The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Corsair Link

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-22-2017, 09:03 PM
boeing253 boeing253 is offline
Registered User
boeing253's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 109
POST ID # = 909124
boeing253 Reputation: 20
Default Using SIV to control H80i V2

Hi All,

I have been running Corsair Link V4.2.4.25 and it's been running ok although using a lot of CPU.

I've got an intermittent problem which seems to happen when the computer has been just idling for a few hours when I haven't been using it.

Link will freeze on the same fan & pump speed and to get it unfrozen I actually have to restart my pc.

If I am actively using the pc then everything is fine and nothing freezes.

What could cause this?

I would also like to direct a question to red-ray about using SIV instead and I wanted to know if I leave just the corsair USB driver installed, but uninstall Link will this function correctly in SIV as I don't believe you need Link installed.
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 06-23-2017, 01:33 AM
red-ray red-ray is offline
Banned
red-ray's PC Specs
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: England (GMT+1)
Posts: 7,152
POST ID # = 909143
red-ray Reputation: 81
Unhappy I believe it's a bug in the H80iV2 driver

Quote:
Originally Posted by boeing253 View Post
  1. What could cause this?
  2. I would also like to direct a question to red-ray about using SIV instead and I wanted to know if I leave just the corsair USB driver installed, but uninstall Link will this function correctly in SIV as I don't believe you need Link installed.
  1. I believe it's a bug in the H80iV2 driver and SIV has a work around , see http://forum.corsair.com/forums/showthread.php?p=857462
  2. Link does not need to be installed but the H80iV2 driver does.
Reply With Quote


1 members found this post helpful.
  #3  
Old 06-23-2017, 03:44 AM
boeing253 boeing253 is offline
Registered User
boeing253's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 109
POST ID # = 909156
boeing253 Reputation: 20
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by red-ray View Post
  1. I believe it's a bug in the H80iV2 driver and SIV has a work around , see http://forum.corsair.com/forums/showthread.php?p=857462
  2. Link does not need to be installed but the H80iV2 driver does.
Thanks very much red-ray it looks like I'll switch to using SIV64 over the weekend once I get it setup, better performance and less CPU usage = awesome software.

Is the H80i V2 driver the Corsair Hydro Driver I see on my computer?
Reply With Quote


  #4  
Old 06-23-2017, 04:24 AM
red-ray red-ray is offline
Banned
red-ray's PC Specs
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: England (GMT+1)
Posts: 7,152
POST ID # = 909158
red-ray Reputation: 81
Arrow It's probably hydros7289.inf

Quote:
Originally Posted by boeing253 View Post
Is the H80i V2 driver the Corsair Hydro Driver I see on my computer?
It's probably hydros7289.inf which is what is needed, see http://forum.corsair.com/forums/showthread.php?p=856104.

Press [Restart] on [Link Devices] and the name used by Device Manager will include H80iV2

Last edited by red-ray; 06-23-2017 at 04:27 AM.
Reply With Quote


  #5  
Old 06-23-2017, 04:30 AM
boeing253 boeing253 is offline
Registered User
boeing253's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 109
POST ID # = 909159
boeing253 Reputation: 20
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by red-ray View Post
It's probably hydros7289.inf which is what is needed, see http://forum.corsair.com/forums/showthread.php?p=856104.

Press [Restart] on [Link Devices] and the name used by Device Manager will include H80iV2
Thanks Red-Ray I will have a look on my PC and see if the driver is there.

This may sound like a noob question, but which directory should I be looking in for this? Can I see it under Device Manager.
Reply With Quote


  #6  
Old 06-23-2017, 04:35 AM
red-ray red-ray is offline
Banned
red-ray's PC Specs
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: England (GMT+1)
Posts: 7,152
POST ID # = 909160
red-ray Reputation: 81
Idea Just do it!

Quote:
Originally Posted by boeing253 View Post
This may sound like a noob question, but which directory should I be looking in for this? Can I see it under Device Manager.
In Device Manager Right/Click on the device and select properties.

I am 99% sure the driver will be there anyway and you won't have any issues. The only issues I recall are CL4 failing to install it in the first place which is why I needed to attach it to the linked post.

Provided you read http://rh-software.com/Using%20SIV%2...20Hardware.pdf SIV should just work and I have never known SIV to have issues reporting and controlling a device that CL4 reported.

If you get stuck post the screen shots I specified in http://forum.corsair.com/forums/showthread.php?t=140665

Last edited by red-ray; 06-23-2017 at 04:55 AM.
Reply With Quote


  #7  
Old 07-12-2017, 05:14 AM
boeing253 boeing253 is offline
Registered User
boeing253's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 109
POST ID # = 911262
boeing253 Reputation: 20
Default

Hi Red-Ray,

I have succesfully configured SIV to run my H80i V2.

I have tested and the fan speeds are increasing according to the set "PWM" %.

https://drive.google.com/open?id=0B4...HUtdGpManlQZTA

I have disabled CL4 from running on startup, and now my total CPU usage fluctuates between 1>5%. Much better than CL4 where I was idling constantly around 17%.

I will keep testing and look forward to using SIV well into the future. Just a small question if I need to for some unknown reason in the future go back to Corsair Link do I simply just disable SIV from running on startup and the cooler will revert back to using CL4?

Red-Ray from the bottom of my heart I wish to extend a massive thank you to you, and I wonder why Corsair haven't improved their software based on others feedback after using SIV.

Last edited by boeing253; 07-12-2017 at 05:16 AM.
Reply With Quote


  #8  
Old 07-12-2017, 05:39 AM
red-ray red-ray is offline
Banned
red-ray's PC Specs
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: England (GMT+1)
Posts: 7,152
POST ID # = 911265
red-ray Reputation: 81
Thumbs up Thank you for letting me know SIV is working well

Quote:
Originally Posted by boeing253 View Post
  1. https://drive.google.com/file/d/0B4q...pManlQZTA/view
  2. my total CPU usage fluctuates between 1>5%. Much better than CL4 where I was idling constantly around 17%.
  3. To go back to Corsair Link do I simply just disable SIV from running on startup and the cooler will revert back to using CL4?
  4. I wonder why Corsair haven't improved their software based on others feedback after using SIV.
Thank you. It makes a pleasant change to simply hear about things working well rather than issues that need to be addressed.
  1. The Pump mode is NA and suspect you should use Quiet, Performance or Custom. For most systems a pump speed of 1800 to 1900 RPM works well.
  2. 5% is higher than usual for SIV. Please post Menu->Help->Lock Usage + Menu->Help->Lock Handles + Menu->Edit->STC Info so I can sensibly comment. Let the STC plots fill before taking the screen shot.
  3. Yes, just don't run SIV. To do a quick check you can just exit SIV and run CL4.
  4. So do I and suspect much of this is down to internal constraints within Corsair.
I am wondering if you would like to post about setting to SIV any tips you have to http://forum.corsair.com/forums/showthread.php?t=137428.

Last edited by red-ray; 07-12-2017 at 06:02 AM.
Reply With Quote


  #9  
Old 07-12-2017, 06:43 AM
boeing253 boeing253 is offline
Registered User
boeing253's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 109
POST ID # = 911268
boeing253 Reputation: 20
Default

Here you go Red-Ray.

I've set the Pump to Performance "5".

Currently with Google chrome open as well as CPUID HWMonitor i'm using 5.6% total CPU usage, still much better then with CL4.

Please see screenshots below.

https://drive.google.com/open?id=0B4...nRHVlpPZUJ5eEU

https://drive.google.com/open?id=0B4...3dDS1o0eS1YSEk



Quote:
Originally Posted by red-ray View Post
Thank you. It makes a pleasant change to simply hear about things working well rather than issues that need to be addressed.
  1. The Pump mode is NA and suspect you should use Quiet, Performance or Custom. For most systems a pump speed of 1800 to 1900 RPM works well.
  2. 5% is higher than usual for SIV. Please post Menu->Help->Lock Usage + Menu->Help->Lock Handles + Menu->Edit->STC Info so I can sensibly comment. Let the STC plots fill before taking the screen shot.
  3. Yes, just don't run SIV. To do a quick check you can just exit SIV and run CL4.
  4. So do I and suspect much of this is down to internal constraints within Corsair.
I am wondering if you would like to post about setting to SIV any tips you have to http://forum.corsair.com/forums/showthread.php?t=137428.
Reply With Quote


  #10  
Old 07-12-2017, 08:00 AM
red-ray red-ray is offline
Banned
red-ray's PC Specs
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: England (GMT+1)
Posts: 7,152
POST ID # = 911276
red-ray Reputation: 81
Happy SIV uses 0.20 % of the system CPU time

Quote:
Originally Posted by boeing253 View Post
I've set the Pump to Performance "5".

Currently with Google chrome open as well as CPUID HWMonitor i'm using 5.6% total CPU usage, still much better then with CL4.
OK, but I suspect Quite will be enough.

Looking at [STC Info] SIV uses 1.60% of a CPU or 0.20 % of the system .
Reply With Quote


  #11  
Old 07-12-2017, 08:06 AM
boeing253 boeing253 is offline
Registered User
boeing253's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 109
POST ID # = 911281
boeing253 Reputation: 20
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by red-ray View Post
OK, but I suspect Quite will be enough.

Looking at [STC Info] SIV uses 1.60% of a CPU or 0.20 % of the system .
Yup SIV is alot better. My CPU temps have also come down since with CL4 I was sitting at 17% total CPU usage.

Now I can sit back and hopefully not have the cooler freeze like it did sometimes with CL.

Thank you very much Red-Ray.

It's midnight here now, but I will make sure to post a reply in the thread you linked about setting up SIV (which only took a few minutes following the guide)
Reply With Quote


  #12  
Old 07-13-2017, 12:36 AM
boeing253 boeing253 is offline
Registered User
boeing253's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 109
POST ID # = 911443
boeing253 Reputation: 20
Default

Update: I had the PC idling on desktop for 2 hrs without the cooler freezing.

Played my Flight Simulator and wasn't till I finished the game this time that the cooler froze.

I will await your analysis Red-Ray before doing anything.
Reply With Quote


  #13  
Old 07-13-2017, 01:15 AM
red-ray red-ray is offline
Banned
red-ray's PC Specs
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: England (GMT+1)
Posts: 7,152
POST ID # = 911447
red-ray Reputation: 81
Question Where is [USB Bus]?

Quote:
Originally Posted by boeing253 View Post
I will await your analysis Red-Ray before doing anything.
I need to check what this reports.

Further next time the cooler freezes from Device Manager Disable then Enable it and see if that get's it working again.

BTW .PNG gives sharper/crisper images then .JPG.
Reply With Quote


  #14  
Old 07-13-2017, 04:17 AM
boeing253 boeing253 is offline
Registered User
boeing253's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 109
POST ID # = 911465
boeing253 Reputation: 20
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by red-ray View Post
I need to check what this reports.

Further next time the cooler freezes from Device Manager Disable then Enable it and see if that get's it working again.

BTW .PNG gives sharper/crisper images then .JPG.
Ok thanks red-ray I will try Disabling/Enabling again when it happens. It's happened 3 times today. Managed to play my game for 1 hr and then upon finishing Fan & Pump speed both reporting 0.

I have the Link Fans page on my 2nd screen all the time so I can see the RPM of the fans and pump. I know it's frozen when the "current" column doesn't report anything.

I did read the topic you linked in your 1st reply about another user who also had the cooler report 0 speeds, but I see that fix is already implemented in SIV by default now "-AIO-POWER=15:15".

I'm really wanting to persevere & get the cooler working with SIV as I'm liking the fact I use little to no CPU power and my CPU speed sits between 800-1.2ghz idling.

I will also upload screenshots in .PNG format from now, I was aware it provides better quality images.

I won't get a chance to test the cooler out again until this coming Sunday Night so I will report back and try Disabling and Enabling the driver if it does crash.

Many thanks Red-Ray for your help so far.
Reply With Quote


  #15  
Old 07-13-2017, 09:33 PM
boeing253 boeing253 is offline
Registered User
boeing253's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 109
POST ID # = 911589
boeing253 Reputation: 20
Default

Hi Red-Ray, I just wondered if you had, had time to analyze the screenshots and see where my problem might be coming from.

I'll be able to test the Driver Disable & Enable on Sunday night (that is of course if it freezes).

Many Thanks.
Reply With Quote


Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:54 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.