Corsair Community

Multiple failed modules DDR5 Vengeance 5600MT s

Go to solution Solved by Al Del Degan,

I recently purchased all the new parts to build a computer and I ordered FOUR 32GB Corsair Vengeance 5600MT/s DDR5 modules. After not being able to install Windows, I had a tech friend come over with all his diagnostic software and we found out that at least one of the memory modules was failing. Since they come in packs of two, I sent the set back and the new replacement set should arrive tomorrow. In the mean time, I was able to install windows on the computer with the remaining TWO 32GB modules installed. 

I should mention that I used to be a service tech and I have built hundreds of computers, so I wasn't careless or rough and I did observe the standard anti-static precautions.

Today after installing a bunch of my applications, it started blue-screening and saying it was having a memory hardware issue. The problem persisted after many reboots and worsened to the point where I wasn't able to successfully boot Windows anymore. I removed ONE of the 32GB modules and now the machine only has one module left. It boots and seem to be running fine for the past hour or two. 

I have the iCUE software installed and according to the sensors and graphs, everything is operating correctly and within tolerances for temperature and voltage. 

I find it hard to believe that out of two packages of modules I had two defects. I am hoping when the other two modules arrive tomorrow they will work fine, but I am wondering if there is something else that I should be aware of? Does anyone have any thoughts? 

I have a ASUS PRIME X670E-PRO WIFI motherboard with an AMD Ryzen 7 7700 processor and a Geforce RTX 3060 Ti OC edition graphics card.

Thank you for any information you can provide.

Gratefully,

Al