Corsair Community

Will the fan auto adjust?

elj2k15

Hi all,

I recently purchased the H100i cooling. I'm new to the AIO scene and could have multiple questions. Every answer is welcome and appreciated!

1. Will the cooling adjust automatically as the load increases?

2. Not a fan of Corsair link (based on reviews), recommended fan control software?

My idle temps @25 *C,

4 Core load temps varies 40-45 *C @ ultra gaming settings.

GPU @30*C

Corsair link profile set to default Quiet settings.

Are these numbers reasonable? Do I need to worry about CPU package?

Thanks a bunch!

EJ

1. Yes and no. The fan speed will adjust to changes in the water temperature inside the cooler. The fans' job is to remove heat from the water, rather than cool the CPU directly. They do not need to respond to the dynamic loads of the CPU. The water will carry heat away from the contact plate and CPU, regardless of water temperature. However, that water temperature will become the baseline CPU temperature (more or less). So, a higher water temperature results in a higher CPU base temperature. Base temperature + voltage = actual CPU temperature.

2. I would start with anything available with your motherboard, whether it is software or BIOS. I am not familiar with what ASRock offers on that board, but someone else may be able to guide you or make a better recommendation.

3 & 4. Temperatures look great. I would need to know your voltages and settings to really evaluate, but those are good numbers under any circumstances and I can't see ever getting them lower. At those temps, there is no reason to use anything other than the Quiet settings. You don't need more fan speed or the noise.

Yes, you can ignore CPU package unless for some reason you have software or BIOS functions tied to that value. Most use the core data, either individually or as an average.