Corsair Community

Strange Temps on H100i RGB ELITE

Go to solution Solved by c-attack,

Hi, 

I've recently built a new machine and its my first time using an AIO so not sure if this is perhaps just normal.

My temps seem strange in that at complete idle the CPU package is sitting around 46° but as soon as any load is applied it jumps up almost instantly to 65°-69°. Even a small load of installing a game on Steam jumps up to these temps.

However, when stressing the CPU the temperature never exceeds 85°.

My CPU is a Ryzen 7 7800X3D.

I've tried reseating the cooler and confirmed the thermal paste has good coverage. Are these kind of erratic temps normal for AIO's?

• Solution

You may want to look for user impressions on the 7800 X3D, but his is pretty typical for any modern CPU and they are very reactive with a lot of cores.  No matter what you use for a cooling method, you can't prevent the CPU temp jump when voltage is applied underneath.  The CPU is cooled conductively.  The rest of the cooler is about dumping that heat somewhere else.  A larger or more effective CPU cooler will let you go longer or use less fan speed before the CPU temp reaches Temp X, but it can't prevent the original event.