The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > USB Flash Drives

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-20-2009, 01:53 AM
Agg Agg is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 5
POST ID # = 401808
Agg Reputation: 10
Default Faulty or fake?

Hi, I just got a 64GB Flash Voyager, I tried to format it to NTFS with no luck, then used the fat32format utility recommended in other threads and got it formatted back to FAT32. But this thing is SLOW, and playing a video off it is unwatchable, all jaggy colour patches and the sound drops out. Plus it would take hours to copy a decent sized file over onto it. Given the NTFS format error (after it finishes formatting, it fails at the "creating filesystem structure" step) and the slow speed and possible file corruption, I assume it's faulty.

But the worrying thing is it looks EXACTLY like the one in this thread:

http://forum.corsair.com/v3/showthread.php?t=77962

So I'm wondering if it might even be fake? When I first got it out of the packaging I noticed it felt quite different, a lot more squishy, than a 2GB voyager and a 16GB voyager GT I have here. Also there's a seam around the loop end of the rubber casing which isn't on the other two I have. The box does not say "made in china" as suggested in the other thread.

So, what do you think? Faulty or fake? Or both? :)
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 05-20-2009, 02:47 AM
Wired's Avatar
Wired Wired is offline
Administrator
Wired's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 32,185
POST ID # = 401810
Wired Reputation: 32
Default

Where did you purchase it?
__________________
No, I don't work for Corsair
...you need to flow like a river...
Forum Rules
Admin of this forum / webdesignforums.net / Petri's IT Forum / The Corsair Memory Steam Group
Founder/Creator/Admin of ZE SECRET PROJECT (Coming Soon)
Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 05-20-2009, 03:07 AM
Agg Agg is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 5
POST ID # = 401813
Agg Reputation: 10
Default

From an online discount place here in Australia.
Reply With Quote


  #4  
Old 05-20-2009, 01:48 PM
RAM GUY's Avatar
RAM GUY RAM GUY is offline
Corsair Product Guru
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 118,269
POST ID # = 401844
RAM GUY Reputation: 10
Default

Our 64 Gig Flash Voyager is rather Large and will look like this:
You will see it is much larger than the older drives 2. 4 or even our 16 Gig Flash Voyagers.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg CMFUSBHC64GB.jpg (5.4 KB, 1020 views)
__________________
Support accounts and tickets can be created at https://support.corsair.com.
Reply With Quote


  #5  
Old 05-21-2009, 06:41 AM
Agg Agg is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 5
POST ID # = 401932
Agg Reputation: 10
Default

Ah, this definitely does not have the extra length on it. It is in fact exactly the same length as an older 2GB Voyager and a (red) 16GB Voyager GT. I've attached a photo showing the 3 drives I have.

Can you confirm the one in the middle is a fake? Do Corsair really not make a 64GB Flash Voyager in that physical size?
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 3corsairs.jpg (54.9 KB, 419 views)

Last edited by Agg; 05-22-2009 at 12:22 AM.
Reply With Quote


  #6  
Old 05-21-2009, 06:53 AM
Mike Buxton's Avatar
Mike Buxton Mike Buxton is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 65
POST ID # = 401934
Mike Buxton Reputation: 10
Default

Hi agg,

Congratulations.That's an excellent comparative illustration which should evoke some helpful comment.

My regards
Reply With Quote


  #7  
Old 05-21-2009, 01:53 PM
RAM GUY's Avatar
RAM GUY RAM GUY is offline
Corsair Product Guru
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 118,269
POST ID # = 401957
RAM GUY Reputation: 10
Default

The 64 Gig in your picture is a counterfeit product and I bet will not hold more than 4 Gig of data
__________________
Support accounts and tickets can be created at https://support.corsair.com.
Reply With Quote


  #8  
Old 05-21-2009, 02:33 PM
Agg Agg is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 5
POST ID # = 401967
Agg Reputation: 10
Default

Well, it does hold more than 4GB, I just tested it. But it took more than half an hour to copy that data onto it so I can't be bothered trying to see where its limit is! I'll get onto the vendor and see what the story is. If you want to follow it up with them, RAM GUY, feel free to PM me, or have another Corsair employee do so, and I'll let you know their details.
Reply With Quote


  #9  
Old 05-21-2009, 04:54 PM
RAM GUY's Avatar
RAM GUY RAM GUY is offline
Corsair Product Guru
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 118,269
POST ID # = 401980
RAM GUY Reputation: 10
Default

Please send me an email with a picture of the back of the package and the resellers name address and phone number and if you can a copy of the invoice.
ramguy@corsairmemory.com
__________________
Support accounts and tickets can be created at https://support.corsair.com.
Reply With Quote


Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:59 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.