The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Memory

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rating: Thread Rating: 27 votes, 4.85 average. Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-07-2009, 03:56 PM
RAM GUY's Avatar
RAM GUY RAM GUY is offline
Corsair Product Guru
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 118,290
POST ID # = 407213
RAM GUY Reputation: 10
Default Corsair Dominator GT Elpida Hyper Announcement

We have seen a number of reports across various forums about failures of modules (from Corsair as well as from other memory manufacturers) built with Elpida “Hyper” RAMs. Through lab testing, we have now been able to reproduce similar failures. We are continuing to test to determine the cause of these failures. Note that although a relatively small percentage of “Hyper” ICs appear to be affected, the rate of failure is not acceptable to Corsair or to our customers.

Due to these failures, we will no longer sell Hyper-based modules until the issue can be resolved. We have also have asked our retailers to return any modules they currently have on their shelves. Products impacted include TW3X4G1600C6GTF, TR3X6G1866C7GTF, TR3X6G2000C8GTF, TR3X3G2000C7GTF, and TR3X6G2000C7GTF. We are working on enhancing our manufacturing and testing process to be able to offer these parts again as soon as possible.

We continue to stand behind these modules 100% with our standard warranty, which can be found at http://www.corsair.com/warranty/default.aspx.
Reply With Quote


Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No
  #2  
Old 07-07-2009, 09:21 PM
CJPart CJPart is offline
Registered User
CJPart's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 3
POST ID # = 407266
CJPart Reputation: 10
Default

My TR3X6G2000C7GTF set is currently in transit back to Corsair for RMA. What is the case here? Will I receive a replacement set? Will there be delays while these issues are sorted?
Reply With Quote


Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No
  #3  
Old 07-08-2009, 12:17 PM
RAM GUY's Avatar
RAM GUY RAM GUY is offline
Corsair Product Guru
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 118,290
POST ID # = 407347
RAM GUY Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CJPart View Post
My TR3X6G2000C7GTF set is currently in transit back to Corsair for RMA. What is the case here? Will I receive a replacement set? Will there be delays while these issues are sorted?
It would be best to contact our customer service at http://www.corsair.com/en-us/company/contact and dial "0", (510) 657-8747 or email rmaservice@corsairmemory.com to see what options are available for you.
Reply With Quote


Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No
  #4  
Old 07-10-2009, 12:25 PM
Yellowbeard's Avatar
Yellowbeard Yellowbeard is offline
Corsair Tech Mktg
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Atlanta,GA, USA.
Posts: 11,311
POST ID # = 407662
Yellowbeard Reputation: 46
Send a message via AIM to Yellowbeard
Default

Corsair's VP of Marketing, Jim Carlton, speaks to Hexus regarding the Elpida Hyper IC situation:

HEXUS LINK


Technical rapport

HEXUS brought you the news, earlier in the week, that high-end component maker Corsair was pulling some performance DDR3 modules due to an unacceptable failure rate in their Elpida Hyper ICs.

We subsequently discovered that a couple of Corsair's new PSUs have had their listed 80Plus energy efficiency rating changed from Gold to Silver.

So we thought it was time to get to the bottom of things and fired over a few questions to Corsair's vice president of marketing, Jim Carlton.



[HEXUS] Corsair has had a few ‘interesting' developments in the last few weeks. We've seen you announce a hold on the Dominator GT and your two new PSUs mysteriously switched from 80Plus Gold to 80Plus Silver. What's going on? Inquiring minds want to know! Let's start with the Dominator GT.
[Jim] Okay, but please be gentle. I've only had one cup of coffee this morning.



[HEXUS] So why did the Elpida issue initially go undetected?

[Jim] First, I'd like to make sure that we clarify exactly what's behind the production hold on the Dominator GT. This is not a general Elpida problem-they make a lot of quality memory ICs. What we've seen is a higher-than-expected field failure rate with our Elpida Hyper-based Dominator GT modules. This is something the enthusiast community started to see a while ago, but we weren't sure at first if it wasn't just related to the fact that most of them were pushing them as hard as possible, upping voltages and clock dividers, pouring liquid nitrogen or liquid helium on them and so on.

Even though our modules have been shipping for a few months, the types of failures and the relatively low levels statistically speaking have meant that we could only recently properly characterize the failure rate. Because modules using Elpida Hyper ICs were found to have unacceptably high failure rates, we decided to take a pretty unusual step and put production of these parts on hold until we could find a solution.

We're working closely with Elpida engineers to isolate and correct the problem so we can get back into production as soon as possible.



Alternatives to Elpida

[HEXUS] What actions has Elpida taken so far and what do you want it to do?

[Jim] That's probably a question best answered by Elpida. Our engineering team is working with them to fully characterize the problem and find a solution. The specifics of what they are doing are way beyond a marketing guy to understand or describe!

I do know that they've correlated the failures and it appears at this time to be isolated to a few lots of early production ICs. We'll know more soon, I'm sure.



[HEXUS] Is it possible to make this a Dominator GT without IC's provided by Elpida?

[Jim] As far at the Dominator GT 2000C7 triple kits go, Elpida Hyper is currently the only IC that can achieve that level of performance on the Corei7 platform. We will put these back into production as soon as we can.

We have also been working with other high-speed memory ICs from Elpida and other chip manufacturers and I'll let you in on a secret: we'll be announcing new additions to the Dominator GT family in the next few days. These are modules we've been working on for other platforms and speed grades. So the short answer is yes, we can make Dominator GTs from ICs other than Elpida Hyper.


[HEXUS] How long do you think it will take for this issue to be resolved?

[Jim] I've asked this question of people far smarter than me and the best I can say is we don't really know yet. We're doing an accelerated lifecycle test with a pretty large sample size right now, and we need to see those results before we can really know the full answer.

Before we start shipping any Hyper-based parts like the 2000C7, we won't ship before we're very comfortable that Elpida has the issue completely isolated and solved at the chip level. That could take just a few weeks or it could take months.

The new Dominator GT modules I alluded to earlier will be shipping in a matter of days, using high-speed ICs other than Elpida Hyper.



[HEXUS] Other Manufacturers build modules based on Elpida IC's - How do you feel this is going to affect them?

[Jim] Are you trying to get me in trouble here [laughs]? I can't really speak for other companies.


We are generally very conservative when it comes to quality. We are very proud-justifiably so, in my opinion-of the quality of our products and we stand behind every module with a lifetime warranty.

We could probably just stick our heads in the sand, keep shipping the current Hyper-based Dominator GT kits, and live with the higher field failures (that, by the way, are affecting everybody as you can see from forum posts and enthusiast blogs all over the web).

But if you think about that from a customer's perspective, that's pretty crappy. Would you like to spend your hard earned money on a product and then be one of the unlucky ones that have an IC fail? Now you've got to contact the manufacturer, get an RMA, and wait for the replacement. In the meantime, your PC is dead, or you end up using some older, slower modules you stripped out of an old build. That's not the best customer experience at all!

We'd rather lose some sales in the short term and save that customer the headaches. If he really wants the best 2000C7 kit, he'll wait until we get these kinks ironed out and pick up a Dominator GT when it's back in production.
Reply With Quote


Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No
  #5  
Old 07-10-2009, 08:42 PM
bolden bolden is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 23
POST ID # = 407754
bolden Reputation: 10
Default

is this ram model affected by this issue?

TR3X6G1600C7
Reply With Quote


Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No
  #6  
Old 07-10-2009, 09:55 PM
Wired's Avatar
Wired Wired is offline
Administrator
Wired's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 31,999
POST ID # = 407756
Wired Reputation: 16
Default

Considering it's not Dominator or GT, no.

http://www.corsair.com/products/domi...t/default.aspx
__________________
No, I don't work for Corsair
...you need to flow like a river...
Forum Rules
Admin of this forum / webdesignforums.net / Petri's IT Forum / The Corsair Memory Steam Group
Founder/Creator/Admin of ZE SECRET PROJECT (Coming Soon)
Reply With Quote


Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No
  #7  
Old 07-13-2009, 09:21 AM
DerGringo DerGringo is offline
Registered User
DerGringo's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 1
POST ID # = 407912
DerGringo Reputation: 10
Default Tr3x6g1866c7gt

Dear guys...

I bought a tripple kit (3x 2GB) of Dominator GT just last week and I'm wondering if my memory is affected?
The Part number reads the same like the affected memory, but the "F" is missing at the end. So my part number written onto the memory is TR3X6G1866C7GT

Can someone tell me if I better get replacement? And if so: where ?

Thank you!
Reply With Quote


Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No
  #8  
Old 07-13-2009, 11:59 AM
Wired's Avatar
Wired Wired is offline
Administrator
Wired's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 31,999
POST ID # = 407932
Wired Reputation: 16
Default

Yes, that's a Dominator GT. No, you don't have to get it replaced or anything. Just like any other memory if it doesn't pass valid testing at its rated specs and it's determined the memory is the issue, contact Corsair and they'll take care of you.
__________________
No, I don't work for Corsair
...you need to flow like a river...
Forum Rules
Admin of this forum / webdesignforums.net / Petri's IT Forum / The Corsair Memory Steam Group
Founder/Creator/Admin of ZE SECRET PROJECT (Coming Soon)
Reply With Quote


Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No
  #9  
Old 07-16-2009, 06:49 AM
AC360 AC360 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 4
POST ID # = 408367
AC360 Reputation: 10
Default

It is a Corsair Dominator GT PCB design issue or a Elpida DDR3 IC issue?
Reply With Quote


Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No
  #10  
Old 07-16-2009, 09:51 AM
Yellowbeard's Avatar
Yellowbeard Yellowbeard is offline
Corsair Tech Mktg
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Atlanta,GA, USA.
Posts: 11,311
POST ID # = 408374
Yellowbeard Reputation: 46
Send a message via AIM to Yellowbeard
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AC360 View Post
It is a Corsair Dominator GT PCB design issue or a Elpida DDR3 IC issue?
It's an issue with the Elpida ICs. It's affecting every company using the Elpida Hyper ICs.
Reply With Quote


Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No
  #11  
Old 07-16-2009, 05:27 PM
BoNet BoNet is offline
Registered User
BoNet's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 5
POST ID # = 408453
BoNet Reputation: 10
Default

One of my Dominator GT TR3X6G2000C8GT died two days ago, so I'm running on 4GB at the moment.

I did a RMA request yesterday, waiting for response.

I hope Elpida can fix this fairly quick.

You guys at Corsair are just amazing. Support and announcement is top of the line!

Last edited by BoNet; 07-16-2009 at 05:30 PM.
Reply With Quote


Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No
  #12  
Old 07-22-2009, 04:44 PM
Wired's Avatar
Wired Wired is offline
Administrator
Wired's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 31,999
POST ID # = 409188
Wired Reputation: 16
Default

Update: Corsair Re-launches Dominator GT Ultra-Performance DRAM Modules

Why do the new part numbers for a kit of memory look like the part numbers for a stick of memory?
__________________
No, I don't work for Corsair
...you need to flow like a river...
Forum Rules
Admin of this forum / webdesignforums.net / Petri's IT Forum / The Corsair Memory Steam Group
Founder/Creator/Admin of ZE SECRET PROJECT (Coming Soon)
Reply With Quote


Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No
  #13  
Old 07-28-2009, 07:18 AM
marilith marilith is offline
Registered User
marilith's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 39
POST ID # = 409828
marilith Reputation: 10
Default

Damn ! I bought 2 kits of TR3X6G1866C7GTF during june and still continue to experience several problems with my dominator GT Kits.

How to know with certitude if I'm affected with the elpida problem or not ? Is there any listing somewhere with the affected batch numbers so I can check if mine are included?

Regards,
Marilith
Reply With Quote


Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No
  #14  
Old 07-28-2009, 09:17 AM
Wired's Avatar
Wired Wired is offline
Administrator
Wired's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 31,999
POST ID # = 409841
Wired Reputation: 16
Default

The new part numbers look completely different as per the link I posted, so yes, you have the original modules.
__________________
No, I don't work for Corsair
...you need to flow like a river...
Forum Rules
Admin of this forum / webdesignforums.net / Petri's IT Forum / The Corsair Memory Steam Group
Founder/Creator/Admin of ZE SECRET PROJECT (Coming Soon)
Reply With Quote


Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No
  #15  
Old 07-28-2009, 12:56 PM
Wraith. Wraith. is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 1
POST ID # = 409895
Wraith. Reputation: 10
Default

... I bought the 6G 2000C7's at full retail in late April and, despite the price, felt at the time I was lucky to do so. As i'm not to the point in my build that I can even attempt to fire them up and test them, I'm wondering if I should just try to RMA now? At such a premium i'd really like these to perform to spec out of the gate..
Reply With Quote


Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:55 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.