The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Solid State Drives (SSD)

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-03-2013, 04:51 PM
joarvat joarvat is offline
Registered User
joarvat's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 2
POST ID # = 637646
joarvat Reputation: 10
Default Force 120 SATA3 with Linux

I am trying to set up my new system. Currently I have only one HD, the new Corsair Force 120. I struggled a lot trying to install a Linux version, but in the end I managed to tweak BIOS and get Fedora 18 64 bit to install without error reports. There was nothing on the SSD disk before, it was new. When I now power up the system, nothing happens, just empty screen with cursor blinking.

In order for the install, I discovered that I had to put my SATA speed down from 6 to 3, and switch from IDE to AHCI for the SATA controller. But now I'm getting worried. The BIOS still sees the SSD disk. I specifically wanted my OS on an SSD drive to make it faster. Am I missing something?
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 03-03-2013, 08:06 PM
joarvat joarvat is offline
Registered User
joarvat's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 2
POST ID # = 637665
joarvat Reputation: 10
Sly Update

I ran the Fedora installer again, and this time it worked. Don't really know why, possibly something about the way I reclaimed partitions on the drive.
Reply With Quote


Reply

Tags
amd fusion, e45m-m, fedora, linux

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:27 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.