Corsair Community

7000D - Airflow Configuration

Issa

Hi all, this is my first build.  I am only using air cooling.  I've got a Noctua NH-U12A cooler, 3 front high speed 140mm intake fans, and one high speed 140mm exhaust fan in the back.

My question is whether or not I should put in any more fans?  I've got the intake and exhaust fans always running faster than the CPU intake/exhaust fans.  At CPU idle, I can feel air blowing out of the back of the case.

1. Should I add more intake fans on the side?
  2. Should I add an exhaust fan at the top (right above the CPU cooler)?

See images below for reference.  Any input would be greatly appreciated.

PXL_20230904_172428819.thumb.jpg.d169b3ef8a23a3d538cef32342fbc6af.jpg

Was thinking if I was to add an exhaust fan, it would be here.

PXL_20230904_172404020.thumb.jpg.43d4ce3f64f6f9b0ec914fac90e6d5e4.jpg

The open spots for the side fans.

PXL_20230904_172418978.thumb.jpg.6011cd029d4d4eff0bedac2dedb5c02e.jpg

PXL_20230904_172412136.thumb.jpg.52331abc634b5abc7c6622e3b30072c5.jpg

You don’t need side fans for this. Those won’t do much more than send the front intake into a swirl and that’s not helpful with the air cooler blow through setup. 

I don’t think you need another top fan either, but that one might be more wait and see. You’ve got enough front intake for to displace the air around the RAM and top of MB components and that heat should float out the top on its own. You can experiment with a single top exhaust to see if it helps with internal temp, but it also could pull more gpu heat across those components rather than letting it go out the back. 

• Thanks 1

On 9/6/2023 at 6:13 AM, c-attack said:

You can experiment with a single top exhaust to see if it helps with internal temp, but it also could pull more gpu heat across those components rather than letting it go out the back.