The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Cooling

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-16-2019, 06:09 PM
jon96789 jon96789 is offline
Registered User
jon96789's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Posts: 12
POST ID # = 1024151
jon96789 Reputation: 10
Question Corsair H115i RGB Platinum issue with ASUS board

I am using a Corsair H115i RGB Platinum cooler with a AMD 3900X CPU and an ASUS X570 Crosshair VIII Hero board.

Whenever i boot the system, the board pops up an error CPU fan not detected and directs me to the BIOS Setup. The Corsair cooler is connected to a Command Pro which is connected to the motherboard via USB connector so there is no CPU fan.

Do I have to bypass the Command Pro and rewire the system to the CPU fan connectors? If i do that, will I lose the RGB control in iCue?
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 11-16-2019, 06:16 PM
c-attack c-attack is offline
Registered User
c-attack's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 9,645
POST ID # = 1024152
c-attack c-attack Reputation: 107
Default

That is the standard "nothing plugged into CPU fan" warning that every motherboard generates to prevent inexperienced users from booting up with no active cooling.

Two solutions:

1) Load in the Advanced BIOS -> Monitor Tab -> scroll down to find CPU fan (0 RPM) and select it. Choose the ignore option. Warning system deactivated.

2) Your H115i Platinum has a false "3 pin" header that is designed to connect to CPU fan (or elsewhere) to provide a pump speed to the BIOS. That is the only information passed on that line. That wire serves no purpose whatsoever when plugged into the Commander Pro. iCUE will always know the pump speed through the cooler's USB connection. Move the 3 pin from the Commander Pro to the CPU Fan. Aside from solving the boot issue, it would also give you an immediate warning if the cooler were to electrically fail on boot.
Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 11-17-2019, 03:27 AM
jon96789 jon96789 is offline
Registered User
jon96789's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Posts: 12
POST ID # = 1024179
jon96789 Reputation: 10
Default

Thanks for the quick reply... I appreciate it...
Reply With Quote


  #4  
Old 11-22-2019, 04:23 PM
chibi- chibi- is offline
Registered User
chibi-'s PC Specs
 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Posts: 5
POST ID # = 1024876
chibi- Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by c-attack View Post
That is the standard "nothing plugged into CPU fan" warning that every motherboard generates to prevent inexperienced users from booting up with no active cooling.

Two solutions:

1) Load in the Advanced BIOS -> Monitor Tab -> scroll down to find CPU fan (0 RPM) and select it. Choose the ignore option. Warning system deactivated.

2) Your H115i Platinum has a false "3 pin" header that is designed to connect to CPU fan (or elsewhere) to provide a pump speed to the BIOS. That is the only information passed on that line. That wire serves no purpose whatsoever when plugged into the Commander Pro. iCUE will always know the pump speed through the cooler's USB connection. Move the 3 pin from the Commander Pro to the CPU Fan. Aside from solving the boot issue, it would also give you an immediate warning if the cooler were to electrically fail on boot.

Hi c-attack,

With the 3-pin pump cable connected to the CPU Fan header, do we need to set any profiles in ASUS QFan? Can we leave it on default, or should it be set to 100%?

I've read that some BIOS can hang if you run the automatic fan profile if a non-controllable fan is connected to an active header.
Reply With Quote


  #5  
Old 11-22-2019, 06:28 PM
c-attack c-attack is offline
Registered User
c-attack's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 9,645
POST ID # = 1024887
c-attack c-attack Reputation: 107
Default

On the Platinum coolers that are powered by SATA and not that wire to the MB, you can put it on anything and it doesn't matter. The MB is incapable of altering anything on the pump. There is only a single tachometer wire there and nothing else.

However, my general recommendation for Asus boards is you either set it to "Full Speed" in the EZ BIOS QFan or "disabled" in the Adv. BIOS -> Monitor -> QFan section. Both do the same thing - lock the control to maximum. It makes no difference for control or voltage in this case, but I have had the internal fan tuning program get stuck on the CPU fan header trying to figure out what to do with that 1 wire connection. Usually it just moves on after 15-20 seconds, but you might as well disable it so it knows to skip it.
Reply With Quote


  #6  
Old 11-22-2019, 07:31 PM
chibi- chibi- is offline
Registered User
chibi-'s PC Specs
 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Posts: 5
POST ID # = 1024890
chibi- Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by c-attack View Post
On the Platinum coolers that are powered by SATA and not that wire to the MB, you can put it on anything and it doesn't matter. The MB is incapable of altering anything on the pump. There is only a single tachometer wire there and nothing else.

However, my general recommendation for Asus boards is you either set it to "Full Speed" in the EZ BIOS QFan or "disabled" in the Adv. BIOS -> Monitor -> QFan section. Both do the same thing - lock the control to maximum. It makes no difference for control or voltage in this case, but I have had the internal fan tuning program get stuck on the CPU fan header trying to figure out what to do with that 1 wire connection. Usually it just moves on after 15-20 seconds, but you might as well disable it so it knows to skip it.

I see, my concern is if I disable the CPU Fan header completely, it will not read the pump rpm in case of hardware failure. I'll have to try it out and see how it reacts on my ASUS Apex XI.
Reply With Quote


  #7  
Old 11-22-2019, 08:44 PM
c-attack c-attack is offline
Registered User
c-attack's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 9,645
POST ID # = 1024897
c-attack c-attack Reputation: 107
Default

'Disable' does not hold its traditional definition within the BIOS. It means to disable speed control and in the absence of control, any fan runs at 100%. More relevant here is since the motherboard doesn't think it can control the header, it does not try.
Reply With Quote


Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:25 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.