The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Cooling

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-16-2019, 04:13 PM
Tyrantoftheold Tyrantoftheold is offline
Registered User
Tyrantoftheold's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Posts: 4
POST ID # = 1021492
Tyrantoftheold Reputation: 10
Default Rgb fans / commander pro issue

New Corsair user here, built my pc about a week and a half ago, smooth sailing and everything setup and running well. Finally received my commander pro yesterday and followed the diagrams here thoroughly and connections are in place.
My 3 fans on the 570x crystal case are the SP fans, I have a h100i liquid cooler and added a ll120 fan for rear exhaust.
I can’t get the link software to recognize the LL fan at all, the SP front fans will only light with link software and do basic color, meanwhile the H100i pump is doing full rgb along with the Rad fans and ram.

I have the Commander pro and hub linked, pros usb on the MB.
I’m stumped and not sure what I’m doing wrong.

Is there a certain usb header I have to use or is that universal. Just not sure why the 4 fans in the hub are not doing rgb.
Any help narrowing down this issue would be huge!
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 10-16-2019, 04:50 PM
c-attack c-attack is online now
Registered User
c-attack's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 9,357
POST ID # = 1021494
c-attack c-attack Reputation: 107
Default

You can't combine SP or SP-PRO fans with the HD/LL/ML-RGB on the same RGB Lighting Hub. The case came with one for those front three fans, but you would need to have a separate one for the single LL in the back. Obviously that is a bit tedious, but it can be done for the price of the controller plus it takes another RGB channel on the Commander Pro.

H100i ________. Critical detail missing in the blank. If you have the Pro model, it should be recognized in Link since that came out right before Link was shelved. Much older v2, GTX, and H100i 2013 models should also show. However, if you have the H100i Platinum, that needs to be on the current software iCUE that was released about a year and half ago. This is likely a benefit anyway as it is a large upgrade in lighting capability for fans. The same may apply for the RAM as well, but there are so many models. Certainly Dominator RGB and Vengeance Pro RGB are going to need iCUE.
Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 10-16-2019, 05:41 PM
Tyrantoftheold Tyrantoftheold is offline
Registered User
Tyrantoftheold's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Posts: 4
POST ID # = 1021499
Tyrantoftheold Reputation: 10
Default

It’s a H100i platinum cooler, it’s doing full rgb without any setup (default profile)
I’ll test out unhooking the LL fan tonight. I’m pretty sure I tried just the 3 front fans and got a single color.

Will a lighting node pro work as a 2nd hub?
Also would the other fix be changing the so fans to LL series?
Thanks a ton for the help!
Reply With Quote


  #4  
Old 10-16-2019, 06:41 PM
c-attack c-attack is online now
Registered User
c-attack's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 9,357
POST ID # = 1021508
c-attack c-attack Reputation: 107
Default

This is a RGB Lighting Hub. It provides the lighting power to the fan. The Lighting Node Pro and Commander Pro allow you to link the device to the software (via USB 2), but the fans still need to pull their current from somewhere. LL fans have surprisingly large current needs with 16 LEDs.

The Platinum cooler is in default mode so it will shine all day and night, but I suspect you don't have any control over it. You will need to move to iCUE for that. Be aware any Link or CUE 2 profiles will not transfer. You'll need to start over.

Yes, swapping the 3 front SPs for 3 more LL would solve the issue and probably be more satisfying all the way around. Massive difference in lighting options between those two types. However, it obviously is the most expensive fix.

Also see here: Zotty's Guide
Reply With Quote


  #5  
Old 10-16-2019, 07:41 PM
Tyrantoftheold Tyrantoftheold is offline
Registered User
Tyrantoftheold's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Posts: 4
POST ID # = 1021518
Tyrantoftheold Reputation: 10
Default

Gotcha.
So unhooked the LL fan from the RGB hub and resetup everything in ICUE, the front SP fans work, H100i plat and the RGB ram all sync.
That was the issue it seems was the LL fan freaking the hub out.

So now i gotta get a RGB hub or Replace the front 3 SP fans.
Was hoping the Lighting node pro could use 1 channel to control the LL fan and the other to control the LED strips. But if it wont i'll at least get an RGB hub soon.

Thanks a ton for all the help! truly appreciated and loving my first dive into Corsair and RGB
Reply With Quote


  #6  
Old 10-16-2019, 08:05 PM
c-attack c-attack is online now
Registered User
c-attack's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 9,357
POST ID # = 1021522
c-attack c-attack Reputation: 107
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tyrantoftheold View Post

Was hoping the Lighting node pro could use 1 channel to control the LL fan and the other to control the LED strips. But if it wont i'll at least get an RGB hub soon.

That will work, although once you get the LL up you may want 3 more. It's a bit annoying to need another SATA connection and another lighting channel. Hmmm.... I just though of a snag. I am not sure the RGB Hub comes with the little cable to connect itself to the LNP/C-Pro. I need to verify this.

*If you have a Commander Pro, it should have two in the box. Good to go.

Last edited by c-attack; 10-16-2019 at 11:35 PM.
Reply With Quote


  #7  
Old 10-17-2019, 08:28 AM
Tyrantoftheold Tyrantoftheold is offline
Registered User
Tyrantoftheold's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Posts: 4
POST ID # = 1021559
Tyrantoftheold Reputation: 10
Default

You sir are fantastic.
Thanks a million for the help!
Reply With Quote


  #8  
Old 10-17-2019, 10:54 AM
DevBiker's Avatar
DevBiker DevBiker is offline
CORSAIR Beta Team
DevBiker's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Republic of Texas
Posts: 7,645
POST ID # = 1021570
DevBiker Reputation: 88
Default

If you buy the fan hub separately, it does not have the cable.
Both the LNP and the CP should come with two.
__________________
Please click "Edit System Specs" and fill out your system info.

This comment is provided "as-is", without warranty of any kind, express or implied, including, but not limited to, the sanity or mental fitness of the author. The author is not a Corsair employee, does not represent Corsair, and no comment should be construed as an official statement from Corsair.

Reply With Quote


Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:18 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.