The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Memory

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rating: Thread Rating: 361 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-18-2008, 07:31 PM
RAM GUY's Avatar
RAM GUY RAM GUY is offline
Corsair Product Guru
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 118,273
POST ID # = 343672
RAM GUY Reputation: 10
Default DDR3 IC Inquiry

VersionVendorIC Size
1.XQimonda64/128Mx8
1.1XQimonda256x8
1.2XQimonda512Mx8
2.XElpida64/128Mx8
2.1XElpida256Mx8
2.2XElpida512Mx8
3.XMicron128Mx8
3.1XMicron256Mx8
3.2XMicron512Mx8
4.XSamsung128Mx8
4.1XSamsung256Mx8
4.2XSamsung512Mx8
5.XHynix128Mx8
5.1XHynix256Mx8
5.2XHynix512Mx8
6.XPromos128Mx8
6.1XPromos256Mx8
6.2XPromos512Mx8
7.X(PSC)128Mx8
7.1X(PSC)256Mx8
7.2X(PSC)512Mx8
8.XNanya128Mx8
8.1XNanya256Mx8
8.2XNanya512Mx8
9.XWinbond A1-Die128MX8
9.1XWinbond256Mx8
9.2XWinbond512Mx8

Last edited by RAM GUY; 12-02-2011 at 07:09 PM. Reason: Update Table
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 10-31-2010, 02:35 PM
nvmc nvmc is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 1
POST ID # = 474110
nvmc Reputation: 10
Default CMX4GX3M2A1600C7 ICs

Just wondering which ICs are in these modules. Did a whole load of searching, but to no avail. I would take the heatspreaders off and check myself, but I've seen too many horror stories of ICs getting ripped off the PCB in the process.
I checked the thread linked in the sidebar, however there is no version number on the sticker.
Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 10-31-2010, 04:47 PM
Wired's Avatar
Wired Wired is offline
Administrator
Wired's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 32,175
POST ID # = 474120
Wired Reputation: 32
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nvmc View Post
Just wondering which ICs are in these modules. Did a whole load of searching, but to no avail. I would take the heatspreaders off and check myself, but I've seen too many horror stories of ICs getting ripped off the PCB in the process.
I checked the thread linked in the sidebar, however there is no version number on the sticker.
Please post a pic, as they always have a version number.
__________________
No, I don't work for Corsair
...you need to flow like a river...
Forum Rules
Admin of this forum / webdesignforums.net / Petri's IT Forum / The Corsair Memory Steam Group
Founder/Creator/Admin of ZE SECRET PROJECT (Coming Soon)
Reply With Quote


  #4  
Old 11-21-2010, 10:33 AM
BiZaZ BiZaZ is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 18
POST ID # = 477375
BiZaZ Reputation: 10
Default

CMT6GX3M3A1866C9 v2.1 - says Elpida
are these Hyper or BDBG ?
Reply With Quote


  #5  
Old 11-21-2010, 04:31 PM
Yellowbeard's Avatar
Yellowbeard Yellowbeard is offline
.
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Atlanta,GA, USA.
Posts: 11,535
POST ID # = 477412
Yellowbeard Reputation: 46
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BiZaZ View Post
CMT6GX3M3A1866C9 v2.1 - says Elpida
are these Hyper or BDBG ?
There is no way to determine that other than to look at the ICs themselves.
Reply With Quote


  #6  
Old 11-21-2010, 05:00 PM
BiZaZ BiZaZ is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 18
POST ID # = 477417
BiZaZ Reputation: 10
Default

Isn't there a system like the one on 1600C7 Dominators, for example? (2.1 = hypers, 2.2 = bbse, 2.3 = bdbg)
Reply With Quote


  #7  
Old 11-21-2010, 05:02 PM
Yellowbeard's Avatar
Yellowbeard Yellowbeard is offline
.
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Atlanta,GA, USA.
Posts: 11,535
POST ID # = 477419
Yellowbeard Reputation: 46
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BiZaZ View Post
Isn't there a system like the one on 1600C7 Dominators, for example? (2.1 = hypers, 2.2 = bbse, 2.3 = bdbg)
No there isn't. And, that is not what the numbers indicate.
Reply With Quote


  #8  
Old 01-21-2011, 05:36 AM
koalacarlo79 koalacarlo79 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 3
POST ID # = 485648
koalacarlo79 Reputation: 10
Default

Can i know what kind of chip is on CM3X8GSDKIT1066 ram?
Is it Micron?

How can i know what version is CM3X8GSDKIT1066?
http://www.corsair.com/memory-3/indu...x4gsd1066.html
on the site don't say it?

Last edited by Wired; 01-21-2011 at 05:46 AM. Reason: merged posts
Reply With Quote


  #9  
Old 01-21-2011, 05:48 AM
Wired's Avatar
Wired Wired is offline
Administrator
Wired's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 32,175
POST ID # = 485649
Wired Reputation: 32
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by koalacarlo79 View Post
Can i know what kind of chip is on CM3X8GSDKIT1066 ram?
Is it Micron?

How can i know what version is CM3X8GSDKIT1066?
http://www.corsair.com/memory-3/indu...x4gsd1066.html
on the site don't say it?
The Corsair site won't list a specific version.
__________________
No, I don't work for Corsair
...you need to flow like a river...
Forum Rules
Admin of this forum / webdesignforums.net / Petri's IT Forum / The Corsair Memory Steam Group
Founder/Creator/Admin of ZE SECRET PROJECT (Coming Soon)
Reply With Quote


  #10  
Old 01-21-2011, 05:59 AM
koalacarlo79 koalacarlo79 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 3
POST ID # = 485652
koalacarlo79 Reputation: 10
Default

So i can't know what kind of chip work on this ram...
only post buyed?
Reply With Quote


  #11  
Old 01-21-2011, 07:08 AM
Wired's Avatar
Wired Wired is offline
Administrator
Wired's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 32,175
POST ID # = 485657
Wired Reputation: 32
Default

Corsair's site does not list versions because it's irrelevant.

"post buyed"? The only way to know what a memory's version number is by looking at the label of the stick itself. The list above probably doesn't correspond to laptop memory though. Why do you want to know the ICs for laptop memory?
__________________
No, I don't work for Corsair
...you need to flow like a river...
Forum Rules
Admin of this forum / webdesignforums.net / Petri's IT Forum / The Corsair Memory Steam Group
Founder/Creator/Admin of ZE SECRET PROJECT (Coming Soon)
Reply With Quote


  #12  
Old 01-21-2011, 01:16 PM
koalacarlo79 koalacarlo79 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 3
POST ID # = 485711
koalacarlo79 Reputation: 10
Default

I want to buy corsair memory (CM3X8GSDKIT1066) to upgrade my notebook ... but i want to know what chip it use...
i prefer micron chips...
Reply With Quote


  #13  
Old 01-21-2011, 09:06 PM
Wired's Avatar
Wired Wired is offline
Administrator
Wired's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 32,175
POST ID # = 485824
Wired Reputation: 32
Default

Just got confirmation that you should look for the 3.x series, however I've never heard of a store that'll guarantee the version.
__________________
No, I don't work for Corsair
...you need to flow like a river...
Forum Rules
Admin of this forum / webdesignforums.net / Petri's IT Forum / The Corsair Memory Steam Group
Founder/Creator/Admin of ZE SECRET PROJECT (Coming Soon)
Reply With Quote


  #14  
Old 01-28-2011, 07:09 AM
borntowin borntowin is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 6
POST ID # = 486694
borntowin Reputation: 10
Default Corsair Domiator GT 12GB CMT12GX3M3A2000C9

Hi, buying this Corsair CMT12GX3M3A2000C9 ram soon. My local store here have the revision 5.11 and I was wondering what IC this revision are using. Thank you.
Reply With Quote


  #15  
Old 01-28-2011, 09:51 AM
Wired's Avatar
Wired Wired is offline
Administrator
Wired's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 32,175
POST ID # = 486705
Wired Reputation: 32
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by borntowin View Post
Hi, buying this Corsair CMT12GX3M3A2000C9 ram soon. My local store here have the revision 5.11 and I was wondering what IC this revision are using. Thank you.
Threads merged, see above.
__________________
No, I don't work for Corsair
...you need to flow like a river...
Forum Rules
Admin of this forum / webdesignforums.net / Petri's IT Forum / The Corsair Memory Steam Group
Founder/Creator/Admin of ZE SECRET PROJECT (Coming Soon)
Reply With Quote


Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:38 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.