Corsair Community

Very basic question re Commander Mini

JezUK

Hi,

I'm totally new to this sort of PC gear but have built myself a darn good computer and have added a Commander Mini simply because I didn't have enough fan headers on my motherboard (maybe not what I needed to buy, but hey, it's done now !).

The Commander comes with hardly any documentation, and I just want to know what does it do ? Okay, it allows you to connect devices to it, but I was already doing that via the mobo.

Does the commander mini actually give you better control over your fans, and if so, how ? I simply don't see any difference in the Link software (other than the Commander Mini is being shown in the System picture).

Please help me understand what the Commander Mini actually gives me :)

Thanks.

1: possible to survelliance the memory temperature of DHX equipped memories via the Airflow Pro LED display, once you buy the CL Airflow Pro Cable.

2: You can connect your PSU to that, and avoid wasting precious USB headers on your mobo.

3: Some older hXXXi hydro coolers can connect via a link Cable instead of using a USB header.

You can connect 4 temp sensors, good for example monitoring the temp of your RAID Array (since the temp of a RAID Array cannot be reported to the computer if the raid controller does not specifically support that, and the builtin BIOS RAID does often not support that).

The temp sensors can also be used to montor other temperatures inside the computer.

6 fans with PWM Control.

Also, you can connect one RGB LED Lightning strip too.

Thanks Sebastian, that's pretty much what I figured (apart from your item 1) - which I have no experience of).

After posting my question, I decided to try and right click on the fans which I know are connected to the commander and it seems you have a few more options there.

(see attachment)