The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Solid State Drives (SSD) > SSD Firmware Update

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-23-2014, 06:36 PM
Pr0gen Pr0gen is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 7
POST ID # = 698763
Pr0gen Reputation: 10
Exclamation Unable to update Force 3 from 1.3.3 to 5.07 using Toolbox

Hi folks,

New to the forums so be gentle :)

I've got a 120gb Corsair Force 3 SSD, and what with Titanfall coming out soon, I thought I'd check my read/write speed and see if there's any new firmware I should get.

I used CrystalDiskMark to check the read/write speeds and I'm getting about 180mb Read/100mb write on sequential (Note: I'm running Windows 7 64bit). So thought, hmm, yep, should probably check for firmwares for the SSD.

Went to Corsair's site and grabbed Toolbox, it tells me I'm on firmware v1.3.3 ...yea, so, just a bit out of date! lol. So, I told it to update to the latest firmware (5.07) but before the new firmware has even downloaded, it fails.

I looked through a few of the forums and there's various bit of sporadic information like plugging the drive in to another machine (note: nope, I don't have a 2nd or spare machine), rebooting it, slaving it to another, plugging it in a different SATA port etc... so thought it best to just ask you knowledgeable folk directly! :)

Can anyone help?

Cheers!
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 02-24-2014, 03:09 AM
Toasted Toasted is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 19,350
POST ID # = 698805
Toasted Toasted Reputation: 108
Default

The SSD toolbox does not support FW updating from 1.3.X to 5.0.X. You'll need to use the manual updater in order to do it.

FW 5.05
http://forum.corsair.com/forums/showthread.php?t=117994
Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 02-24-2014, 06:36 AM
Pr0gen Pr0gen is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 7
POST ID # = 698824
Pr0gen Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Toasted View Post
The SSD toolbox does not support FW updating from 1.3.X to 5.0.X. You'll need to use the manual updater in order to do it.

FW 5.05
http://forum.corsair.com/forums/showthread.php?t=117994
Great! Thanks! 'tis most appreciated.

Have to admit: that's the quickest reply I've had from *any* support dept, ever. :)

I'll letcha know how I get on.

Cheers!
Reply With Quote


  #4  
Old 02-24-2014, 06:26 PM
Pr0gen Pr0gen is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 7
POST ID # = 698911
Pr0gen Reputation: 10
Default

Mainboard firmware updated, AHCI enabled, drive manually updated to 5.05, and now up to 5.07 using Toolbox. Ta for the help. It's much appreciated! :)
Reply With Quote


Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:05 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.