Corsair Community

4000D Watercooling Build

SarahTr

Hi! 

I'm looking for help with a watercooling build that I want to do. I have never done this before but I do have a basic plan in place for what I want.

As you can see by the included computer specs, I do not have a video card that I can watercool. It is brand new so I won't be replacing it anytime soon for one that can be watercooled but I do plan to eventually do that. I did reach out to Bykski and after sending them the requested pictures, they said that the board used in my card is not the 2060 board that can be watercooled.

I know that my video card will very likely have to be mounted vertically in order to fit the XD5 Pump/Res Combo, my case already supports that style of video card mount so I would just need to get the extension cable to plug into my motherboard.

I am however looking to watercool my processor, so I can get into overclocking it (maybe get some better fps in the games that I play on the computer too) as I know that cooling is especially important for that.

The main question/concern I have is with noise, I sleep during the day as I work the night shift. I have heard that the XD3 RGB Pump/Res Combo is rather noisy and takes longer to fill the loop while the XD5 RGB Pump/Res Combo is not as noisy and doesn't take as long to fill the loop. 

Also I don't think I would need a second radiator for the top of the case as I have no video card to cool, so I should be fine with just the one radiator?

I've also seen different ways to drain the loop. Some people used a Y splitter with a ball valve and others did a couple of 90° fittings with a ball valve. Is this personal preference or is one better than the other? I assume space within the case also has a role to play?

Here is the list of parts I have figured out at the moment, I got this via the Corsair Configurator:

1x XC5 RGB (1200) for my processor

1x XR5 280mm radiator for the front of the case

Softline 10/13mm tubing