Corsair Community

Corsair Link/Commander - One of the Best and worst in the same box?

Mamajuanauk

Before I start, A little about me. I'm a computer engineer with 10 years experience, MSP, ITIL and for the last 5 years, I've been (and still am) an IT Project Manager with a medium sized Multi-National Company.

I have 3 machines running the H100 water cooler, these have all worked well since it was installed. On the main machine I decided to add the Link Commander and cooling node. This does not work out of the box, there is no software included and with the exception of the 'Quick Start Guide' which provides some basic installation guidance, there is no real guidance on setting this up and getting it to work.

This is how I came to this forum.

So, I downloaded the software, latest version and nothing worked. After spending some time scanning & searching the forum, I found the thread regarding the firmware updates.

Followed the steps to the letter. Still it didn't work correctly. I then posted into the forum for help and guidance, as I suspect many people would have done the same.

Here, I was guided through troubleshooting and finally arrived at the point of a dead cooling Node!

RMA requested, processed and item replaced, it now works! About a month after first installation!

Here is the bad bit! IF, some software was included in the box, that would allow this system to work, then point to the upgrade of the software and firmware, it would have been a much better experience!

The reason for this post is to start a conversation about what 'Should' be included in the box.

I would suggest, the current, at the time of packing, version the software. This would allow the system to work out of the box, prevent frustration and reduce the number od 'Dead' Nodes.

I know I'm not the only one to have had a bad start with this kit, does anyone else have any comments?

Regards