Corsair Community

H100i Fan Position. Blow air out of the case.

BrashAchilles

Hi Guys.

I hope you can help me.This is my first build, I'm migrating from the Xbox to gaming PCs. I have planned my build carefully but when my H100i arrived I was horrified to read in the instructions that I should set up the fans to pull air into the case "for optimum performance". This throws off my cooling setup for my C70 case.

I planned to put two intake SP120s in the front of the case and a AF120 blowing air out of the back of the case. Addition air intake through the side window with an AF140. Plan was to use the H100i to vent air out of the top of the case. I understand I would need to substitute the stock static pressure SP type fans to vent out of the case in my desired "blow hole" configuration.

Has anybody done this? Does it affect performance in a well ventilated case like the C70? How will it impact Corsair Link? Is Corsair Link modeled on the recommended fan configuration only, thus giving erroneous data? Thanks in advance for any help!

They recommend the fans be set as intake so your CPU gets the coolest air possible. You can switch them around if you like. You would just be using slightly warmer case air to cool your CPU. It won't affect performance much. Maybe a few degree.

How will it impact Corsair Link? Is Corsair Link modeled on the recommended fan configuration only, thus giving erroneous data? Thanks in advance for any help!

It will have no impact on CL and no, it won't produce erroneous data.

I did a build last week with a c70 and after putting the fan's on the drive bay's to the front and removed the upper drive bay, this case has a excellent airflow,

So you can build the H100i on top as push or pull or push-pull.

Like peanutz94 said the difference are only a few degrees and nothing to worry about.

The stock fans of the c70 are 650 rpm and they do a nice and very silent job.