The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Memory

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-29-2005, 09:38 PM
rotocub rotocub is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 2
POST ID # = 225460
rotocub Reputation: 10
Question Dimension 3000 and ValueSelect Memory

From what I've read here, it appears that the VS1GB400C3 ValueSelect memory I ordered will not work in a Dimension 3000 with a P4 2.8 w/ 533 FSB and I would actually need a 333MHz RAM module.

That said, here is the exact orginal configuration of my system (for processor and memory) taken from Dell's webpage.

-PROCESSOR, 80546, 2.8, 1M, PENTIUM 4 PRESCOTT DT, 533, E0
-DUAL IN-LINE MEMORY MODULE, 256, 400M, 32X64, 8K, 184

On the memory module that came in the system it actually reads PC3200, 400 as well. This doesn't make sense based on what I'm reading here in the forums.

Am I missing something here?
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 11-29-2005, 10:51 PM
RJLeong65 RJLeong65 is offline
Registered User
RJLeong65's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 1,235
POST ID # = 225468
RJLeong65 Reputation: 10
Default

You see, the BIOS on OEM systems such as your Dell requires that the SPD be programmed for DDR333 operation, with CAS timings to go along with the selected memory speed. Unfortunately, the SPD on Value Select DDR400 modules is programmed only for DDR400 operation; the BIOS on your system will always use the SPD-detected vaules since your system's chipset supports an 800FSB speed for the processor's FSB - but the 67MHz differential between your processor's actual FSB speed and DDR400 memory's actual clockspeed is way beyond Intel's supported specs. What's worse, your Dell's OEM BIOS has absolutely no provision at all whatsoever to manually change the memory's clockspeed, so it will always use the SPD-detected value of DDR400 no matter what. Thus, the mismatch between your 533FSB CPU and a DDR400 module that's programmed only for DDR400 operation will make your system not even POST at all.

Dell's OEM DDR400 modules do work with your 533FSB CPU - if only because the Dell OEM memory module has its SPD programmed for both DDR400 and DDR333 operation.

Last edited by RJLeong65; 11-29-2005 at 11:05 PM.
Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 12-02-2005, 11:31 AM
rotocub rotocub is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 2
POST ID # = 225957
rotocub Reputation: 10
Default

Thanks for the explanation.
Reply With Quote


  #4  
Old 12-02-2005, 12:15 PM
RJLeong65 RJLeong65 is offline
Registered User
RJLeong65's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 1,235
POST ID # = 225958
RJLeong65 Reputation: 10
Default

No problem. Dell is not responsible if a given aftermarket upgrade component won't work correctly or at all on your system (which means that they will not offer technical support for such a compatibility issue).

Last edited by RJLeong65; 12-02-2005 at 12:18 PM.
Reply With Quote


  #5  
Old 12-07-2005, 04:29 AM
Wushuwannabe Wushuwannabe is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 1
POST ID # = 226637
Wushuwannabe Reputation: 10
Default Any suggested alternatives?

I ran into exactly the same problem today with the same memory module and the same Dell computer. Can anybody suggest a viable alternative by Corsair? I want a 1 GB memory for the Dell Dimension 3000 computer, and will look into returning the module I just bought and getting one that works. Thanks!
Reply With Quote


  #6  
Old 12-07-2005, 07:43 PM
Wired's Avatar
Wired Wired is offline
Administrator
Wired's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 32,188
POST ID # = 226745
Wired Reputation: 32
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wushuwannabe
I ran into exactly the same problem today with the same memory module and the same Dell computer. Can anybody suggest a viable alternative by Corsair? I want a 1 GB memory for the Dell Dimension 3000 computer, and will look into returning the module I just bought and getting one that works. Thanks!
Depending on the FSB of your CPU:

http://compatible.corsairmemory.com/...&modelid=48832
__________________
No, I don't work for Corsair
...you need to flow like a river...
Forum Rules
Admin of this forum / webdesignforums.net / Petri's IT Forum / The Corsair Memory Steam Group
Founder/Creator/Admin of ZE SECRET PROJECT (Coming Soon)
Reply With Quote


  #7  
Old 12-07-2005, 07:52 PM
RJLeong65 RJLeong65 is offline
Registered User
RJLeong65's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 1,235
POST ID # = 226748
RJLeong65 Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wired
This generally means the CMSS####B-400 for an 800FSB CPU, or the CMSS####B-333 for a 533FSB CPU.
Reply With Quote


Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:53 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.