Corsair Community

Programming the K70 RGB

Corran

Hello. About two months ago I was looking for a mechanical keyboard and was intrigued when I learned about the K70 RGB. As a software engineer, I had a lot of ideas, but I'm worried that I've set expectations too high.

For example, I would like to create a "heatmap profile" where keys turn "hot" when you use them repeatedly and the rest turn "cold". When you switch between programs, the heatmap would change to what it last was for that program. This way, instead of manually creating a profile for each program the heatmap would automatically generate profiles for you.

Another idea would be accept to input from a music player, and, instead of reacting to key presses, the keys would react to the music. Imagine an audio spectrum analyzer but on the keyboard.

These kinds of ideas would require storing state for each key, persisting and loading that state between reboots, performing some small computations, having a unique id for each foreground process available, and accepting input from external programs. That is quite a laundry list of asks for a new v1 product, but I was still hopeful especially after seeing a screenshot on the product page which shows "SCRIPT" as an option for programming the board:

(I'm guessing this image will be replaced soon now that the actual software is out...)

http://www.corsair.com/en-us/~/media/E79D6242A29742C8BF20000E738FDBA6.ashx

Now that the red switch version is out and the manual and software are available to all to review, I'm a bit sad to find such depth of programability missing. The primary reason I don't have a keyboard yet is because I was holding out for the blue or brown switches, but I'm not sure anymore...

Will the kind of programability I am seeking come eventually and soon for the K70 rgb? Is the reason it is missing so the keyboard's delays could be minimized? Or am I just blind and this functionality actually already exists?

Thanks