the future. But I will be joining your discord shortly.
ok buddy :)
Reply With Quote


  #7  
Old 11-11-2019, 12:58 PM
usna92 usna92 is offline
Registered User
usna92's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 31
POST ID # = 1023633
usna92 Reputation: 10
Thumbs up Cold Zero Part

I have the ColdZero part and it works great. Fits exactly into the space and does not occlude any of the ports or screw holes on the 1000d. Looking at my system now makes me realize I should slide my pump up a tad, but the part itself is fantastic.
Reply With Quote


  #8  
Old 11-11-2019, 02:05 PM
DevBiker's Avatar
DevBiker DevBiker is offline
CORSAIR Beta Team
DevBiker's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Republic of Texas
Posts: 7,807
POST ID # = 1023638
DevBiker Reputation: 88
Default

I'd be up for the 1000V. Gotta have my optical drives, ya know.
__________________
Please click "Edit System Specs" and fill out your system info.

This comment is provided "as-is", without warranty of any kind, express or implied, including, but not limited to, the sanity or mental fitness of the author. The author is not a Corsair employee, does not represent Corsair, and no comment should be construed as an official statement from Corsair.

Reply With Quote


Reply

Tags
1000d, case design, fix, suggestion, upgrade

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:59 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.