The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > iCUE Software

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-02-2019, 11:13 AM
JestinHoogeveen JestinHoogeveen is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 6
POST ID # = 992315
JestinHoogeveen Reputation: 10
Default External LED strip?

Hello!

I want to buy a new 5m ledstrip and I was wondering if it is possible to connect it to iCue. Currently I'm using 6 fans connected to a Commander PRO.


Regards,
Jestin
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-02-2019, 11:26 AM
DevBiker's Avatar
DevBiker DevBiker is offline
CORSAIR Beta Team
DevBiker's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Republic of Texas
Posts: 7,635
POST ID # = 992317
DevBiker Reputation: 88
Default

At 5m? Not likely.
There's an issue of available power - you are limited to about 60 LEDs when powering from a Lighting Node Pro or Commander Pro. You can double that by powering from an RGB LED Fan Hub.
There's also an issue of LED count. iCUE won't control more than 96 LEDs on a single channel (6xLL RGB fans). 5m is likely more than that. Now, there are things that you can do to hack this but you'd be completely on your own.
Finally, they would need to be the correct type of LED - WS2812B. And, even then, I've had issues with some of the aftermarket general purpose LED strips from Amazon that I've tried out.
__________________
Please click "Edit System Specs" and fill out your system info.

This comment is provided "as-is", without warranty of any kind, express or implied, including, but not limited to, the sanity or mental fitness of the author. The author is not a Corsair employee, does not represent Corsair, and no comment should be construed as an official statement from Corsair.

Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-02-2019, 05:09 PM
LeSnakk's Avatar
LeSnakk LeSnakk is offline
Registered User
LeSnakk's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Germany
Posts: 190
POST ID # = 992364
LeSnakk Reputation: 16
Default

As DevBiker said, 60 LEDs per channel is what the LNP/CP can power. But 5m should not be a problem if you dont pass that limit. You could also, if you have a LNP laying around from your 6 fans, go with 2x 2.5m and/or increase the limit to 120 LEDs if you use both lighting channels.
As far as I know you can also cut WS2812B stripes every one LED.
I've bought quite a few different WS2812B stripes for my LNP online (not from Amazon) and I never ran into issues with them.

I also heard of someone who managed to control stripes connected to an Arduino with Link. He combined both "channels" and got 120 LEDs total

Last edited by LeSnakk; 02-02-2019 at 05:11 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-04-2019, 12:00 AM
Mussels Mussels is offline
Registered User
Mussels's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 114
POST ID # = 992557
Mussels Reputation: 10
Default

I just ran an extension cord (the one that came with my corsair lighting kit) and stuck 4x corsair light strips under my glass desk...

i wasnt aware we could even use third party ones
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-04-2019, 04:11 PM
solarity solarity is offline
CORSAIR Beta Team
solarity's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 707
POST ID # = 992653
solarity Reputation: 33
Default

The most important thing is how many LEDs are on the strip, the length of the strip is less important. As others have said you can 60 LEDs for the LNP. The reason why the RGB Hub can take 96 RGB LEDs strips can only do 60 is due to current restrictions. The header that you plug it into is rated at 3A. Each WS2812B RGB LED can use .06A of current, when white and brightest, so 3A * .06A = 3.6A. Corsair might actual limit the LEDs from getting to bright, to allow for more of them to be used. When you use a RGB hub, you have 16LEDs/Fan. Each fan is plugged into it's own 3A rated header. Each fan only uses .96A per 3A header. The next limitation is the SATA power, which is only rated at 4.5A. If you calculate .96A * 6 = 5.76A, so again Corsair might be limiting the max brightness on white.


Side note I did mod to allow me to use the LNP externally:
__________________
RGB 101 Video: General overview on RGB
Zotty's Corsair Guide: RGB FAQ and Sample Diagrams


Disclaimer: I am not an employee of Corsair all my opinions are my own.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-04-2019, 04:22 PM
DevBiker's Avatar
DevBiker DevBiker is offline
CORSAIR Beta Team
DevBiker's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Republic of Texas
Posts: 7,635
POST ID # = 992654
DevBiker Reputation: 88
Default

Actually, the Corsair LEDs draw a little over 0.3A each at full white. There's a little overhead due to the IC itself as well.
__________________
Please click "Edit System Specs" and fill out your system info.

This comment is provided "as-is", without warranty of any kind, express or implied, including, but not limited to, the sanity or mental fitness of the author. The author is not a Corsair employee, does not represent Corsair, and no comment should be construed as an official statement from Corsair.

Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-05-2019, 02:27 PM
solarity solarity is offline
CORSAIR Beta Team
solarity's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 707
POST ID # = 992756
solarity Reputation: 33
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DevBiker View Post
Actually, the Corsair LEDs draw a little over 0.3A each at full white. There's a little overhead due to the IC itself as well.
This might be true for the Corsair controllers, though I do wonder how much current would be put through it, if it used a different controller. The data sheet for the WS2812B has it rated at 50-60mA. The software control might be limiting it for safety reasons granted there is some variation in the WS2812B. I do wonder if there is some slight variation in Corsair's RGB LEDs. If they hit it's max current at 60 LEDs, it would be over the rating of the 3A header.

https://cdn-shop.adafruit.com/datasheets/WS2812.pdf
According to the document they are designed to take up to 20mA/channel for 60mA total.
__________________
RGB 101 Video: General overview on RGB
Zotty's Corsair Guide: RGB FAQ and Sample Diagrams


Disclaimer: I am not an employee of Corsair all my opinions are my own.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:40 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.