Corsair Community

H115i too high temps!

momorious

Hi!

I am new to water cooling and I have a big problem with my H115 which I got on Monday.

Even on a single Firestrike test my 6700K @ 4,6 GHz @ 1,312v is reching 87°c!!! With my old Be Quiet Dark Rock Pro 3 I never got above 68°C on a Firestrike test.

I checked everything, the pump is attached tight to the cpu, nothing moves (had to place space washers on the backplate though).

In Corsair Link I already set the pump to max (2850rpm) and my Fans (Cougar CFD140) also to max. 1080 rpm.

Anything else I can do???

Thanks!

Hey,

imho there's no need to place washers on the backplate.

I didn't - as soon as you screw the pump on the CPU everything sits tight.

In your case I'd try to remount and repaste the cooler.

(I mounted my backplate in a wrong manner first on my system. My backplate was 90° wrong. So I remounted and repasted and temps dropped)

Dont have thermal paste here so cant repaste, would take too long to arrive..

And I needed to use place washers because mounting only the backplate and attache the distance screws the whole backplate wobbled a lot so I placed place washers and everything sits tight now.. Read somewhere on the forums that this is mostly normal ..

Took me also half a week to get thermal paste back then, I know the situation.

Yes, it was wobbly (I was also wondering about that) - it had about 3 mm space if I remember correct - but no problem after screwing the pump on, everything sits in the right place now.

As for checking the AIO, have a look at the water temperature it should slowly climb under cpu load. At least if pump and fans are running and water temps are slowly climbing the AIO itself should be ok ;)

Is the CPU temperature jumping right up into the 80's?

If it is a mounting problem you need thermal paste anyway.