Corsair Community

TWINX1024-3200C2 vs VS1GBKIT400

Caduceus

Hi, please forgive me for what might be a really silly question as I have no idea what I'm talking about. I have no IT experience at all so apologies.

I currently have an Intel D865PERL motherboard running a 2.4mhz intel chip with 512mb memory. I want to upgrade to 1gb and have been given 1gb (VS1GBKIT400), but looking at the Corsair website they suggest using TWINX1024-3200C2 - but what is the difference and can I use the 1gb that I have been given?

Next question, do I need heatsinks with the memory?

Hope you can help me.

Hi, please forgive me for what might be a really silly question as I have no idea what I'm talking about. I have no IT experience at all so apologies.

I currently have an Intel D865PERL motherboard running a 2.4mhz intel chip with 512mb memory. I want to upgrade to 1gb and have been given 1gb (VS1GBKIT400), but looking at the Corsair website they suggest using TWINX1024-3200C2 - but what is the difference and can I use the 1gb that I have been given?

It's not recommended to mix different brands, speeds, timings or revisions of memory.

Also, with that D865PERL motherboard you don't need more than the VS1GBKIT400, as that mobo lacks any provision at all whatsoever to manually adjust the DDR memory voltage. You can use the TWINX1024-3200C2 with that mobo at the SPD-programmed JEDEC-reference timings (3-3-3-8) - but you'll be paying more money for practically zero performance improvement (in fact, the TWINX1024-3200C2 at default timings actually runs at CAS 3, whereas the VS1GBKIT400 is rated at CAS 2.5).

By the way, the TWINX1024-3200C2 can run at 2-3-3-6 timings - but using such tighter timings requires that you not only manually set the timings to the tested timings, but you should also raise the memory/DDR voltage to at least 2.70V. (The D865PERL runs its memory voltage at closer to 2.50V.)

Next question, do I need heatsinks with the memory?