The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Cooling

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 5 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-30-2013, 02:05 PM
TheSmoker TheSmoker is offline
Registered User
TheSmoker's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 33
POST ID # = 643879
TheSmoker Reputation: 10
Default Corsair Link SW issue with DPC latency

Corsair Link SW issue with DPC latency

Hello,

I am a happy user of a Corsair H80i along with Corsair Link 2.3.4816 software.
Corsair H80i has the latest 1.05 firmware.

What I have observed during prolonged runs of CL2 sw is the fact that CorsairLINK_HardwareMonitor.exe is affecting the latency timers on my computer. I measured that latency with DPC Latency Checker http://www.thesycon.de/eng/latency_check.shtml

What made me analyze this issue was the fact that after 2 or more days of computer uptime with CL2 sw running in background (minimized to systray) I have pops/cracks during movie watching and music listening which is a good indication that there is some issue with real time clock/PM clock/HPET.

After taking out of the equation the HPET issue (disabled in both bios & windows) I figured that must be something else that would affect my computer.

By going through a trial and error process of closing and starting and running different processes I've noted that even if I quit CL2 sw application the CorsairLINK_HardwareMonitor.exe would still run in background.

After closing the above mentioned process everything turned back to normal.

Corsair please take into consideration analyzing this problem and fix it in the next release of the software.

Keep up the good work!




As you can see, immediately after killing the CorsairLINK_HardwareMonitor.exe process everything goes back to normal. Please note that exiting the CL2 will not stop the CorsairLINK_HardwareMonitor.exe backround running process.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 30032013-1649.jpg (252.2 KB, 2990 views)
File Type: jpg 30032013-2000.jpg (274.9 KB, 2960 views)

Last edited by TheSmoker; 03-31-2013 at 04:26 PM.
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 03-30-2013, 11:44 PM
Speed's Avatar
Speed Speed is offline
Johnsonized
Speed's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 364
POST ID # = 643948
Speed Reputation: 10
Default

I can confirm this. I was a bit distressed to hear pops and clicks in music being played from the HD, either in iTunes or Winamp, on a system that should easily handle it > I7-3770K on an ASUS P8Z77-V Pro/Thunderbolt with Western Digital Caviar Black 2TB 6GB/s drives. Thought I was going to have to go back through my whole library and re-import. Not the case.

Just ran my own test and the DPC latency was above 4000 then dropped to 0 after killing CorsairLINK2 and its monitor. This, combined with the constant hitting my SSD with writes to tempmap.dat every second is seriously unacceptable. Never had the issue previously, even on 12+ year-old hardware. Why? Because I wasn't running CoolIT Systems less than ready for prime time software.

Fix it, even if you have to make the CoolIT programmers start over; which would probably be preferable. Their screwups are tarnishing Corsair's name.

Edit: For an unknown reason that I will find out, I can't reproduce the findings. After killing the processes, I manually restarted CorsairLINK2 and the latency stayed low. OK, must be that it only does this when it is started with Windows. Did that and no out of spec latency shows in the monitor. Perhaps it shows up after CL2 has run a while.

Edit II: After letting CL2 run for a couple of hours, with nothing else running, the DPC latency had risen almost to previously tested levels. Killing CL2, the latency immediately dropped to within a few microseconds of zero again. The system had been running with CL2 monitoring for 7+ hours at the time of the first latency test.

This is on Win8 32-bit. On the Win8 64-bit OS, where CL2 32-bit runs on WoW64, there is no latency issue present; on a system that has been running for 10+ hours. On this system, there were no dropouts when playing music. It was when the library was transferred to the 32-bit system that the dropouts manifested.

Last edited by Speed; 03-31-2013 at 02:43 AM.
Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 03-31-2013, 04:24 PM
TheSmoker TheSmoker is offline
Registered User
TheSmoker's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 33
POST ID # = 644073
TheSmoker Reputation: 10
Default

I was testing with Win7 64 bit SP1 and the problems always manifest itself (CL2 running @ win startup or not - started by hand) after more than 2 hours of permanent running and becomes worse with time (that's why my pictures have the date/time).
Reply With Quote


  #4  
Old 03-31-2013, 04:31 PM
Speed's Avatar
Speed Speed is offline
Johnsonized
Speed's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 364
POST ID # = 644075
Speed Reputation: 10
Default

[QUOTE=TheSmoker;644073(that's why my pictures have the date/time).[/QUOTE]

The image is so wide, those were off the screen to the right. OK, good to know that there is a time factor involved, as I surmised. After running the music while pulling another all-nighter and into today, not one drop-out with CL2.3 not running. Good to know I don't have to re-do a lot of music files and then learn that nothing changed.

Last edited by Speed; 03-31-2013 at 05:07 PM.
Reply With Quote


  #5  
Old 03-31-2013, 04:53 PM
zephead99 zephead99 is offline
Registered User
zephead99's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 8
POST ID # = 644077
zephead99 Reputation: 10
Default

Speed, If you want to temporarily fix the issue of the software writing to your SSD you can do what I've done and symlink the entire c:\Users\%USERNAME%\Appdata\Roaming\Corsair directory to a different drive. Just shutdown both Corsair processes then copy the folder to your new location and from and admin command prompt use 'mklink /D' to create a Directory symlink. The software will follow it and start writing to the new drive, you must do the whole directory though, just file linking tempmap.dat will cause the software to delete the link and create a new file.
Reply With Quote


  #6  
Old 03-31-2013, 05:12 PM
Speed's Avatar
Speed Speed is offline
Johnsonized
Speed's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 364
POST ID # = 644080
Speed Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by zephead99 View Post
Speed, If you want to temporarily fix the issue of the software writing to your SSD you can do what I've done and symlink the entire c:\Users\%USERNAME%\Appdata\Roaming\Corsair directory to a different drive. Just shutdown both Corsair processes then copy the folder to your new location and from and admin command prompt use 'mklink /D' to create a Directory symlink. The software will follow it and start writing to the new drive, you must do the whole directory though, just file linking tempmap.dat will cause the software to delete the link and create a new file.
Tried that and a Junction. Didn't get definitive results that the SSD wasn't being hit anyway. Showed nearly the same activity pattern in Task Manager while linking through to the target. The Junction is still in place and running. Figured that less is better than all, so just left it to observe.
Reply With Quote


  #7  
Old 03-31-2013, 05:29 PM
zephead99 zephead99 is offline
Registered User
zephead99's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 8
POST ID # = 644086
zephead99 Reputation: 10
Default

If you look in resource monitor you should see 'system' having the file open at the link target's drive letter and path.
Attached Images
File Type: png Capture.PNG (57.0 KB, 2893 views)
Reply With Quote


  #8  
Old 03-31-2013, 05:54 PM
Speed's Avatar
Speed Speed is offline
Johnsonized
Speed's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 364
POST ID # = 644088
Speed Reputation: 10
Default

Yep, it's pointed at the Junction target. Still getting used to Win8 and where everything is. I checked the Junction target previously in the Properties dialog and it was pointed where I set it.

Question is, I see other processes hitting the SSD, some with more apparent activity than CL, but when I end the CorsairLINK_Hardware monitor process the access graph in Task Manager and Performance Monitor ceases the sharp 1-second write pattern on the SSD. That's why I was unsure if I actually got positive physical results.
Reply With Quote


  #9  
Old 03-31-2013, 06:57 PM
TheSmoker TheSmoker is offline
Registered User
TheSmoker's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 33
POST ID # = 644096
TheSmoker Reputation: 10
Default

Look at the bright side :) after you set up the Hxxi you can always close the CL2 sw. :) Of course unless you are into 24/7 logging business. I was not using it very often anyway ...
Reply With Quote


  #10  
Old 03-31-2013, 08:12 PM
Speed's Avatar
Speed Speed is offline
Johnsonized
Speed's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 364
POST ID # = 644104
Speed Reputation: 10
Default

I do that from time to time; especially when I'm preparing to work on something critical. Just a few minutes ago, I was checking on the AX1200i fan, changed from Default Mode to % and went to raise the value from 40 to anything higher, as the fan did not spin up when I chose that mode. Crashed the whole machine cold dead.
Reply With Quote


  #11  
Old 04-02-2013, 06:32 AM
Brakstrom Brakstrom is offline
Registered User
Brakstrom's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 4
POST ID # = 644345
Brakstrom Reputation: 10
Default

I have also the same problem , but as TheSmoker said , i kill all the Corsair processes but it would be nice if everything works as it should.....
Reply With Quote


  #12  
Old 04-06-2013, 02:41 AM
TheSmoker TheSmoker is offline
Registered User
TheSmoker's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 33
POST ID # = 645181
TheSmoker Reputation: 10
Default

Hey RamGuy/Corsair! Any confirmation on this issue and if it's going to be fixed in the next release?
Thanks!
Reply With Quote


  #13  
Old 04-06-2013, 10:17 AM
zephead99 zephead99 is offline
Registered User
zephead99's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 8
POST ID # = 645230
zephead99 Reputation: 10
Default

Also for anyone who is interested in disabling the process from starting with windows, which it will do even if you don't have CL2 launch at start up, you can go into 'Task Scheduler' and set it to disabled. You will need to re-enable and run it if you want to launch CL2, otherwise it will crash at launch time.
Reply With Quote


  #14  
Old 04-06-2013, 05:12 PM
Speed's Avatar
Speed Speed is offline
Johnsonized
Speed's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 364
POST ID # = 645303
Speed Reputation: 10
Default

I believe, instead of re-enabling the task--and then having to disable it again, you can run CorsairLINK_HardwareMonitor.exe manually prior to running Corsairlink2.exe.
Reply With Quote


  #15  
Old 04-10-2013, 12:48 PM
Brakstrom Brakstrom is offline
Registered User
Brakstrom's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 4
POST ID # = 646035
Brakstrom Reputation: 10
Default

Any news on this matter?
Reply With Quote


Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:48 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.