The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > General HoH Stuff > General Questions

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-03-2008, 09:42 AM
ubuntu_demon ubuntu_demon is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 2
POST ID # = 360498
ubuntu_demon Reputation: 10
Default Asus P5Q and Corsair TWIN2X4096-6400C4DHX ?

I'm helping a friend who wants a nice system with a different budget (500-800 euro without peripherals) with a parts list. He wants to be able to play current games reasonably well. Here's the current list :

1 Antec Performance One P182 Black
2 Asus P5Q
3 Corsair HX620
4 Intel Core 2 Duo E8400
5 Lite-On LH-20A1S black
6 Saphire AMD/ATI HD4850
7 Western Digital Caviar SE16 WD5000AAKS, 500GB
8 Zalman CNPS9500 AT (Socket 775, PWM)
9 Corsair TWIN2X4096-6400C4DHX

Why is the TWIN2X4096-6400C4DHX not mentioned on the QVL of the P5Q while it is mentioned on the QVL for the P5Q-E and P5Q Deluxe ? Should I investigate other memory or recommend the P5Q-E over the P5Q? (I know the P5Q has a different PCB design than the P5Q-E and P5Q Deluxe but I assume they are very similar regarding BIOS and chipsets)

Thank you very much in advance!

Last edited by ubuntu_demon; 08-03-2008 at 10:22 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-03-2008, 03:46 PM
Wired's Avatar
Wired Wired is offline
Administrator
Wired's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 32,188
POST ID # = 360522
Wired Reputation: 32
Default

It's Asus' QVL, so you'd have to ask them. You can always check the Corsair Compatibility Site, but as long as that board has memory voltage settings, it should work just fine.
__________________
No, I don't work for Corsair
...you need to flow like a river...
Forum Rules
Admin of this forum / webdesignforums.net / Petri's IT Forum / The Corsair Memory Steam Group
Founder/Creator/Admin of ZE SECRET PROJECT (Coming Soon)
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-04-2008, 07:39 AM
ubuntu_demon ubuntu_demon is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 2
POST ID # = 360577
ubuntu_demon Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wired View Post
It's Asus' QVL, so you'd have to ask them. You can always check the Corsair Compatibility Site, but as long as that board has memory voltage settings, it should work just fine.
Thanks.

The Corsair Memory Configurator doesn't have the Asus P5Q listed. I have contacted Asus. They say they can't guarantee that the P5Q will work with this specific memory. So I will recommend the P5Q-E to my friend.

This thread can be marked as resolved.

Last edited by ubuntu_demon; 08-04-2008 at 08:24 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-04-2008, 12:40 PM
RAM GUY's Avatar
RAM GUY RAM GUY is offline
Corsair Product Guru
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 118,268
POST ID # = 360608
RAM GUY Reputation: 10
Default

Thanks for letting us know and all of the P5Q series MB's should all perform about the same just different MB layout.
__________________
Support accounts and tickets can be created at https://support.corsair.com.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:06 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.