Corsair Community

crazy RAM instability with overclock attempts

Yup, so to begin, I've found I can hit 3.8 or 4.0 Ghz with my system with an approx. 1792 Mhz FSB, but my RAM seems to be the weak link in the whole thing. If it's not in the basement at 800 Mhz with the voltage cranked, it's not happy. When I push it up toward 1333 it'll run for a while, then blue screen and fail every POST attempt afterward. I've done reams of adjustments 'n such and it still fails in the POST and won't stabilize until I load up my default settings, reboot, and start over. Even 1066 isn't really stable. I'm a total noob concerning overclocking so I'm wondering if I'm missing something? I've tried forcing 2T and everything that I can think to do. When my processor's at 448 Mhz X 8.5 my RAM reference frequency is most stable with a reference frequency of 400 Mhz and a frequency of 800 Mhz. I don't care if stability costs a lot of my modules' life, I just want it to work at 1600 if possible. Any ideas?

You got it.

Processor:

Processor Multiplier: 8

Half Ratio Multiplier: Enabled

Host Clock Frequency: 448

Voltages:

CPU voltage override: 1.3625

FSB voltage override: 1.25

MCH/ICH voltage override: 1.3

C1E: Enabled

RAM:

Non-ECC

Reference frequency: 400 MHz

Memory frequency: 1066

tCL: 9

tRCD: 9

tRP: 9

tRASmin: 24

tRFC: 60

tRRD: 4

tWR: 8

tWTR: 4

tRTP: 4

Voltage: 2.14

Command rate: 2T

MAIN BIOS PAGE INFO

Speed Totals:

CPU: 3.8 GHz

FSB override: 1792 MHz

RAM override: 1191 MHz

Total Memory: 4096 MB

Memory Mode: Dual Channel

Memory Channel A:

Slot 0: Not Installed

Slot 1: 2048 MB (DDR3 1066) SPD 7-7-7-20

Memory Channel B:

Slot 0: Not Installed

Slot 1: 2048 MB (DDR3 1066) SPD 7-7-7-20

**NOTE**: SPD defined as nominal: [tCL]-[tRCD]-[tRP]-[tRASmin]

COOLING:

CPU: CoolIT Domino A.L.C. liquid cooler

MCH: Stock intel heatsink, 3 120mm fans on the front, 1 120mm liquid cooler fan on the back, one 200mm X 30mm fan on top, all fans at top speed.