Corsair Community

H150i PRO XT fans replace

dnm13

Hey guys, I have a question for those who's experienced regarding to fans.

I'll be honest here; I'm a total newbie when it comes to cooling solutions, especially fans that you need to buy separately.

I got a H150i PRO XT for $75 (brand new) to pair with my 5800X. I'm impressed with it's performance to cool down my chip. But aesthetic wise, especially since I have side + front tempered glass PC case (in which I put the H150i on the front slot), I think I want to replace the fans with RGB variant, and I want it to work with iCUE.

So far, what I gathered from simple net browsing, the fans that I might want would be made from Corsair in order to make it work with iCUE, and it has to be PWM 4 pin. I also don't want to sacrifice my current performance with the ML120, so preferably the fans' RPM is equivalent / higher. What catch my eyes is HD120. Will they work?

I also read something like Commander Pro. What are they? Do I also need them?

Hi Buddy.

so. prob best you start with the RGB Faq in my signature below. that will inform you of the devices such as the Commander Per etc.

quick question. when your machine is under load.. whats temps and what sort of speeds are you seeing from your ML fans? and indeed what sort of fan curve do you have applied to them?

I have had all versions of Corsair H150i and i have always used Corsairs HD or LL or QL fans and never needed them to run at full speed even under load..

Edited by Zotty
  • Like 1

The HD fan series has been discontinued. There are still some out there, but be careful on pricing. They should not be overly expensive. Also of note the HD120 has a minimum run speed of 800 rpm. For those looking for the lowest possible idle noise load, that might be a bit high.