The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Memory

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-24-2004, 06:35 AM
keithyb keithyb is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 4
POST ID # = 117946
keithyb Reputation: 10
Default ASUS P4P800 Delux Frustrations

Hi,

I have the following:
P4 2.8GHz 800FSB
Asus P4P Deluxe Mobo
120GB SATA HDD
160GB SATA HDD
DVD Re-Writer
CDR-DVD Combo
Radeon 9200 Video Card
Floppy
Win XP Pro.

I had 2 x 512MB sticks of the DDR 400 XMS memory and experienced loads of hard crashes to the desktop. I ran Memtest86 and had loads of errors.
I sent the processor back for testing and it was OK.
I tried placing the memory in different slots and singly with the same results.

I returned the memory and mobo and was told the mobo was OK and that each stick of the memory was OK, but there was a "glitch" when putting them together.

I therefore got 2 new sticks of Corsair XMS memory and have experienced the same problems, which a local computer shop describes as a memory leak.

They also suggest using Kingston or Samsung RAM instead as they have had similar problems with high end DDR mobos.

I have been refunded and am looking to buy new memory, but could my problems be down to the way my BIOS was configured?

Any suggestions gratefully received.

Keith
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 04-26-2004, 12:55 AM
RAM GUY's Avatar
RAM GUY RAM GUY is offline
Corsair Product Guru
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 118,268
POST ID # = 118211
RAM GUY Reputation: 10
Default

Yes! In addition, if you were testing with www.memtest86.com and you did not disable legacy USB you may have gotten errors that were not memory errors!
I would suggest that you disable legacy USB and set the Dim Voltage and set the timings according to the link in my signature for the specific module you have and test them one at a time.
__________________
Support accounts and tickets can be created at https://support.corsair.com.
Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 05-03-2004, 04:52 AM
adamsweeting adamsweeting is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 6
POST ID # = 119618
adamsweeting Reputation: 10
Default RAM Guy.... I need your help !

I recently bought an ASUS P4P800 Deluxe moboard, P4 3.2GHz, and 1Gb TWINX PC4000 (2 x 512Mb) Dual channel.

I set the PC up initally with no probs (all moboard settings @ default) - then installed windows, again with no problems. Then once I got all my drivers installed in XP, I decided to OC my sysyem to get the most performance out of my RAM.

To be honest I didn't really know what I was doing, and when I tried to get the machine to re-boot after CMOS changes, it would hang, and then the BIOS would need to be re-flashed, then would work rock steady under default values.

What are the best setting for the BIOS on my mobard (American megatrends) for my TWINX RAM ?

Your help would be greatly appreciated !
Reply With Quote


  #4  
Old 05-03-2004, 07:58 PM
RAM GUY's Avatar
RAM GUY RAM GUY is offline
Corsair Product Guru
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 118,268
POST ID # = 119768
RAM GUY Reputation: 10
Default

With a 3.2 GHz you may not be able to over clock much past 210Mhz. For the timings I would try what's listed bellow:
Dim Voltage 2.85 Volts
DRAM Timing (overrides SPD values): Manual
System Performance: Normal
SDRAM Bank cycle time (or tRAS): 7
SDRAM Bank Interleave: 4
SDRAM Row Precharge (tRP): 3
SDRAM RAS-to-CAS Delay (tRCD): 4
SDRAM CAS Latency: 2.5
Then test with www.memtest86.com, but disable Legacy USB when running memtest86!
__________________
Support accounts and tickets can be created at https://support.corsair.com.
Reply With Quote


  #5  
Old 05-04-2004, 07:48 PM
adamsweeting adamsweeting is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 6
POST ID # = 119998
adamsweeting Reputation: 10
Default thanks....

Thanks RAM guy.

But I've managed to get my system running at 230MHz !!! - So the chip was running @ 3.7GHz, and the RAM was running @ 460MHz with latency settings of 2.5-3-3-8

Even under stress the CPU and chipset weren't even getting past the 45C mark....

It's running very stable, and I have not had one blue screen or crash yet. And I've been running benchmarks on it too !
Reply With Quote


  #6  
Old 05-05-2004, 03:41 AM
Ricbec Ricbec is offline
Registered User
Ricbec's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 235
POST ID # = 120104
Ricbec Reputation: 10
Default

whats the deal with all these memory timings anyway?, quite often people cant get what the product is rated to do.

For example, Corsairs web site specifically states that all XMS-3200C2 memory modules are rated to run at 2-3-3-6 latency on ALL Intel platforms, yet I have a P4P800 Deluxe, yet it absolutley refuses to run at all with 2-3-3-6 - the best it will achieve is 2.5-3-3-6-4 (I am currently running 2.5-3-3-5-4, not sure if it runs any better yet!)

I have disabled USB legacy support, pumped up the voltage to 2.75, and it still wont run it, tests with memtest gave no errors after 4 full runs with 2.5-3-3-6-4, but the one and only time I got memtest to run with timings of 2-3-3-6, I got hundreds of errors within the first 20 seconds of it running.

So to cut it short, I feel ripped off by Corsairs claims, cause I have to OC to get 2-3-3-6

Thanks Corsair
Reply With Quote


  #7  
Old 05-06-2004, 08:02 PM
RAM GUY's Avatar
RAM GUY RAM GUY is offline
Corsair Product Guru
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 118,268
POST ID # = 120422
RAM GUY Reputation: 10
Default

Well I have no problem replacing your modules if you like! They should be able to run at the tested settings. If you would like to try replacing the modules, please follow the link in my signature and we will be happy to replace them. In addition, I would have no problem personally testing your modules if you like to confirm if it's really our modules holding you back. If so please get the RMA then email me before you send your modules and I will tell you where to send them!
__________________
Support accounts and tickets can be created at https://support.corsair.com.
Reply With Quote


  #8  
Old 05-09-2004, 04:31 AM
Ricbec Ricbec is offline
Registered User
Ricbec's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 235
POST ID # = 120889
Ricbec Reputation: 10
Default

Hmmmm,

Great, thankyou for the offer, however I'm in Australia, might make things a little difficult dont you think?

I noticed that on your website, it stated "Corsair now rates 2-3-3-6 on all Intel platforms", just when did "now" begin?, has it always been rated at this setting (particlalary refering to the XMS 1024 3200C2 modules) or has it just been ratifies as standard for Corsair and Intel chipsets?
Reply With Quote


  #9  
Old 05-17-2004, 05:29 AM
Skarn Skarn is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 9
POST ID # = 122221
Skarn Reputation: 10
Default

hi, i have posted already, but have found this thread too now, i have same problems with my corsair ram and this motherboard, i cannot get CL2 to run in any configuration, I'm also in australia, in particular QLD brisbane, is it posible for a 'bad batch' of ram to have come our way??, but also , it seems more than coincidence its this motherboard, it really sux that I dont have anyone with computers to do any sort of swapping and testing with, and computer shops only want to make money with testing and will tell u as little as possible, so u have to go back again....

have u had any luck getting CL2 going?
Reply With Quote


  #10  
Old 05-17-2004, 01:41 PM
RAM GUY's Avatar
RAM GUY RAM GUY is offline
Corsair Product Guru
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 118,268
POST ID # = 122288
RAM GUY Reputation: 10
Default

Skarn & Ricbec, please try your reseller and see if they will help you exchange the modules. Or I have no problem replacing them directly if you like. However, many times it's not the memory that is not able to run at Cass 2, and testing them in another system would help to isolate the issue.

In addition, the Springdale chipset has not performed as well as Canterwood in general in our testing, but there is a chance there is some other issue that we have not identified yet. I would if I were both of you try the modules one at a time with www.memtest86.com and please remember to disable legacy USB when running this program and let's make sure its not just a weak or bad module. If you do find one is failing then please get your reseller to help you or submit the RMA directly and we will be happy to replace them.
If you get errors with both modules that would suggest some other problem, and I would check your configuration to make sure there is not some other problem. Like a Power supply or grounding issue!
__________________
Support accounts and tickets can be created at https://support.corsair.com.
Reply With Quote


  #11  
Old 05-19-2004, 04:17 AM
Ricbec Ricbec is offline
Registered User
Ricbec's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 235
POST ID # = 122659
Ricbec Reputation: 10
Default

I'll give that a try RAM GUY, I have tested both modules with memtest86, ran through 4 runs without an error, USB legacy support is disabled, and my voltage is 2.75.

As you said this can be difficult to put down to weak or bad memory, as many people overclock these boards, and as such are able to get 2-3-3-6 quite stable, but, at the same time, a manufacturer needs to be very clear as to how they rate their products, if it says it'll do it, it should, you say "run on all Intel at 2-3-3-6" it should at standard configuration.

I know I have good quality products, ASUS and such, this memory is certified, well v1.1 is, I have v1.2.

All in all, the fact it wont do 2-3-3-6, instead running 2.5-3-3-6, isnt really going to make any "noticable" difference in real time peformance, so its no big deal, yet if you went and bought a new car and was told it would do 250km/h, yet after buying it and driving it found it would only do 200, you'd feel ripped off wouldnt you?

Same thing........just a sham most people arnt able to "test drive" computer hardware before buying!
Reply With Quote


  #12  
Old 05-19-2004, 01:02 PM
RAM GUY's Avatar
RAM GUY RAM GUY is offline
Corsair Product Guru
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 118,268
POST ID # = 122723
RAM GUY Reputation: 10
Default

Well I do understand your frustration. However, the shear masses that have run these with out problems suggest it may be some other problem. I would suggest that you maybe try testing the memory on another system if possible as that might help to isolate the problem. In addition, I have already posted that we would be happy to replace them.
__________________
Support accounts and tickets can be created at https://support.corsair.com.
Reply With Quote


  #13  
Old 05-19-2004, 03:17 PM
Carcinigen Carcinigen is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Daytona Beach, FL
Posts: 13
POST ID # = 122760
Carcinigen Reputation: 10
Exclamation Research Is Key

I have the twinx1024-4000Pro I bought it because I wanted to hit 500MHZ and really O/C my MOBO I have the P4C800E Dlx that corsair tested on and a 3.2. I can only hit 410 to 420 MHZ stable. I was a little upset but after several hours of testing and most important RESEARCHING I found that the ram was not bad it was my Processor holding me back. If I had only done research before I purchased the ram I would have known I needed a 2.4C and O/C it to 3.2 that would have given me what I was after.

What I am trying to say is Corsair has a great product and they stand behind it 200% as you can see by RAM GUY offering to test and replace it if needed. You need to spend more time doing research to find out if all your components are capable of running at the speed you want to hit, key know you’re products, its not the manufactures fault if you don’t buy components that maximize performance.

I will say that if corsair had posted what processor they tested with IE speed ect, it would have made life easier. Or it could be that I did not look hard enough. :)

I do plan on buying anouther GIG of twinx1024 4000pro with in a few weeks.
__________________
P4 3.2 800FSB HT
ASUS P4 C800-E DELUXE REV.1014
CORSAIRTWINX PC4000PRO 1GIG
FX5900XT-VTD 128 /53.03 /DX9.0b
SEAGATE (3) 120 GIGS 2/W RAID 0
MAXTOR 100 GIG
Creative Audigy Platinum Pro
Pacific Digital Mach-8 DVD Burner
Pioneer DVD Rom
450w PSU
XP Pro SP1
Reply With Quote


  #14  
Old 05-19-2004, 05:43 PM
RAM GUY's Avatar
RAM GUY RAM GUY is offline
Corsair Product Guru
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 118,268
POST ID # = 122786
RAM GUY Reputation: 10
Default

At the time we developed XMS4000 the fastest CPU was 2.4C or 2.6C and 2.8 and 3.0C's we coming but not available. We have and do continue to use 2.4C CPU's for XMS3700 and faster modules. And in fact we had to sort the 2.4's we had to get enough to run at 275 MHz for our XMS4400. I will suggest that we add that to the data sheet or something to that affect in the future though. However, www.overclockers.com has a table of CPU and what they will O.C. too I would suggest that any one contemplating this kind of O.C. go there first.
__________________
Support accounts and tickets can be created at https://support.corsair.com.
Reply With Quote


  #15  
Old 05-19-2004, 08:34 PM
Ricbec Ricbec is offline
Registered User
Ricbec's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 235
POST ID # = 122853
Ricbec Reputation: 10
Default

Carcinigen, I spent nearly 2 months researching before I decided on my configuration, the only thing I didnt follow true to form was my GPU, I knew ATI are performing better than Nvidia, but im an Nvidia fan, and couldnt bring myself to go with anything different


Just had a chat with an Authorised Corsair reseller yesterday evening, (to protect company I will not name them) they say that they have had alot of people who have been unable to get the P4P800 to run at Cas2, so many in fact, that they now inform clients that XMS3200C2 wont run as Corsair claims, they sell the modules with thier own rating of 2.5-3-3-6.......interesting

Note:, I am in Australia, and so is this Corsair reseller, is it possible for a "not so good" batch to have been sent our way?, as the vast majority of people posting on here are from the US

Last edited by Ricbec; 05-19-2004 at 08:37 PM.
Reply With Quote


Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help with TWINX1024C2 settings with Asus P4p800 Delux VZT Memory 1 05-26-2004 07:46 PM
Compatibility and beeps: Asus P4P800 Delux and VS512MB400 (matched pair 2x512) freeman2323 Memory 2 04-05-2004 03:38 AM
Asus P4P800 + 1GB 3700 Corsair DDR Breed Warranty and RMA Questions 1 03-22-2004 12:05 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:29 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.