The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Corsair Link

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-03-2017, 01:42 PM
Bob Pilette Bob Pilette is offline
Disabled Veteran
Bob Pilette's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Cecilia KY
Posts: 25
POST ID # = 889775
Bob Pilette Reputation: 10
Default USB Headers

For those of you who are struggling with not enough USB Header Sockets, each socket does support 2 USB connections.

If you look at the header plugs on your devices you will see there are only 4 or 5 wires on one row of the plug.

If you want to fix this you do it at your own risk. I am not responsible for miswired/misplugged devices and motherboards or any damage caused by doing so.

You need to get 4 and 5 pin single row plug shells or 2 of each kind. The 5th pin on one side is only for a shell ground and not really needed.

You need to replace the plug shells with the single row type or make adapters. Be sure you put the wires in the same order. Also, just make sure you only connect one device to each side.

You could also make a splitter cable but the caveats about single row connectors I mention below still apply. And the one device only per side too.

The only other problem is the plugs can then be installed more than one way. You need to make sure that 4 hole plugs are plugged in with the blank space/extra pin not plugged. Also make sure the ground wire(s) {Black wires} are plugged towards the blank space/extra pin.

If you are still not sure, there are many articles on USB on the internet and the wire colors for USB are standard.

I hope this helps some of you I can understand why they did what they did so it would be easy to plug in. What a waste though.
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 02-03-2017, 02:07 PM
red-ray red-ray is offline
Banned
red-ray's PC Specs
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: England (GMT+1)
Posts: 7,152
POST ID # = 889778
red-ray Reputation: 81
Default

There are some images in http://forum.corsair.com/forums/showthread.php?p=759585 that may help
Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 02-03-2017, 07:05 PM
RiflemanFirst RiflemanFirst is offline
Registered User
RiflemanFirst's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 38
POST ID # = 889812
RiflemanFirst Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by red-ray View Post
There are some images in http://forum.corsair.com/forums/showthread.php?p=759585 that may help
I combined the USB cables for my H115i cooler and HX850i PSU into one header plug as shown in this link. Definitely works just fine, easy to do and free as well!
Reply With Quote


  #4  
Old 02-03-2017, 07:32 PM
red-ray red-ray is offline
Banned
red-ray's PC Specs
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: England (GMT+1)
Posts: 7,152
POST ID # = 889814
red-ray Reputation: 81
Default

I feel a lot comes does to how the user feels about doing this and the a post that has been around for a couple of years, had photos and also gives the NZXT IU01 option should be linked to.
Reply With Quote


  #5  
Old 02-04-2017, 10:19 PM
Kapitikarl Kapitikarl is offline
Registered User
Kapitikarl's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Posts: 41
POST ID # = 889932
Kapitikarl Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by red-ray View Post
I feel a lot comes does to how the user feels about doing this and the a post that has been around for a couple of years, had photos and also gives the NZXT IU01 option should be linked to.
I recently installed the NZXT IU01 and it works a treat. Have amanged to get two of my USB ports ont he front of the box back after both my headers were taken up with the link and CPU cooler.
Reply With Quote


  #6  
Old 03-20-2017, 09:12 PM
Bob Pilette Bob Pilette is offline
Disabled Veteran
Bob Pilette's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Cecilia KY
Posts: 25
POST ID # = 896030
Bob Pilette Reputation: 10
Default

I'm playing around with a N*** H**+ too. Let me know if you want to mess with that too Red Ray.
Reply With Quote


  #7  
Old 03-20-2017, 09:38 PM
red-ray red-ray is offline
Banned
red-ray's PC Specs
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: England (GMT+1)
Posts: 7,152
POST ID # = 896033
red-ray Reputation: 81
Arrow To add NZXT HUE+ support I would need to deduce the protocol

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Pilette View Post
I'm playing around with a N*** H**+ too. Let me know if you want to mess with that too Red Ray.
Thank you for the offer, but to add NZXT HUE+ support to SIV I would need to deduce the protocol. To do this I would really need to have one here and I am not inclined to buy one as it's a COM port device rather than being a sensible HID device.

I much prefer the Corsair LNP for controlling LEDs which SIV has supported for a while, though I need to test the SIV SP120 RGB LED fan support.
Reply With Quote


Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:26 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.