The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Cooling

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-16-2019, 01:16 AM
Master1 Master1 is offline
Registered User
Master1's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Posts: 3
POST ID # = 1024081
Master1 Reputation: 10
Question Need clarification for the LL120 fans.

Hello, I am thinking of buying the LL120 3-pack with the included Lighting Node Pro to put in my new setup, however, my motherboard (A Z170 board) is 3 years old and does not have an RGB header. It only has fan headers in addition to the other typical headers you would find on a mobo. Will I still be able to control the lighting of the fans despite not having an RGB mobo header?
Thanks :)
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 11-16-2019, 07:53 AM
PJH's Avatar
PJH PJH is offline
Registered User
PJH's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 213
POST ID # = 1024115
PJH Reputation: 20
Default

Hey, hey!

Corsair does not require a RGB Header for connectivity on motherboards.

The RGB cable hooks up to the RGB Fan Hub.
The RGB Fan Hub connects to the Lighting Node Pro.

What you will require on your motherboard are fan headers to power the 3 fans, and a USB 2.0 header to connect the Lighting Node Pro.

See this illustration made by Zotty.
Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 11-16-2019, 08:09 AM
Zotty's Avatar
Zotty Zotty is offline
CORSAIR Beta Team
Zotty's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: South Staffordshire, England, UK
Posts: 3,249
POST ID # = 1024116
Zotty Reputation: 52
Default

good advice from PJH :)


to add.. worth reading my RGB Faq.. explains all this along with device specs and diagrams

http://forum.corsair.com/v3/showthread.php?t=173880
Reply With Quote


  #4  
Old 11-16-2019, 01:12 PM
Master1 Master1 is offline
Registered User
Master1's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Posts: 3
POST ID # = 1024139
Master1 Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by PJH View Post
What you will require on your motherboard are fan headers to power the 3 fans, and a USB 2.0 header to connect the Lighting Node Pro.
Okay so that's a slight issue, my mobo doesn't have a single USB 2.0 header, only 1 USB 3.0 header. Am I able to plug the Lighting Node Pro to an actual USB 2.0 port or am I kinda out of luck?
Reply With Quote


  #5  
Old 11-16-2019, 01:16 PM
DevBiker's Avatar
DevBiker DevBiker is offline
CORSAIR Beta Team
DevBiker's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Republic of Texas
Posts: 7,824
POST ID # = 1024141
DevBiker Reputation: 88
Default

Yes, you can use a mini USB cable and plug into a standard USB-A port.
__________________
Please click "Edit System Specs" and fill out your system info.

This comment is provided "as-is", without warranty of any kind, express or implied, including, but not limited to, the sanity or mental fitness of the author. The author is not a Corsair employee, does not represent Corsair, and no comment should be construed as an official statement from Corsair.

Helpful Links and FAQs:
AIO FAQ | RGB FAQ |
HydroX FAQ | RGB Cables |
iCUE Tips & Tricks

Reply With Quote


  #6  
Old 11-16-2019, 01:43 PM
Zotty's Avatar
Zotty Zotty is offline
CORSAIR Beta Team
Zotty's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: South Staffordshire, England, UK
Posts: 3,249
POST ID # = 1024142
Zotty Reputation: 52
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DevBiker View Post
Yes, you can use a mini USB cable and plug into a standard USB-A port.
Can Confirm.. Have done this my self
Reply With Quote


  #7  
Old 11-21-2019, 11:39 PM
Master1 Master1 is offline
Registered User
Master1's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Posts: 3
POST ID # = 1024795
Master1 Reputation: 10
Default

Okay that's awesome news! Thank you!
Reply With Quote


1 members found this post helpful.
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:25 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.