The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Cooling

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-14-2019, 02:17 PM
Scirca Scirca is offline
Registered User
Scirca's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Posts: 4
POST ID # = 1011209
Scirca Reputation: 10
Default Commander Pro acting super crazy. HELP

My commander pro fan controller has been going bat**** crazy. I have all 6 of my case fans hooked up to it, 4x for my AIO and 2x more in the case. Just now the fan controller literally LOST ITS MIND.

All 6 of my fans became unrecognized and started ramping to maximum speed then to lowest speed. Actually over max speed, commander pro said my ML120 was spinning at 5000RPM instead of the maximum 2400. Would also go to 400RPM which is below the minimum speed of ML120's.

On commander pro dashboard the 12v 5v and 3v signals were going crazy too. The voltages were bouncing between 0 and exceedingly high voltages for each. The 3v was getting 5v, and 5v was getting 12v according to the commander pro reading. Basically if those reading were right, my components are being fried as we speak.....

What the heck is going on. If anything happens to my computer. I swear to go I am going to make sure that neither I nor any of my friends buy anything corsair ever again.

You know what, **** corsair. They force you to use iCUE and buy all of their stupid little nick nacks to link everything together for the "Corsair Environment dudeeee". Not to mention it is all overpriced. Then the **** they sell me proceeds to ruin my hardware. Never again, ever.....

If anybody knows why my commander pro has lost its mind, please let me know.

Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 07-14-2019, 03:37 PM
c-attack c-attack is offline
Registered User
c-attack's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 9,220
POST ID # = 1011227
c-attack c-attack Reputation: 107
Default

What other monitoring software are you running? Kill it, then restart the iCUE service from within the app. The criss-crossed and/or nonsensical data readings usually indicate two programs are fighting over the same data.
Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 07-14-2019, 03:49 PM
Waukeen Waukeen is offline
Banned
Waukeen's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 263
POST ID # = 1011228
Waukeen Reputation: 16
Default

^^^

But for humors sake I will add this SS of ICue when it went spastic on me once, though this was with only ICue running.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg WowJustWow.jpg (188.7 KB, 17 views)
Reply With Quote


  #4  
Old 07-14-2019, 04:13 PM
Scirca Scirca is offline
Registered User
Scirca's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Posts: 4
POST ID # = 1011233
Scirca Reputation: 10
Default

Was not running anything other than precision XOC and 3DMark. Restarted my computer and now it is ok. Who knows if anything is damaged. Doubt corsair will cover it even if it is. They cannot even bother to reply to a support email I sent to them. Pissing me off real good
Reply With Quote


  #5  
Old 07-14-2019, 05:24 PM
Waukeen Waukeen is offline
Banned
Waukeen's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 263
POST ID # = 1011247
Waukeen Reputation: 16
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Scirca View Post
Was not running anything other than precision XOC and 3DMark. Restarted my computer and now it is ok. Who knows if anything is damaged. Doubt corsair will cover it even if it is. They cannot even bother to reply to a support email I sent to them. Pissing me off real good
In the case of worrying if anything was damaged, I would be fine putting money on the fact that nothing was besides your sanity at seeing those readings.

As for Corsair covering it, again for reasons I will not discuss here until August (assuming something doesn't arrive in the mail anyway), I can assure you that they will. I know you have no reason to trust me but believe me when I say this, there are a lot of people who have an inkling of what went down and what occurred, they will if required.

In regards to the the support ticket and lack of response, this I totally stand behind you on but for the record you should be aware that someone over there decided to roll out a new ticketing system all at once instead of in stages, and from what it sounds like without sufficient testing, and this is causing a melt down (and likely several people to worry about their jobs as well as lots of meetings). I am adding Corsair Mike to the list of Corsair Kevin for people you should contact specifically regarding no answer on tickets. PM one of them with your details but please try to be nice, although they do appreciate a bit of sarcasm just don't get too angry in it :P

"3D Mark should not cause an issue. XOC should not cause an issue, but there were early versions of that program that did. Make sure you are using an updated version. Double check your process log in the task manager to make sure there isn't something unexpected. AIDA, HWiNFO, and of course AI Suite are the most common obstacles."

This is correct although I have not seen AISuite cause an issue. And nothing has been damaged (this I say with a grain of salt since anything could happen).
Reply With Quote


  #6  
Old 07-14-2019, 04:38 PM
c-attack c-attack is offline
Registered User
c-attack's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 9,220
POST ID # = 1011240
c-attack c-attack Reputation: 107
Default

It's not damaged and the readings are not genuine. If your 12v line says 3.3v and the 5v line says 12v, you are going to be looking at a blank screen a millisecond later. They are impossible numbers, although I imagine the fans revving up add to the sense of drama in the moment.

3D Mark should not cause an issue. XOC should not cause an issue, but there were early versions of that program that did. Make sure you are using an updated version. Double check your process log in the task manager to make sure there isn't something unexpected. AIDA, HWiNFO, and of course AI Suite are the most common obstacles.
Reply With Quote


  #7  
Old 07-14-2019, 04:44 PM
Scirca Scirca is offline
Registered User
Scirca's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Posts: 4
POST ID # = 1011241
Scirca Reputation: 10
Default

I hope you are correct. Dunno why my screen would go black from my fan controller getting too much/little voltage.

One more thing, this happened almost immediately after I disabled G-SYNC. Cause it was limiting my FPS in 3DMark, giving me trash scores.
Reply With Quote


  #8  
Old 07-14-2019, 05:53 PM
c-attack c-attack is offline
Registered User
c-attack's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 9,220
POST ID # = 1011251
c-attack c-attack Reputation: 107
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Scirca View Post
I hope you are correct. Dunno why my screen would go black from my fan controller getting too much/little voltage.
Not the fan controller... those are your PSU rails. In this universe, you can't swap the voltage rails and still have things work. The 'blank screen" is more symbolic than an actual explanation of what happens when up becomes down, light become dark, etc. The succinct version is your PSU doesn't run, but that takes away the necessary emphasis that your readings are impossible.

G-sync should not cause this, however do make sure you exclude iCUE from it in the NV control panel or simply use Full Screen Mode only for Gsync. iCUE obviously has graphs and those require rendering. You don't want it trying to sync the frame rate with iCUE. Stutter is the likely result.
Reply With Quote


  #9  
Old 07-14-2019, 04:55 PM
Corsair Mike's Avatar
Corsair Mike Corsair Mike is online now
Corsair Employee
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 146
POST ID # = 1011243
Corsair Mike Reputation: 10
Default

Hi Scirca,

Sorry to hear about your commander pro issue. It might be taking some extra time to respond because they recently updated their system. If everything is working normally after a reboot you should be okay. Just curious, how do you have the commander pro connected?

Also do you have a ticket number associated with the email? I can follow up with them Monday to see whats going on with your ticket.
Reply With Quote


Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:24 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.