Corsair Community

Questions about upgrading RAM for my alienware aurora r4 system

lau87g

Hello Corsair forum,

I recently got myself an Alienware aurora R4 desktop. I know the standard RAM supplied with it is crap so i opted for the minimum amount and want to upgrade.

I am by no means a RAM expert so I was hoping someone could help me answer a few questions and help me pick a corsair RAM kit.

Question 1: I've read a document posted here on the forum by corsair called AN806: Memory Upgrade Resource Guide. It stated that when using all 4 DIMM slots (4-up) on my motherboard, I would not be able to clock the cards as fast as when using 2 DIMM slots. I read somewhere else that RAM runs stock at half its advertized frequency, so when you buy a 1600Mhz stick, it will run stock at 800Mhz. Does this mean I can't run 4 1600Mhz sticks at the actual 1600? Or does this lower maximum frequency only apply to speeds higher than the advertised frequency of the sticks?

Question 2: I know that the lower the timings, the better, but can I select a RAM kit with timings as low as possible? Or is there some limitation I should be aware of?

Question 3: In the Memory Upgrade Resource Guide, it says the following about 4-up: "This increased load can result in instability if the BIOS is not tuned or tweaked to compensate. The user should make certain that their motherboard BIOS allows adjustments to the memory controller voltage." So does this mean I'm supposed to alter the voltage to my CPU? The CPU has the memory controller right? So how does this work and how do I know how much to increase/decrease the voltage?