Corsair Community

500r Quick Question

Absolute Power

Hello everybody,

I am new to Corsair products. I am going to build a custom PC soon and I really like the 500r. Its design and functions are perfect according to my eyes so before I am going to purchase this case, I have some few questions that I want to be answered.

The case included 2 intake fans front, 1 intake fan side, and 1 exhaust fan rear. According to Corsair, this case can be used up to 10 fans. I suppose they are (2 front, 2 side, 1 rear, 2 top, 1 bottom, and 2 con each drives bays. I will be buying some fans (probably some LED Fans). I need some suggestions:

How can you tell if the fan is intake or exhaust fan?

This is maybe a stupid question, but I serious don't know how to determine it.

Which kind of fan you recommend and where should it be put?

I am going to use 1 200m fan on the side (included) so the total fans should be 9. As far as my knowledge, intake fan blows the air and exhaust fan sucks the air. 3 intake and 1 exhaust as default. I know that if there is too much air inside the case, the dust will fill up quickly and I have to clean it often.

The top should be 2 of 120mm or 140mm intake or exhaust fans?

The bottom should be intake I guess. Exhaust fans to suck hot air on the drives bays. The top should be 2 exhaust fans. Am I correct?

I don't know if I should use Water Cooling (H60) or just a regular CPU Fan (not i7-2600k stock)?

Last but not least, can you recommend which fans (intake and exhaust fans) I should get and where? I am going to spend around $50 to fill up all those 9 fans available for the 500r. LED or no LED will be fine. At least the temperature shouldn't be too high.

By the way I have one recommendation for you guys.