Corsair Community

Temps and setting fan speeds?

rschissler

I've never had this many fans before and I'm new to a liquid cooler and Commander Link, so I've been trying to figure on temps and fan settings.

I have three ML 120 RGB Pro fans set as exhaust, two more ML's on my H80i v2 as a push/pull, and another ML as an intake. So, I have 3 exhaust and 2+ intake (figuring that the push/pull combo don't count as a full 2), and that seems pretty balanced to me. Is it better to keep all the fans about the same rpm, or should exhaust or intake be greater?

Since the CPU is the main factor, I'm wondering what are good operating temps? I want as quiet as possible, so it's like how low can I go on the fan rpms? Right now I'm at 27C, which seems really low. Should I be willing to accept 40C as an idle temp? Or even higher?

According to Corsair, the tech specs on the ML 120 have a minimum of 400rpm. What does that mean, as I've been able to set them half that in Commander Link?

Do the motherboard temps mean much?

In the H80i v2 box it shows the fan at 360rpm. Is that accurate, or do the two fans on the split connecter halve it? Should the cooler fans be running faster than the case fans, since they would have the most effect on the CPU temp?

In the memory box under Timings, why does my DRAM Frequency show as 1069.1 MHz? My memory is 2166MHz, though I think the BIOS has them set at 2133MHz.

http://i293.photobucket.com/albums/mm58/rschissler_bucket/CommanderLinkCapture_zpsopjqlp2u.png' alt='CommanderLinkCapture_zpsopjqlp2u.png'>