The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Cases

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 52 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-26-2012, 09:47 PM
jonxor jonxor is offline
Registered User
jonxor's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 14
POST ID # = 586784
jonxor Reputation: 10
Default Carbide 300R with H100 watercooler

It is POSSIBLE! I have done it! No drilling/cutting/modding required.

My build is not yet complete, but I will document my progress here for the benefit of others wishing to do the same.

Although I believe these forums restrict mentioning other brands, I can still give you specs of what I used.

The key to achieving this is two things:
1.Slimline Fans - I obtained some 120x120x12MM fans, which provide plenty good airflow (Not as good as a Push/pull, but it cools my stock clock i7 920).
2.Motherboard choice - The Fans will still be low enough to bump into motherboard heatsinks that are jutting up from the top edge. Careful selection is key.

Measurements (margin of error about 0.8MM):
-From top case mesh to bottom of the fan: 38.5 MM
-From motherboard to radiator/fan assembly (Essentially the height allowance of a motherboard heatsink) 23.1MM

Consider anything north of the top row of ATX mounting holes (as observed by the one farthest from the I/O shield) to have only 23 MM of clearance (measured from the motherboard).


Pics to follow, if anybody is interested.
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 06-26-2012, 10:32 PM
stratosrally stratosrally is offline
sketchiness abounds...
stratosrally's PC Specs
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 429
POST ID # = 586787
stratosrally Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jonxor View Post
It is POSSIBLE! I have done it! No drilling/cutting/modding required...
(snipped for brevity)
Pics to follow, if anybody is interested.
Definitely post the pics!

I bought an slimline fan once for a specific application and it was unacceptably noisy - hopefully you went with a different brand or your application doesn't cause the same issue...
Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 06-27-2012, 02:52 AM
NoQuarter NoQuarter is offline
Registered User
NoQuarter's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 39
POST ID # = 586807
NoQuarter Reputation: 10
Default

Would love to see those pics!
Reply With Quote


  #4  
Old 06-28-2012, 12:54 AM
jonxor jonxor is offline
Registered User
jonxor's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 14
POST ID # = 587000
jonxor Reputation: 10
Default Pic #1

Sorry for the crude picture, but it's the first one I've taken. This whole thing is still very rough, and not put together. The motherboard is an EVGA X58 132-BL-E758.
I'll take more tomorrow.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg IMG-20120524-00081.jpg (325.3 KB, 17067 views)
Reply With Quote


  #5  
Old 06-28-2012, 03:36 AM
TBrandes's Avatar
TBrandes TBrandes is offline
Registered User
TBrandes's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Germany
Posts: 154
POST ID # = 587013
TBrandes Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jonxor View Post
I'll take more tomorrow.
We'll be waiting...
Reply With Quote


  #6  
Old 06-28-2012, 06:51 PM
jonxor jonxor is offline
Registered User
jonxor's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 14
POST ID # = 587168
jonxor Reputation: 10
Default More pictures

As I said, this is not nearly put together yet, I'm still using some screws I had lying around, I'll have to go pick up some new ones. Here are the shots of the system so far.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg IMG-20120628-00163.jpg (352.1 KB, 7977 views)
File Type: jpg IMG-20120628-00164.jpg (348.5 KB, 5490 views)
File Type: jpg IMG-20120628-00167.jpg (307.1 KB, 4648 views)
File Type: jpg IMG-20120628-00168.jpg (385.4 KB, 4331 views)
Reply With Quote


  #7  
Old 06-30-2012, 06:02 AM
M_Taylor40 M_Taylor40 is offline
Registered User
M_Taylor40's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Durham, UK
Posts: 30
POST ID # = 587485
M_Taylor40 Reputation: 10
Default

First off, nicely done Jonxor! I bought a 300R with the intention of upgrading my old H50 to a H100 later this year, but I didn't realise it wouldn't fit!

Can you provide some temps of your computer running at idle and load using these 2 slim profile fans?

I've currently got my CPU overclocked to 4.4GHz and my temps are hitting around 75c, but I have a push/pull config on my back-mounted H50, with the fans being controlled by the motherboard using the CPU and CHA1 headers.

Again, nicely done, gives me some hope that I will still manage to get my H100 upgrade lol.
Reply With Quote


  #8  
Old 07-02-2012, 10:02 PM
jonxor jonxor is offline
Registered User
jonxor's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 14
POST ID # = 588053
jonxor Reputation: 10
Default

I'd be happy to provide all the temps and specs I can, as the build progresses. I've decided to change out the motherboard for one with USB 3.0. It's one of those builds where I'm going to try to make it absolutely perfect, and taking my time. With the case open, idling in Bios with my i7 920, It hit about 40 - 43 C. Work is pulling me into some crazy hours for the past few weeks, and it won't let up for a while (I'm going to be up until about midnight tonight doing a server backup/upgrade/reboot). I don't know when I will be able to post it, but keep an eye on this thread, I'll definitely put the info here when I get it.
Reply With Quote


  #9  
Old 07-04-2012, 01:27 PM
M_Taylor40 M_Taylor40 is offline
Registered User
M_Taylor40's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Durham, UK
Posts: 30
POST ID # = 588469
M_Taylor40 Reputation: 10
Default

Thanks Jonxor, look forward to you completing the build and posting specs and more photos!

I know what you mean about taking your time, at work I throw the PCs together in about 15mins but take hours on my own machines lol!

Hope the server upgrade went ok! Got to do one myself in about 3 weeks, luckily for me it's more of migrating a 2003R2 x86 physical server over to a VM, then upgrading it to 2008, if it all goes wrong for us (Which shouldn't as we've already done trial runs!), we still have the original physical server to fall back on!

All the best!
M_Taylor40
Reply With Quote


  #10  
Old 09-26-2012, 09:37 PM
jonxor jonxor is offline
Registered User
jonxor's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 14
POST ID # = 604732
jonxor Reputation: 10
Default

Sorry to keep you all waiting.
Here we are so far:
http://forum.corsair.com/v3/album.php?albumid=201

It's far from done, but I think it's going to turn out nicely.

P.S. is that album visible to everyone? Let me know if it doesn't work.

Last edited by jonxor; 09-26-2012 at 09:39 PM. Reason: Added words
Reply With Quote


  #11  
Old 09-26-2012, 09:51 PM
wytnyt's Avatar
wytnyt wytnyt is offline
`~~`
wytnyt's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Roanoke, Virginia
Posts: 8,107
POST ID # = 604733
wytnyt wytnyt Reputation: 159
Send a message via ICQ to wytnyt Send a message via AIM to wytnyt Send a message via Yahoo to wytnyt Send a message via Skype™ to wytnyt
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jonxor View Post
Sorry to keep you all waiting.
Here we are so far:
http://forum.corsair.com/v3/album.php?albumid=201

It's far from done, but I think it's going to turn out nicely.

P.S. is that album visible to everyone? Let me know if it doesn't work.
sorry,it says your album is empty
__________________
My 4930k Air 540 Custom Loop Build Pics
http://s39.photobucket.com/user/wytn...?sort=3&page=1
Reply With Quote


  #12  
Old 09-26-2012, 10:29 PM
jonxor jonxor is offline
Registered User
jonxor's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 14
POST ID # = 604740
jonxor Reputation: 10
Default

I guess it's awaiting moderation.
Here's some teasers:
Attached Images
File Type: jpg IMG-20120926-00307.jpg (360.3 KB, 5681 views)
File Type: jpg IMG-20120926-00308.jpg (364.7 KB, 1871 views)
Reply With Quote


  #13  
Old 09-28-2012, 06:14 PM
RAM GUY's Avatar
RAM GUY RAM GUY is offline
Corsair Product Guru
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 118,267
POST ID # = 605048
RAM GUY Reputation: 10
Default

Nice System but I would change the direction of the fan in the Back above the I/O to blow air inside the case.
__________________
Support accounts and tickets can be created at https://support.corsair.com.
Reply With Quote


  #14  
Old 10-02-2012, 10:23 PM
Kridian's Avatar
Kridian Kridian is offline
Registered User
Kridian's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 1
POST ID # = 605691
Kridian Reputation: 10
Default

Thought I'd share.

My Carbide 300R with the H100:

I got lucky with choosing the right motherboard (ASRock Z77 Extreme4) that had a low-lying Z77 chipset heatsink. Otherwise that second fan would have probably received some severe cutting with the soldering iron.

There's no getting around it; you have to offset the cooler so the fans can fit.


I tried a drill first but it kept slipping into adjacent holes, causing total f*#@ing chaos.



After successfully mounting the radiator in the newly made holes...


Final:
Reply With Quote


  #15  
Old 10-02-2012, 11:01 PM
jonxor jonxor is offline
Registered User
jonxor's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 14
POST ID # = 605694
jonxor Reputation: 10
Default

Oh, I have improved the build since last post. Now I'm on push/pull :)

No Mods, Not even screw holes. Although, for convenience, I might do anyway.

Also, that is some top quality modding, there Kridian. My Kudos to you, sir!
Attached Images
File Type: jpg IMG-20121002-00331.jpg (337.1 KB, 13667 views)

Last edited by jonxor; 10-02-2012 at 11:02 PM. Reason: Justice
Reply With Quote


Reply

Tags
300r, carbide, h100, watercooling

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:43 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.