Corsair Community

New ram purchased, only reading half of whats installed

cbarnard

Hey everyone, I just built this system the other day. It is my first build. After looking in to things I found that My comp is only showing that I installed 2 GIGs of Ram when I actually Installed 4 GIGS. My MOBO manual says it supports up to 4GIGs. and I have windows XP. But I want to learn more... and get my perfomance levels up.. any help or sugestions...

Thanks

Enter your BIOS and look for the "Memory Remap" Feature. Enable it and you will see the full 4GB on a 64bit OS. If you are running with a 32bit OS, then you will not see the 4GB regardless. http://www.houseofhelp.com/v3/showthread.php?t=63681

Let me clarify.

Your computer has many methods in which to use memory. There are memory storage and caches all over the motherboard. These devices contain some of the below method of storage:

* RAM

* ROM

* Cache

* Dynamic RAM

* Static RAM

* Flash memory

* Virtual memory

* Video memory

* BIOS

For example, your sound, video, keyboard, chipset caches, I/O controller (IDE, SATA, etc) caches . . . Now these device with discrete and cache RAM need to have their "Addresses" so that the computer knows where they are in order to query and access them.

You computer also has System Resource Memory. Consider this as an index of addresses that tell the computer where everything is for access as mentioned above. The computer needs to know that a certain boundary of addresses will contain certain functions to perform when commanded.