The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Memory

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #16  
Old 03-26-2005, 05:54 PM
Wired's Avatar
Wired Wired is offline
Administrator
Wired's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 32,188
POST ID # = 181439
Wired Reputation: 32
Default

It's odd that Module 2 got errors at all considering it passed in single channel mode, but it could be a fluke. Testing the memory on another system should tie it all up.
__________________
No, I don't work for Corsair
...you need to flow like a river...
Forum Rules
Admin of this forum / webdesignforums.net / Petri's IT Forum / The Corsair Memory Steam Group
Founder/Creator/Admin of ZE SECRET PROJECT (Coming Soon)
Reply With Quote


  #17  
Old 03-27-2005, 12:51 AM
sycr0n sycr0n is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 20
POST ID # = 181485
sycr0n Reputation: 10
Default

are there any other tests i should consider running on this system to figure out the problem?
__________________
DFI LANPARTY UT nF4 ULTRA-D
AMD Athlon 64 3500+ Winchester Core (stock cooling w/ AS5)
Corsair TWINX1024-3200XL DDR400 2 x 512MB
BFG GeForce 6800 GT OC PCI-Express
Seagate Barracuda 7200.7 200GB SATA
Seagate Barracuda 120GB IDE
Plextor PX-716A
OCZ PowerStream 520W
Antec Black Performance Series II SX635BII
WinXP Professional SP1
Reply With Quote


  #18  
Old 03-27-2005, 12:52 AM
Wired's Avatar
Wired Wired is offline
Administrator
Wired's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 32,188
POST ID # = 181487
Wired Reputation: 32
Default

Testing in another system is really the only choice at this point.
__________________
No, I don't work for Corsair
...you need to flow like a river...
Forum Rules
Admin of this forum / webdesignforums.net / Petri's IT Forum / The Corsair Memory Steam Group
Founder/Creator/Admin of ZE SECRET PROJECT (Coming Soon)
Reply With Quote


  #19  
Old 03-27-2005, 01:15 AM
sycr0n sycr0n is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 20
POST ID # = 181492
sycr0n Reputation: 10
Default

in all likelyhood, could the motherboard have anything to do with these problems?
__________________
DFI LANPARTY UT nF4 ULTRA-D
AMD Athlon 64 3500+ Winchester Core (stock cooling w/ AS5)
Corsair TWINX1024-3200XL DDR400 2 x 512MB
BFG GeForce 6800 GT OC PCI-Express
Seagate Barracuda 7200.7 200GB SATA
Seagate Barracuda 120GB IDE
Plextor PX-716A
OCZ PowerStream 520W
Antec Black Performance Series II SX635BII
WinXP Professional SP1
Reply With Quote


  #20  
Old 03-27-2005, 02:02 AM
Wired's Avatar
Wired Wired is offline
Administrator
Wired's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 32,188
POST ID # = 181494
Wired Reputation: 32
Default

Possibly. Testing one stick in each slot would solve that.
__________________
No, I don't work for Corsair
...you need to flow like a river...
Forum Rules
Admin of this forum / webdesignforums.net / Petri's IT Forum / The Corsair Memory Steam Group
Founder/Creator/Admin of ZE SECRET PROJECT (Coming Soon)
Reply With Quote


  #21  
Old 03-27-2005, 09:12 PM
billy1ear billy1ear is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 13
POST ID # = 181555
billy1ear Reputation: 10
Default NF4 Ultra-d Mem problems

Thought I might horn in on this post as I am having the same problems with the same mb and memory and an amd 53fx. I have not tried anything but dual channel. My symtoms are the same. I have found I can run stable with one stick in the dual channel slot. I'll keep watching
Reply With Quote


  #22  
Old 03-27-2005, 11:14 PM
billy1ear billy1ear is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 13
POST ID # = 181562
billy1ear Reputation: 10
Default link to dfi-street.com

Thought I would paste a link I was following at DFI.

http://www.dfi-street.com/forum/showthread.php?t=8377
Reply With Quote


  #23  
Old 04-01-2005, 05:53 PM
sycr0n sycr0n is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 20
POST ID # = 182772
sycr0n Reputation: 10
Default

Well guys, I just got in my replacement 3200XL modules and popped em in and once again I got errors within a few minutes. I'm testing the new pair one at a time again just to cover all areas, but this is pretty frustrating. Apparently i'm not the only one having trouble running dual-channel mode on this ram with the DFI NF4 Ultra-D, so I dont' believe the integrity of the ram is the issue. I also don't feel the need to send back my cpu unless there is fairly certain evidence that it is defective.

My overall experience with this ram has been less than satisfactory to say the least, especially since this was recommended off corsair's website for my motherboard. Something needs to be done about these issues because the XMS3200XL isn't performing anything like it's hyped up to be, nor is it stable.

What other options do I have to consider now?
__________________
DFI LANPARTY UT nF4 ULTRA-D
AMD Athlon 64 3500+ Winchester Core (stock cooling w/ AS5)
Corsair TWINX1024-3200XL DDR400 2 x 512MB
BFG GeForce 6800 GT OC PCI-Express
Seagate Barracuda 7200.7 200GB SATA
Seagate Barracuda 120GB IDE
Plextor PX-716A
OCZ PowerStream 520W
Antec Black Performance Series II SX635BII
WinXP Professional SP1
Reply With Quote


  #24  
Old 04-01-2005, 06:35 PM
Wired's Avatar
Wired Wired is offline
Administrator
Wired's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 32,188
POST ID # = 182778
Wired Reputation: 32
Default

Re-doing the tests will help. One stick at a time in the orange slot farthest from the CPU (as per DFI), then single channel with 2 sticks, then 2 in dual channel. In DC, are you in slots 1 and 3 (which per their manual needs to be @ 2T), or slots 2 and 4 (which can be set to 1T)? BTW, which version of memtest were you using again? I think that board has memtest built into the BIOS (not 100% sure), try the latest version of memtest86+ from a boot disk if you're not already doing it. Don't try voltages above 2.9 like you mentioned in the following link, as that voids the memory warranty.

BTW:
http://www.dfi-street.com/forum/showthread.php?t=7919

It doesn't seem to be a compatibility issue since there are people reporting this combo works together fine, although you already know that since you posted in that thread :)
__________________
No, I don't work for Corsair
...you need to flow like a river...
Forum Rules
Admin of this forum / webdesignforums.net / Petri's IT Forum / The Corsair Memory Steam Group
Founder/Creator/Admin of ZE SECRET PROJECT (Coming Soon)

Last edited by Wired; 04-01-2005 at 06:44 PM.
Reply With Quote


  #25  
Old 04-01-2005, 06:53 PM
sycr0n sycr0n is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 20
POST ID # = 182781
sycr0n Reputation: 10
Default

I'm using the orange slots (2 + 4) for my testing at 1T 2-2-2-5@2.8v I already tested the new set and got errors right off the start. I'm using the built in memtest v1.51 I believe. I'm downloading the latest memtest version now like you recommended. Also, how many passes of memtest do you think is sufficient? I've had one module of memory going for 2.5 hours and has passed 10 times without errors.
__________________
DFI LANPARTY UT nF4 ULTRA-D
AMD Athlon 64 3500+ Winchester Core (stock cooling w/ AS5)
Corsair TWINX1024-3200XL DDR400 2 x 512MB
BFG GeForce 6800 GT OC PCI-Express
Seagate Barracuda 7200.7 200GB SATA
Seagate Barracuda 120GB IDE
Plextor PX-716A
OCZ PowerStream 520W
Antec Black Performance Series II SX635BII
WinXP Professional SP1
Reply With Quote


  #26  
Old 04-01-2005, 07:47 PM
Wired's Avatar
Wired Wired is offline
Administrator
Wired's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 32,188
POST ID # = 182785
Wired Reputation: 32
Default

3 passes should be sufficient.

BTW, just to clarify for others who may be reading this thread, I'm recommending the latest version because of any changes they have made to the test, as well as I just don't trust built-in testers like that :)
__________________
No, I don't work for Corsair
...you need to flow like a river...
Forum Rules
Admin of this forum / webdesignforums.net / Petri's IT Forum / The Corsair Memory Steam Group
Founder/Creator/Admin of ZE SECRET PROJECT (Coming Soon)
Reply With Quote


  #27  
Old 04-01-2005, 07:53 PM
sycr0n sycr0n is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 20
POST ID # = 182788
sycr0n Reputation: 10
Default

ok, i'll try these in dual channel and single-channel using the latest version to see if i have any changes in results. Thanks!
__________________
DFI LANPARTY UT nF4 ULTRA-D
AMD Athlon 64 3500+ Winchester Core (stock cooling w/ AS5)
Corsair TWINX1024-3200XL DDR400 2 x 512MB
BFG GeForce 6800 GT OC PCI-Express
Seagate Barracuda 7200.7 200GB SATA
Seagate Barracuda 120GB IDE
Plextor PX-716A
OCZ PowerStream 520W
Antec Black Performance Series II SX635BII
WinXP Professional SP1
Reply With Quote


  #28  
Old 04-01-2005, 07:56 PM
Wired's Avatar
Wired Wired is offline
Administrator
Wired's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 32,188
POST ID # = 182791
Wired Reputation: 32
Default

No problemo!
__________________
No, I don't work for Corsair
...you need to flow like a river...
Forum Rules
Admin of this forum / webdesignforums.net / Petri's IT Forum / The Corsair Memory Steam Group
Founder/Creator/Admin of ZE SECRET PROJECT (Coming Soon)
Reply With Quote


  #29  
Old 04-01-2005, 09:07 PM
sycr0n sycr0n is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 20
POST ID # = 182802
sycr0n Reputation: 10
Default

well, using memtest 3.2, I'm still having trouble running in dual channel at 1T or 2T. I keep getting errors in test #6 it seems. I tried 2.6v, 2.7v, 2.8v dram voltage with no luck. Bleh, i'm not sure where to go with this. I'm trying using 4x LDT multiplier now, but for some reason i don't think it will help. I'm not sure where to go with this.
__________________
DFI LANPARTY UT nF4 ULTRA-D
AMD Athlon 64 3500+ Winchester Core (stock cooling w/ AS5)
Corsair TWINX1024-3200XL DDR400 2 x 512MB
BFG GeForce 6800 GT OC PCI-Express
Seagate Barracuda 7200.7 200GB SATA
Seagate Barracuda 120GB IDE
Plextor PX-716A
OCZ PowerStream 520W
Antec Black Performance Series II SX635BII
WinXP Professional SP1
Reply With Quote


  #30  
Old 04-01-2005, 09:12 PM
Wired's Avatar
Wired Wired is offline
Administrator
Wired's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 32,188
POST ID # = 182805
Wired Reputation: 32
Default

Dunno if you saw it over @ dfi-street.com, but v3.2 is memtest86, whereas memtest86+ is at 1.55. No clue what the differences are though. May want to test with memtest86+ to be safe, as that's what's in your BIOS, but I don't know if the results would be any different. May just want to wait until someone can clarify the difference.
__________________
No, I don't work for Corsair
...you need to flow like a river...
Forum Rules
Admin of this forum / webdesignforums.net / Petri's IT Forum / The Corsair Memory Steam Group
Founder/Creator/Admin of ZE SECRET PROJECT (Coming Soon)
Reply With Quote


Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:13 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.