The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Cooling

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-25-2017, 01:27 AM
socialwaif socialwaif is offline
Registered User
socialwaif's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 78
POST ID # = 927657
socialwaif Reputation: 10
Sad Hydro Series H100i v2 - Fan at 0 RPM

I think I connected something wrong. I could use some help sorting this out.

This was my first attempt hooking an AiO liquid CPU cooler up myself. Spent a few hours working on it.

My CPU is an Intel i7-5820K.

My motherboard is a Gigabyte GA-X99-UD4.

I connected the pump to the "CPU_OPT" connection. I was not sure what to use in the "CPU_FAN" connection right above it. My other fan headers are labeled things like "SYS_FAN" 1-3. I originally had two other fans in both the "CPU_FAN" and "CPU_OPT" connections. The motherboard does not have any headers marked "PWM"

My previous CPU AiO liquid cooler was an old Corsair Hydro Series H105. It was set up by my PC maker and not me. The pump connection for that went into something else, somewhere on the backside of the motherboard. Honestly, it gets lost in the tangle of wires.

I think the issue is that I don't have the right thing plugged in to the "CPU_FAN" header. Just not sure what to put there.

It is worth mentioning that right now, the new fans are pretty loud. I can't see to adjust their speed or noise levels either.
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 11-25-2017, 01:34 AM
DevBiker's Avatar
DevBiker DevBiker is offline
CORSAIR Beta Team
DevBiker's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Republic of Texas
Posts: 8,701
POST ID # = 927658
DevBiker Reputation: 94
Default

See this post for the proper connection: http://forum.corsair.com/v3/showthread.php?t=168801.
In short, plug the fan connector from your pump into CPU_FAN. Set it to 100%.

What are your fans plugged in to? They should be plugged into the fan headers that are coming off of the pump. And they shouldn't be loud.

Did you connect the USB cable to a USB 2.0 header on your motherboard? And did you install Link? You'll need to install Link to see and control the cooler.
Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 11-25-2017, 01:44 AM
socialwaif socialwaif is offline
Registered User
socialwaif's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 78
POST ID # = 927659
socialwaif Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DevBiker View Post
See this post for the proper connection: http://forum.corsair.com/v3/showthread.php?t=168801.
In short, plug the fan connector from your pump into CPU_FAN. Set it to 100%.

What are your fans plugged in to? They should be plugged into the fan headers that are coming off of the pump. And they shouldn't be loud.

Did you connect the USB cable to a USB 2.0 header on your motherboard? And did you install Link? You'll need to install Link to see and control the cooler.
Thanks for the link. I saw something else by Greybeard but the link didn't work for me. I see that Greybeard has us tweak a few things in the BIOS. I have yet to do that.

Uhh? My fans from the H100i V2 are connected to the cable coming off the pump. I think so, at least.

The USB is plugged into a USB 2.0 header on my motherboard. Installed Corsair Link. I can see the pump speed. In Corsair Link, the fan speed for is showing 0 RPM.
Reply With Quote


  #4  
Old 11-25-2017, 02:47 AM
socialwaif socialwaif is offline
Registered User
socialwaif's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 78
POST ID # = 927662
socialwaif Reputation: 10
Default

This is what I am seeing in my motherboard's EUFI/Bios, under "Smart Fan." Nothing obvious that mentions "VOLTAGE CONTROL." I'm not sure what I need to change there, if anything.

I will try and see what happens if I plug the pump into "CPU_FAN" as opposed to "CPU_OPT." I was led to believe it went into the "CPU_OPT" header by another website.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg IMG-0156.JPG (1.71 MB, 1666 views)
Reply With Quote


  #5  
Old 11-25-2017, 02:51 AM
DevBiker's Avatar
DevBiker DevBiker is offline
CORSAIR Beta Team
DevBiker's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Republic of Texas
Posts: 8,701
POST ID # = 927663
DevBiker Reputation: 94
Default

You HAVE to tweak those things in the BIOS. Otherwise, the pump won't get the full 12V that it needs.
Second, make sure that the fans are connected to the fan headers coming off of the pump. That's required for it to read the fan speed and control the fans. However, until it's getting the full 12V, it won't operate properly.
Reply With Quote


  #6  
Old 11-25-2017, 02:57 AM
socialwaif socialwaif is offline
Registered User
socialwaif's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 78
POST ID # = 927665
socialwaif Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DevBiker View Post
You HAVE to tweak those things in the BIOS. Otherwise, the pump won't get the full 12V that it needs.
Second, make sure that the fans are connected to the fan headers coming off of the pump. That's required for it to read the fan speed and control the fans. However, until it's getting the full 12V, it won't operate properly.
Sadly, I have yet to be able to find those settings in the EUFI/BIOS.

The pump has two wires coming off of it. Do I plug one in to the other? Or plug one in to the "CPU_FAN" or "CPU_OPT" headers on my motherboard?

Thanks in advance. Because I feel like I am being an idiot when it comes to wirting.
Reply With Quote


  #7  
Old 11-25-2017, 02:58 AM
DevBiker's Avatar
DevBiker DevBiker is offline
CORSAIR Beta Team
DevBiker's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Republic of Texas
Posts: 8,701
POST ID # = 927666
DevBiker Reputation: 94
Default

OK, in the fan speed control, set it to FULL SPEED.
Connect to the CPU FAN header. Make sure that the radiator fans are connected to the fan wires coming off of the pump.
Reply With Quote


  #8  
Old 11-25-2017, 03:00 AM
socialwaif socialwaif is offline
Registered User
socialwaif's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 78
POST ID # = 927668
socialwaif Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DevBiker View Post
OK, in the fan speed control, set it to FULL SPEED.
Connect to the CPU FAN header. Make sure that the radiator fans are connected to the fan wires coming off of the pump.
Full speed ahead! Doing so now.
Reply With Quote


  #9  
Old 11-25-2017, 03:10 AM
DevBiker's Avatar
DevBiker DevBiker is offline
CORSAIR Beta Team
DevBiker's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Republic of Texas
Posts: 8,701
POST ID # = 927669
DevBiker Reputation: 94
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by socialwaif View Post
Sadly, I have yet to be able to find those settings in the EUFI/BIOS.

The pump has two wires coming off of it. Do I plug one in to the other? Or plug one in to the "CPU_FAN" or "CPU_OPT" headers on my motherboard?

Thanks in advance. Because I feel like I am being an idiot when it comes to wirting.
There is a fan splitter coming off of the pump. One has 3 pins, one has 4 pins. This is normal and fine. The fans get plugged in to that. Not the motherboard or anything else. Make sure to use the fans that came with the cooler or, at least, PWM (4 pin) fans. It cannot control DC/3 Pin fans.
The other wire coming off of the pump goes into the CPU_FAN connector on the motherboard. In the BIOS, set it to FULL SPEED.
You've already got the USB connector set; leave that.
Reply With Quote


  #10  
Old 11-25-2017, 03:13 AM
DevBiker's Avatar
DevBiker DevBiker is offline
CORSAIR Beta Team
DevBiker's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Republic of Texas
Posts: 8,701
POST ID # = 927670
DevBiker Reputation: 94
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by socialwaif View Post
Thanks in advance. Because I feel like I am being an idiot when it comes to wirting.
You're smart enough to know what you don't know and ask for help. An idiot doesn't do that. So ... no worries. That's why this forum exists.
Reply With Quote


  #11  
Old 11-25-2017, 03:23 AM
socialwaif socialwaif is offline
Registered User
socialwaif's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 78
POST ID # = 927671
socialwaif Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DevBiker View Post
You're smart enough to know what you don't know and ask for help. An idiot doesn't do that. So ... no worries. That's why this forum exists.
You are awesome, man. Got it working. Now showing 900 RPM for the H100i v2 Fan. I swear, even at the Full Speed setting, they are now quieter than before.

Changed the "CPU_OPT" to "CPU_FAN" and set it to run at full speed.
Reply With Quote


  #12  
Old 11-25-2017, 03:27 AM
DevBiker's Avatar
DevBiker DevBiker is offline
CORSAIR Beta Team
DevBiker's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Republic of Texas
Posts: 8,701
POST ID # = 927672
DevBiker Reputation: 94
Default

Excellent!
Glad you are sorted. If you have any other questions, you know where to ask.
I'm off to bed ... it's 1:30 AM where I am and I'm not as young as I used to be.
Reply With Quote


  #13  
Old 11-25-2017, 03:29 AM
socialwaif socialwaif is offline
Registered User
socialwaif's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 78
POST ID # = 927673
socialwaif Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DevBiker View Post
Excellent!
Glad you are sorted. If you have any other questions, you know where to ask.
I'm off to bed ... it's 1:30 AM where I am and I'm not as young as I used to be.
Same. 2:30 AM here. To bed! Have a good sleep. Thanks again.
Reply With Quote


  #14  
Old 11-25-2017, 11:01 AM
c-attack c-attack is online now
Registered User
c-attack's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 11,308
POST ID # = 927714
c-attack c-attack Reputation: 116
Default

Make sure you use Link to adjust fan or pump speeds. Do not use the BIOS to try and control the unit.
Reply With Quote


  #15  
Old 11-25-2017, 06:15 PM
socialwaif socialwaif is offline
Registered User
socialwaif's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 78
POST ID # = 927753
socialwaif Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by c-attack View Post
Make sure you use Link to adjust fan or pump speeds. Do not use the BIOS to try and control the unit.
Yup, I am using Corsair Link tocontrol them. And I can control them!

However, the fan noise I am hearing- that sounds loud to me - is unaffected when I change the speed(RPM). I think it just the sound of them running. It may just sound loud to me because the sound is new and unfamiliar. I may just need to get used to them. My old fans were of the same type, SP120L.
Reply With Quote


Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:12 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.