Corsair Community

Twin2x2048-6400c4dhx

Zeros and ones

Ok so when it comes to memory I am a noob. So please be patient with me.

I currently have 2Gb non Corsair Ram at 677Mhz in my Asus P5W DH Deluxe.

I am very interested in upgrading to TWIN2X2048-6400C4DHX. Which is going to be a hell of alot faster. But I want 4GB of these not 2GB.

I see that 2GB of these will run at 4-4-4-12 timings on my board but will 4GB run at 4-4-4-12 timing on my board? Or do I have to go with the TWIN2X4096-6400C5DHX? If so can i get those timing to 5-5-5-12 as opposed to 5-5-5-18?

Note: I am running 32bit Vista. Yes i know that it will not read all 4GB. Do not care about that. Just want to utilize as much memory as possible. Also any other information what be great.

Help me Ram Guy!!!!!

2 sticks will run faster than 4.

how so? If i get 2 set of TWIN2X2048-6400C4DHX with timmings 4-4-4-12 will be slower as opposed to just one set of TWIN2X2048-6400C4DHX?

And isn't the TWIN2X4096-6400C4DHX faster than the TWIN2X4096-6400C5DHX because the timing of the TWIN2X4096-6400C5DHX is 5-5-5-18 as opposed to the TWIN2X4096-6400C4DHX timming which is 4-4-4-12?

If you want 4GB i would go with what Wired suggested. I have that RAM running at 5-4-3-9 at DDR850 @ 1.85v.

That is good to know. But I do not think i could get that with my particular set up since the P5W HD Deluxe supports at the most DDR2 800.

But i didn't get an answer to what i asked before. As Wired said that 2 sticks will run faster than four.

Why? Why 2 sets of TWIN2X2048-6400C4DHX with timmings 4-4-4-12 will be slower to just one set of TWIN2X2048-6400C4DHX?

And at stock wouldn't two sets of TWIN2X2048-6400C4DHX be faster than the TWIN2X4096-6400C5DHX because the timing of the TWIN2X4096-6400C5DHX is 5-5-5-18 as opposed to the two sets of TWIN2X2048-6400C4DHX timing would be 4-4-4-12?

That is good to know. But I do not think i could get that with my particular set up since the P5W HD Deluxe supports at the most DDR2 800.