The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Solid State Drives (SSD)

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-06-2019, 07:03 AM
Dicehunter's Avatar
Dicehunter Dicehunter is offline
I Fight For The Users
Dicehunter's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: EU
Posts: 458
POST ID # = 1023199
Dicehunter Reputation: 16
Default Corsair SSD Toolbox Secure Wipe ?

Just curious but how secure is the "Secure Wipe" in the Corsair SSD Toolbox ? Would getting info from an SSD/NVME drive be doable for your average Joe ?

Reason I ask is I had a small Corsair SSD with my OS on it, E-mails etc... that I secure wiped using the Corsair SSD Toolbox and sold onto someone as I upgraded to a much larger Corsair SSD, Any cause for concern or all ok ?
__________________
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 03-10-2020, 06:31 PM
Pressed Pressed is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2020
Posts: 2
POST ID # = 1037454
Pressed Reputation: 10
Default

Secure Wipe usually denotes a feature in a SSD that fully resets the contents of the drive. Including the overprovisioned areas that are not accessible from the computer operating system. It's normally a very secure method of wiping the hard drive.

The only potential problem would be if there is a bug in the secure wipe function that prevents it from operating properly.
Reply With Quote


Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:48 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.