Corsair Community

spent $2k today, please help me with timings

Hey RamGuy:)

Today I bought an Asus M2N32 SLI deluxe wireless edition along with a 4200 dual core and some XMS2 CM21024-6400PRO XMS6405v3.1

i dont need glasses to see the sticks are rated @ 5,5,5,12 however being my first experience with AMD64 I would like to know if you have already worked out the finest complete list of timings for the maximum overclock on this board.

I am an Admin of a watercooling/Overclocking website and plan to do a complete review on this rig and I would sure give plenty of thanks to you and this site if you could help me.

this is what i bought..

http://liquidninjas.com/bbs/showthread.php?p=105060#post105060

I'm not pimping our site, I sincerely ask for help or a heads up to fine tune this puppy.

I bought Corsair because nVIDIA reccommends it for this board and my experiences with other XMS moduals in my PCs.

thank you very much in advance.

Steve.

Welcome to the forums, Synthohol!

I've spotted two things in question on your purchases (and remember, this is constructive criticism ;): ).

First, you seem to have purchased two CM2X1024-6400PRO modules instead of a Twin2X2048-6400PRO matched set. This may or may not become a problem depending on your individual modules and your CPU's ability to handle non-matched modules.

For reference, you may want to read: What Is Dual-Channel Memory?

You may also be interested to know that Twin2X2048-6400C4PRO's are available for purchase at a rated 4-4-4-12 latency which will yield a small performance gain.

Second, your Antec Neo 500 may not have the required juice for a pair of 7900GT's which can require up to 22 Amps per card on a dedicated 12v rail. The reccommended 12v rail for SLi is 30 Amps... thus, for your setup, you'd better make sure that two of those three 12v rails are dedicated to the graphics cards.