Corsair Community

MP600 1TB - Linux - Firmware 11.3 - NVMe protocol quirk

Hi Corsair

As a Firmware Engineer I have just build a new Workstation with a Ryzen 5950x, Asus Rog Croshair VIII Hero motherboard.

Using a Gentoo Linux, currently with kernel gentoo-sources 5.4.80 gives the following warning on boot.

dec 24 12:46:28 nova kernel: nvme nvme0: missing or invalid SUBNQN field.
dec 24 12:46:28 nova kernel: nvme nvme0: Shutdown timeout set to 10 seconds

This issue with invalid SUBNQN field is a known issue in a number of NVMe units. If you look at the kernel code you will see that it has a dedicated quirk for it. See NVME_QUIRK_IGNORE_DEV_SUBNQN in

https://github.com/torvalds/linux/blob/master/drivers/nvme/host/pci.c

So my question is what is fixed in firmware 13 for the drive?

Does it include the wrong SUBNQN field?

I can't find a detailed changelog, preferable with info about for each commit done to the firmware codebase between the two releases.

Second is the firmware files available somewhere or only the tool?

Based on the input from others regarding the new firmware and performance I will be relectant to upgrade until I know if the issue about the SUBNQN is fixed.

If anyone have an upgraded MP600 1TB, can you please boot a linux (just a bootable USB pen) and verify if you see the issue. Just use the journalctl -b

• 2 weeks later...
  • Corsair Employee

Hi there, I just received a formal release notes doc from our product team that may provide some insight.

Firmware files are delivered through the tool. Unfortunately we do not officially support Linux operating systems at this time.

https://forum.corsair.com/v3/attachment.php?attachmentid=40036&stc=1&d=1609954209

Edited by Corsair CJ

Hi. Just an update if anybody else is reading this.

Upgrading the firmware did not change the issue.

The device still have an issue with SUBNQN compared to the NVMe specification.

frosteyes@nova ~ $ journalctl -b | grep nvme0