Corsair Community

Planning new build - advice needed

Hi there,

I am new to the Corsair User Forums and am hoping to get some advice/feedback on my proposed new build. I usually build a new rig every 5-6 years but while I have built like 4 standard gaming machines in the past with minimal RGB lighting, I really want a well-lit machine this time around. I am proposing an air cooled machine because I don't think I'm at the technical level yet or have the time to do a water cooled build.

So here's my wishlist so far of components:

1. Corsair Obsidian 1000d.

2. Corsair Dominator RGB 64GB (4x16GB) 3600MHz CL16 DDR4

3. Gigabyte X570 Aorus Xtreme Motherboard

4. AMD Ryzen 9 5900X Processor

5. Noctua NH-D15 Chromax CPU Cooler Black

6. Gigabyte Aorus GeForce RTX 3090 Xtreme 24GB

Questions:

1. Is the Corsair Obsidian 1000d overkill for an air-cooled system?

2. The Corsair Obsidian 1000d looks like it can fit eight 120mm fans on the front panel, three 140mm fans on the top and two 140mm fans at the back; From what I can see the case does not come with any fans included but does include 1 x Commander Pro. If I wanted to get 5 x ML140 PRO RGB LED 140MM PWM Premium Magnetic Levitation Fans for the top and back of the case and 8 x ML120 PRO RGB LED 120MM PWM Premium Magnetic Levitation Fans for the front, how do I connect them all up so that I can control both the RGB lighting and fan speed using Corsair(?) software?

3. What other components would I need to have to get all the fans to light up and be curated like those fancy promo videos I saw where all the RGB lighting elements can be controlled as a complete entity?

4. I know the motherboard I am thinking off also has some led and fan controllers - are these compatible with the Corsair software used to control lights/fan speed?