The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Corsair Link

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 252 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
  #61  
Old 09-21-2014, 07:33 AM
Doridian Doridian is offline
Registered User
Doridian's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 49
POST ID # = 728999
Doridian Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by red-ray View Post
I feel we should define and use a mutex to interlock access to the Corsair Link hardware so all our programs can be run at the same time. We should also request that Corsair Link use it.
In SIV (http://rh-software.com/) I have already implemented this and the mutex is called Access_CorsairLink and is in the global namespace (GLOBAL\Access_CorsairLink).
I also added this Mutex to my app already.
Reply With Quote


  #62  
Old 09-21-2014, 07:33 AM
Doridian Doridian is offline
Registered User
Doridian's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 49
POST ID # = 728999
Doridian Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by red-ray View Post
I feel we should define and use a mutex to interlock access to the Corsair Link hardware so all our programs can be run at the same time. We should also request that Corsair Link use it.
In SIV (http://rh-software.com/) I have already implemented this and the mutex is called Access_CorsairLink and is in the global namespace (GLOBAL\Access_CorsairLink).
I also added this Mutex to my app already.
Reply With Quote


1 members found this post helpful.
  #63  
Old 09-21-2014, 07:39 AM
brandtryan brandtryan is offline
Registered User
brandtryan's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 21
POST ID # = 729001
brandtryan Reputation: 12
Default

I'm very grateful for this shining example of community developers. Well done indeed. Thanks to all for the effort!
Reply With Quote


1 members found this post helpful.
  #64  
Old 09-21-2014, 07:40 AM
Doridian Doridian is offline
Registered User
Doridian's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 49
POST ID # = 729002
Doridian Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by brandtryan View Post
I'm very grateful for this shining example of community developers. Well done indeed. Thanks to all for the effort!
I just wish I could convince someone at Corsair to hand me the firmware source code so I can fix the bugs in there as well, because disassembling it is hard and I am not too experienced in reverse-engineering firmware.
Reply With Quote


1 members found this post helpful.
  #65  
Old 09-21-2014, 07:51 AM
brandtryan brandtryan is offline
Registered User
brandtryan's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 21
POST ID # = 729003
brandtryan Reputation: 12
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Doridian View Post
I just wish I could convince someone at Corsair to hand me the firmware source code so I can fix the bugs in there as well, because disassembling it is hard and I am not too experienced in reverse-engineering firmware.
Well, maybe there's a chance of that happening, seeing as there's no competition for this particular product (not that I'm aware of, correct me if I'm wrong). Better yet, why don't they just send it to you, have you fix it, and then pay you for your time :)
Reply With Quote


1 members found this post helpful.
  #66  
Old 09-21-2014, 07:55 AM
brandtryan brandtryan is offline
Registered User
brandtryan's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 21
POST ID # = 729004
brandtryan Reputation: 12
Default

Also -- to any of the developers -- I'm also a software-tester by trade, and if there's anything I can do -- documentation, testing, whatever -- please let me know.
Reply With Quote


  #67  
Old 09-21-2014, 08:59 AM
directhex directhex is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 10
POST ID # = 729011
directhex Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sa1 View Post
Thanks, this seems to work well. I hope that someone converts this into a kernel module.
I'm taking a preliminary look at it (I don't plan on building the PC which will have the Corsair Link components in it for another month, though). It'd be great to cooperate with the existing guys on here who've hacked stuff together, of course.
Reply With Quote


  #68  
Old 09-21-2014, 09:13 AM
directhex directhex is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 10
POST ID # = 729014
directhex Reputation: 10
Default

@red-ray what're the chances of switching from HidLibrary (which is heavily Windows-based) to http://www.signal11.us/oss/hidapi/ (which is cross-platform)? The driver and CLI build fine on linux, but obviously don't run due to the hid.dll P/Invokes in HidLibrary
Reply With Quote


  #69  
Old 09-21-2014, 09:14 AM
Doridian Doridian is offline
Registered User
Doridian's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 49
POST ID # = 729015
Doridian Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by directhex View Post
@red-ray what're the chances of switching from HidLibrary (which is heavily Windows-based) to http://www.signal11.us/oss/hidapi/ (which is cross-platform)? The driver and CLI build fine on linux, but obviously don't run due to the hid.dll P/Invokes in HidLibrary
red-ray is the maker of SIV. Not CL++. That would be me.
I will try swapping to a more cross-platform library if I can get it wrapped up nicely in a .NET DLL. If you know of any existing wrappers, go ahead and poke me with them!
Reply With Quote


  #70  
Old 09-21-2014, 11:09 AM
Doridian Doridian is offline
Registered User
Doridian's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 49
POST ID # = 729017
Doridian Reputation: 10
Default

Good news everyone: I have swapped CorsairLink++ over to the cross-platform HidSharp library! (It is also faster than HidLibrary)
Reply With Quote


  #71  
Old 09-21-2014, 07:30 PM
directhex directhex is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 10
POST ID # = 729066
directhex Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Doridian View Post
red-ray is the maker of SIV. Not CL++. That would be me.
Sorry, it's hard keeping track on a phone screen.
Reply With Quote


  #72  
Old 09-21-2014, 07:31 PM
directhex directhex is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 10
POST ID # = 729068
directhex Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Doridian View Post
Good news everyone: I have swapped CorsairLink++ over to the cross-platform HidSharp library! (It is also faster than HidLibrary)
I've reported one obvious problem in HidSharp to the library's author. It'd be nice if it was just on GitHub or something, but never mind.

I should be able to take a closer look once my kit actually arrives.
Reply With Quote


  #73  
Old 09-25-2014, 05:12 AM
red-ray red-ray is offline
Banned
red-ray's PC Specs
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: England (GMT+1)
Posts: 7,152
POST ID # = 730144
red-ray Reputation: 81
Default Corsair Link Lighting Node will not work

I have now managed to get the Corsair Link Lighting Node to work? SIV can set the LEDs on my H100i, CLCC and Lighting Node. Please let me know how it does on any others.

Last edited by red-ray; 10-15-2014 at 06:00 PM.
Reply With Quote


  #74  
Old 09-25-2014, 07:20 AM
Doridian Doridian is offline
Registered User
Doridian's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 49
POST ID # = 730156
Doridian Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by red-ray View Post
Has anyone managed to get the Corsair Link Lighting Node to work? I can controll the LEDs in the H100i and CLCC with no issues, but the Lighting Node will not work with the V1.1.09 firmware. It's also reporting three LEDs when there are only two connectors. Typically it's reporting Blue rather than the actual LED colours and writing to it changes nothing.



I tried using Corsair Link and it did not even find the Lighting Node.
I am looking more and more through Corsair's nightmare of a software.
Well, the Lighting Node has it's entirely own protocol it seems.
Sadly I don't own one so I can't test too much :(
Reply With Quote


  #75  
Old 09-25-2014, 12:13 PM
red-ray red-ray is offline
Banned
red-ray's PC Specs
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: England (GMT+1)
Posts: 7,152
POST ID # = 730209
red-ray Reputation: 81
Default Lighting Node Registers

I have thus far found the following registers,

// Device ID 0x39 Lighting Node Registers by deduction

#define CNR_BUTTON_1 0x04 // R 1 byte Button 1 State // Range 1 -> 7
#define CNR_BUTTON_2 0x05 // R 1 byte Button 2 State //

#define CNR_LIGHTS_1 0x20 // RW 3 bytes Lights 1 RGB // Changed by buttons
#define CNR_LIGHTS_1_R 0x20 // RW 1 byte Lights 1 R // and writable.
#define CNR_LIGHTS_1_G 0x21 // RW 1 byte Lights 1 G // When written button
#define CNR_LIGHTS_1_B 0x22 // RW 1 byte Lights 1 B // goes to zero.

#define CNR_LIGHTS_2 0x40 // RW 3 bytes Lights 2 RGB //
#define CNR_LIGHTS_2_R 0x40 // RW 1 byte Lights 2 R //
#define CNR_LIGHTS_2_G 0x41 // RW 1 byte Lights 2 G //
#define CNR_LIGHTS_2_B 0x42 // RW 1 byte Lights 2 B //
Reply With Quote


  #76  
Old 10-02-2014, 07:42 PM
WizzyThing WizzyThing is offline
Registered User
WizzyThing's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 61
POST ID # = 732301
WizzyThing Reputation: 10
Default

This is pretty much our version of an alpha:



There are a lot of features missing but the core is done.
Reply With Quote


Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:24 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.