Corsair Community

H150i Elite LCD - Adding case fans and controlling the fan speed?

mtns

Hi, I'm new to PC building/upgrading so go easy on me! I've recently receievd a prebuilt PC - case is the Fractal Meshify 2, with stock case fans 1 rear exhaust, and 2 in the top exhust. I have a Corsair H150i Elite LCD AIO, with the radiator installed on the front of the case. Motherboard is an ASUS TUF Z690-PLUS WIFI D4.

I want to replace the stock case fans with LL140s for some subtle RGB, and also to gain control of the fan speed. The OOTB fans are 3 pin, and from what I've read and understand these spin at a constant RPM, whereas the LL140s are 4 pin. So far I have 2 LL140s and I'm after some advice on installing them.

Currently, the stock fans (3 pin PWM, no RGB) are installed to a fan hub which came with the case (Nexus+ 2 fan hub) and this is connected to the motherboard via the CPU OPT header. I can see a couple of options to replace them with LL140s, but I was wondering about pros/cons of each approach, or if there is better way to do this.

Install the LL140s to the Commander Core, as there are 3 fans and 3 RGB ports free at the moment. I could then remove the Nexus+ 2 fan hub.

Install the LL140s, with the commander core controlling the RGB, and the fan control going to the Nexus+ 2.

I'm currently trying the options with the PC case open, and just trying connecting the wires for the 2 different configs and seeing what works best.

If I try option 1, connecting them 100% via the commander core, the iCue software detects the fans to config the RGB, but I can't see the fans in the software when I click on cooling - although they are spinning. How do I get control of the fan speed?