The Corsair User Forums

The Corsair User Forums (https://forum.corsair.com/forums/index.php)
-   Memory (https://forum.corsair.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=198)
-   -   Duel channel trouble on Asus P5N32-SLI SE Deluxe! (https://forum.corsair.com/forums/showthread.php?t=54147)

TriFire 10-08-2006 06:47 PM

Duel channel trouble on Asus P5N32-SLI SE Deluxe!
 
Hi,

I have been having trouble with my new pc, trouble like random crashes in games, hard reboots etc. Some how i came across a thread that said it might be bad ram. Now here is when it starts to get interesting, i downloaded memtest and ran it for a couple of hours and got errors in test 7. Then i thought to remove one dim and see which one was faulty. It ran for 4 hours no trouble no errors, So i switch the other dim and put it in slot one, oh BTW the first yellow slot, it ran for 4 hours no errors. Now why does the errors only happen to me in duel channel??? I can run games all day with no crashes with a single dim but not 2.

Thank you

Corsair XMS Twin2X2048-6400 5-5-5-15 2T @1.9V

My specs
Asus P5N32-SLI SE Deluxe
Intel Core 2 Duo E6700
NOT OVERCLOCKED!!!

TriFire 10-08-2006 06:55 PM

Oh BTW my bios is up to date, my bios version is 302, thank you.

TriFire 10-09-2006 04:10 PM

Bump!!!!!!

Anyone?

RAM GUY 10-10-2006 06:22 PM

Please try and set the memory Frequency at DDR667 and see if the errors are still present, and I would set the memory Voltage to 2.1 Volts as well.

studio 10-11-2006 10:29 AM

Hi,

I've built this system recently:

Core 2 Duo 6700
P5N32-SLI SE Delux
Twin2x1024-6400 4-4-4-15 (4x512 in total)
SataII Raid (2x300Gig)
2 x EVGA GeForce 7950GX2 1024Mb (Quad GPU)


Initially I ran into big problems with the RAM, for some reason the MB kept setting my RAM to 1.8v. I only discovered it when I did some motherboard monitoring. Set the RAM to 1.9v and ran memtestv3.0 for 24hours (this is with 4 sticks of ram in duel channel) without problems. However if I let the motherboard set the voltage it did produce problems. Try forcing the voltage up to the corsair recommended 1.9v.

I've ran the RAM modules at the following settings for over 24 hours without a single error:

Voltage: 2.0v
Timing: 5-5-5-15-20
Freq: 833Mhz

This may be related or not but my system is still not stable. I think its the CPU core's but it would be a good idea to test this yourself. Basicly if I run only one instance of superpimod (CPU tester), I can run the test for more than a few hours but as soon as I use two of the tests I get "NON CONVERGANCE" within 10 seconds. Basiclly it seems if I use 100% of the CPU I get cpu errors. I've put this down to a bad chip and I'm awaiting a replacement but given all the problems I'm reading with this particular combination of hardware I'm wondering if this is a compatibility issue.

Any thoughts on this?



studio

anthonyl 10-16-2006 08:02 AM

I have a similar system to the original poster except I have an E6600 and am also using the Twin2X2048-6400 ram...I found that to get it stable I had to underclock the memory to 667.

Your motherboard compaibilty shows this as acceptable ram for this motherboard YET fails to state that it cannot be run at 800Mhz.!

What would be the best performing ram for this motherboard please?

RAM GUY 10-17-2006 02:36 PM

These modules are compatible with this MB, the MB it self will not run at 800 MHz natively, and would have to be over clocked. Just set the memory frequency to DDR2-667 and then you can over clock your CPU!

MrJinks 10-18-2006 06:20 PM

new at this sorry
memory at 4-4-4-12 voltage at 2.0 v
how do i set the memory Frequency at DDR667
thx

RAM GUY 10-19-2006 03:26 PM

Please check your manual under section 4 then you set the memory frequency so the memory runs at 667 Mhz, usually under Frequency and Voltage Control, ASUS usually calls it Jumper Free.

MrJinks 10-19-2006 05:16 PM

ok have done things i have read here but no matter if i run the way others are running with the same system as me or just running everything on auto when i run memtest i get lots of errors
so i take it this is not right...lol

MrJinks 10-19-2006 06:06 PM

ok i have 2x2048-6400c4
i put in one module in and ran memtest in all four slots with out an error
i put the second module in by itself and got errors instantly in all four slots
and my computer is running better with the one module than it did with two
i have allready called the supplier and will be sending these back for an exchange and will update you when i recieve the new ones
thx

RAM GUY 10-19-2006 07:45 PM

Let's get them both replaced. Please use the RMA request found in TSXpress or follow the link in my signature I think I have a bad part! and we will be happy to replace them or it! And please note that you are from the forum!

MrJinks 10-20-2006 11:17 AM

thx ram guy
the supplier i bought them from has allready shipped me a new pair and i am sending the bad pair back today
if i still have problems i will send them to you for testing
i think it would be better to send them to you anyway because you could test a new set before returning them
the reseller wont be doing that
thank you

RAM GUY 10-20-2006 07:39 PM

If you still have problems I would suggest you call our tech support http://www.corsair.com/en-us/company/contact.

anthonyl 10-21-2006 02:29 AM

Well this is what I found on the ASUS website about this motherboard:-
Direct quote:--

"Dual channel memory architecture
4 x 240-pin DIMM sockets support max. 8GB DDR2 800/667/533 non-ECC memory"

I read it as "supporting DDR2 800 / 667 / 533"..Or am I reading it wrongly?


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:42 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.