Corsair Community

Bought the 280x RGB case, but iCue software not detecting LL fans nor commander pro

MMakoto

I'm very new to this PC building stuff, but was able to manage to move my 4yr Alienware x51 r2 motherboard and HDD/SSD onto this new case.

Anyhow, the 3x LL120 in this case is spinning and lighting up no problem. However the iCue software detects nothing, I even tried uninstall and reinstall the software, but no luck. Tried Corsair Link too, but same thing. That USBdbView software didn't tell me much about any Corsair stuff I have installed either. The way how I hooked up the USB 2.0 header was I bought a USB port to idc 5 pin cable, link below, so I'm not sure if this has something to do with it? My motherboard does not have any USB 2.0 headers, so I have to go this route. Any ideas to why it's not working detecting? Possibly that cable I'm using is causing a problem?

Link to cable:

https://www.amazon.com/Adapter-designed-motherboard-external-connector/dp/B000V6WD8A/ref=sr_1_2?ie=UTF8&qid=1533012413&sr=8-2&keywords=USB+to+5+pin+idc

• Corsair Employee
You need a USB 2.0 header to get the Lighting Node to work. If you don't have a header. you can use the adapter you have but you have to ensure you're using the right pinouts. Take a picture of how you're connecting so we can verify. The other alternative is get a USB 2.0 to USB 3.0 adapter but you'll lose the ports on the case.

You need a USB 2.0 header to get the Lighting Node to work. If you don't have a header. you can use the adapter you have but you have to ensure you're using the right pinouts. Take a picture of how you're connecting so we can verify. The other alternative is get a USB 2.0 to USB 3.0 adapter but you'll lose the ports on the case.

A standard mini-USB cable will also work and may be easier for you - you won't have to worry about the pinouts in that case.