The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > iCUE Software

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-29-2019, 03:36 PM
momorious's Avatar
momorious momorious is offline
Registered User
momorious's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 263
POST ID # = 1016065
momorious Reputation: 12
Default iCUE 3.19 System Interrupts High CPU Usage

Today I downloaded iCUE 3.19 through iCUE.
Directly after the download and install I noticed that Gsync is completely broken, the game image is stuttering like hell and the Hz is not refreshing correctly to the in game FPS.
As this was the ONLY change from yesterday to today I immediately though this can only be related to iCUE. Therefore I unsinstalled 3.19 and installed 3.18 again and voila, Gsync again is working as it should.

BUT NOW ALL MY PROFILES WERE LOST! How the f*** can this happen when I uninstall a version and install an older version? NEVER happened before, what is this for a broken release?

So to all: BE AWARE of the new update and skip it. @Corsair: You should immediately pull 3.19 from the download servers and fix it asap.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-29-2019, 04:20 PM
thestu thestu is offline
Registered User
thestu's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Posts: 29
POST ID # = 1016068
thestu Reputation: 25
Default

I don't know if it's related, but I noticed that one of my CPU core was running close to 100% and it was hardware interrupts, not a process.

I ran Latency Monitor and it was showing high latency with NVIDIA driver and HD audio.

I tried updating all drivers, downgrading, even BIOS update/downgrade.

I didn't think it could be iCUE, but I uninstalled it, rebooted and no more hardware interrupts taking one core of my CPU.

Now Latmon no longer shows latency issue with Nvidia drivers and audio.

Last edited by thestu; 08-29-2019 at 04:39 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-05-2019, 05:07 PM
Talon1's Avatar
Talon1 Talon1 is offline
Talon1
Talon1's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: Toronto Ontario Canada.
Posts: 16
POST ID # = 1017029
Talon1 Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by thestu View Post
I don't know if it's related, but I noticed that one of my CPU core was running close to 100% and it was hardware interrupts, not a process.

I ran Latency Monitor and it was showing high latency with NVIDIA driver and HD audio.

I tried updating all drivers, downgrading, even BIOS update/downgrade.

I didn't think it could be iCUE, but I uninstalled it, rebooted and no more hardware interrupts taking one core of my CPU.

Now Latmon no longer shows latency issue with Nvidia drivers and audio.
Same for me. I also ran Latency Monitor. As a last ditch effort I uninstalled icue to see if it would help and the system interrupts returned to normal. Went back to 3.16.56 and all`s well.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-10-2019, 01:22 PM
osiris1 osiris1 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Posts: 1
POST ID # = 1017652
osiris1 Reputation: 10
Default Same Issue

This is the exact same issue I had. Logs indicated the issue was with my NVIDIA driver or my HD audio driver. Clean reinstalls, removing drivers in safe mode, and disabling hardware in Device Manager did not help. Rolling back to iCUE 3.18.77 is what finally resolved the issue.

Quote:
Originally Posted by thestu View Post
I don't know if it's related, but I noticed that one of my CPU core was running close to 100% and it was hardware interrupts, not a process.

I ran Latency Monitor and it was showing high latency with NVIDIA driver and HD audio.

I tried updating all drivers, downgrading, even BIOS update/downgrade.

I didn't think it could be iCUE, but I uninstalled it, rebooted and no more hardware interrupts taking one core of my CPU.

Now Latmon no longer shows latency issue with Nvidia drivers and audio.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-29-2019, 04:22 PM
momorious's Avatar
momorious momorious is offline
Registered User
momorious's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 263
POST ID # = 1016069
momorious Reputation: 12
Default

That's interesting. I also noticed a 20% FPS loss with 3.19 installed but didn't looked at cpu usage... That would be a perfect explanation of why performance is bad and Gsync doesn't work properly. But for sure this new version is completely broken.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-03-2019, 12:16 PM
Alcasczar Alcasczar is offline
RGB Lunatic
Alcasczar's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: Fairport NY
Posts: 96
POST ID # = 1016702
Alcasczar Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by momorious View Post
That's interesting. I also noticed a 20% FPS loss with 3.19 installed but didn't looked at cpu usage... That would be a perfect explanation of why performance is bad and Gsync doesn't work properly. But for sure this new version is completely broken.
It's the same thing with GSYNC on or off, Its been days and Corsair has been silent about it , at least they could let us know they've acknowledged there is an issue and attempting to fix / pull the download off the site.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-03-2019, 12:59 PM
Excalibur1 Excalibur1 is offline
Registered User
Excalibur1's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: NY
Posts: 4
POST ID # = 1016708
Excalibur1 Reputation: 10
Default

Honestly, I just came to the conclusion that it's better to just not have any RGB software from any company running at all, ever. Just set your colors and close it forever because none of these guys can be trusted to make a working piece of software. Like others have said, how is this still available to download?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 08-29-2019, 04:28 PM
thestu thestu is offline
Registered User
thestu's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Posts: 29
POST ID # = 1016071
thestu Reputation: 25
Default

The thing is that with task manager and multicore cpu, it won't be too noticeable. In my case Interrupts were between 6-7% which is about 100% / 12 cores = 8%

Also, it was core 0 and applications that were using this core would suffer.

Now I'm back to 3.18 and no more issues.

Last edited by thestu; 08-29-2019 at 04:34 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 08-29-2019, 04:39 PM
momorious's Avatar
momorious momorious is offline
Registered User
momorious's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 263
POST ID # = 1016072
momorious Reputation: 12
Default

Because all my profiles were deleted I decided to try 3.19 again after your answers and indeed, that's the issue. One cpu core is set to 100% usage almost all the time. It even slows desktop browsing down to laggy. And 20-30% FPS loss in games with massive stuttering and non working Gsync.
So, Corsair, issue found, now pull the 3.19 release and release a fix. But please test the new version before you send it to public, unbelievable that such a massive groundbreaking issue can go through betatesting.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 08-29-2019, 04:44 PM
thestu thestu is offline
Registered User
thestu's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Posts: 29
POST ID # = 1016073
thestu Reputation: 25
Default

I was about to do the same, because I can't import my profiles that I exported with 3.19...

For single thread application using that core, they will suffer a lot as hardware interrupts have higher priority.

Thanks for confirming momorious ;)
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 08-29-2019, 05:31 PM
c-attack c-attack is offline
Registered User
c-attack's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 9,382
POST ID # = 1016080
c-attack c-attack Reputation: 107
Default

I don't know... I have been using this version for several weeks prior to release. I have a 3440x1440 G-sync ultra wide that is picky about everything, but not this version of CUE. I have not experienced anything like what you are talking about. Obviously something happened, but it may have been local issue versus an inherent problem with that version. Make sure iCUE is on the exception list and you are not using G-sync Windowed mode. That seems to cause problems for everything. There also was a Nvidia driver update yesterday. Hopefully you are not on the automatic download and install settings for that.

Yeah, you have to watch out on the software versions and profiles exports. You can't use profiles created or exported on a higher version on a lower version. This is a major pain in the @@@ if you have to go backwards after a lot of creative work. I have been burned before. I would not invest any major creative time on a new release until you are sure it works for you. The other thing I do is back up the entire C:User/(name)/App Data (hidden)/Roaming/Corsair folder before each iCUE install and save it in a labeled folder. That will let me go back if needed and restore the prior state. However, be aware there are limitations to that and it will not help if you have to make a hardware change.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 08-29-2019, 05:52 PM
thestu thestu is offline
Registered User
thestu's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Posts: 29
POST ID # = 1016082
thestu Reputation: 25
Default

I forgot to mention that I do not have Gsync and had the issue. I have the latest NVIDIA driver though as it was one of my troubleshooting step. I had 431.x before.

I guess it is a lesson learned for me, always make backup before update!

Now, I have to wait a new version higher than 3.19 to restore my profiles...

Thanks for the info c-attack!

Last edited by thestu; 08-29-2019 at 09:32 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 08-30-2019, 12:11 AM
momorious's Avatar
momorious momorious is offline
Registered User
momorious's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 263
POST ID # = 1016107
momorious Reputation: 12
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by c-attack View Post
I don't know... I have been using this version for several weeks prior to release. I have a 3440x1440 G-sync ultra wide that is picky about everything, but not this version of CUE. I have not experienced anything like what you are talking about. Obviously something happened, but it may have been local issue versus an inherent problem with that version. Make sure iCUE is on the exception list and you are not using G-sync Windowed mode. That seems to cause problems for everything. There also was a Nvidia driver update yesterday. Hopefully you are not on the automatic download and install settings for that.

Yeah, you have to watch out on the software versions and profiles exports. You can't use profiles created or exported on a higher version on a lower version. This is a major pain in the @@@ if you have to go backwards after a lot of creative work. I have been burned before. I would not invest any major creative time on a new release until you are sure it works for you. The other thing I do is back up the entire C:User/(name)/App Data (hidden)/Roaming/Corsair folder before each iCUE install and save it in a labeled folder. That will let me go back if needed and restore the prior state. However, be aware there are limitations to that and it will not help if you have to make a hardware change.
I did all profiles with 3.18 or before 3.18 and all profiles were deleted after Uninstall of 3.19 and re-install of 3.18 so what you describe is not my issue. The profiles should not have been deleted with the Uninstall of 3.19 in the first place, that's the issue.

And no, as I said, the ONLY change from Wednesday to Yesterday was the iCUE update. EVERYTHING else is exactly the same as on Wednesday where everything ran smoothly so the issue of 20-30% FPS loss and broken Gsync because of overloaded cpu usage is DIRECTLY related to the new 3.19 icue release! I even proved that by installing 3.19 again yesterday after I installed 3.18 where everything was fine again and boom, again directly the stutter in Game and 100% cpu usage on one core. 3.19 is definitely broken, maybe not with your system but at least there are systems out there which are affected by a bug bug and corsair have to immediately stop the 3.19 release and invest in better Betatester and QC.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 08-30-2019, 08:15 AM
c-attack c-attack is offline
Registered User
c-attack's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 9,382
POST ID # = 1016135
c-attack c-attack Reputation: 107
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by momorious View Post
I did all profiles with 3.18 or before 3.18 and all profiles were deleted after Uninstall of 3.19 and re-install of 3.18 so what you describe is not my issue. The profiles should not have been deleted with the Uninstall of 3.19 in the first place, that's the issue.
No, that is the issue. Once you upgrade to a new version, all your profiles are immediately tagged with the new version profile format. The moment you installed 3.19, all your profile data in App Data folder became 3.19 profiles. When you go back to 3.18, you now have a data folder full of unrecognizable 3.19 profiles and thus the "vanished" look. If you were to go into the data folder, they may still be there, but are effectively lost. There is no way to turn them back into 3.18 profiles. I understand and I was steaming mad the first time. Lesson learned.

You do seem to be having an issue, but you are the only one thus far. Normally I would say stick to 3.18 and know your life is otherwise not affected by anything in 3.19. However, if you did not tell iCUE to delete the profile/settings data when you uninstalled, it may still be there and re-installing 3.19 may bring the profiles back. That would be an incentive to try and work things out. Hard to say on this end what is happening to you. Besides the normal steps of making sure you are not applying Gsync to windowed mode and the iCUE app, I would probably reinstall 3.19 and then reinstall the GPU driver through normal means (not the silly GFE).

*Of note, iCUE obviously has a GPU element to rendering all those little graphs and animations. Any time you uninstall GPU drivers, it is going to crash the app. I suggest fully exiting iCUE on the Task Manager level before doing any GPU installs/removals. It should just crash and that's it, but why take unnecessary chances with annoying stuff like this.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 08-30-2019, 08:21 AM
momorious's Avatar
momorious momorious is offline
Registered User
momorious's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 263
POST ID # = 1016137
momorious Reputation: 12
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by c-attack View Post
No, that is the issue. Once you upgrade to a new version, all your profiles are immediately tagged with the new version profile format. The moment you installed 3.19, all your profile data in App Data folder became 3.19 profiles. When you go back to 3.18, you now have a data folder full of unrecognizable 3.19 profiles and thus the "vanished" look. If you were to go into the data folder, they may still be there, but are effectively lost. There is no way to turn them back into 3.18 profiles. I understand and I was steaming mad the first time. Lesson learned.

You do seem to be having an issue, but you are the only one thus far. Normally I would say stick to 3.18 and know your life is otherwise not affected by anything in 3.19. However, if you did not tell iCUE to delete the profile/settings data when you uninstalled, it may still be there and re-installing 3.19 may bring the profiles back. That would be an incentive to try and work things out. Hard to say on this end what is happening to you. Besides the normal steps of making sure you are not applying Gsync to windowed mode and the iCUE app, I would probably reinstall 3.19 and then reinstall the GPU driver through normal means (not the silly GFE).

*Of note, iCUE obviously has a GPU element to rendering all those little graphs and animations. Any time you uninstall GPU drivers, it is going to crash the app. I suggest fully exiting iCUE on the Task Manager level before doing any GPU installs/removals. It should just crash and that's it, but why take unnecessary chances with annoying stuff like this.
Thats not correct. I already did update to a new version, disliked that version, uninstalled that version and went back to the older version WITHOUT losing all profiles so it is very much possible to downgrade to an older version, of course.

And no, I am not the only one with the high CPU usage bug as you can read in this thread. And I bet there are a lot of other users out there with that issue once you can download it through the Corsair sites (which is still not the case, you only get it through icue itself atm and not everyone clicks every day on the check for update button without seeing here in the forums a sticky that there is a new version - which was also not posted yet). Therefore the user-group is indeed VERY small for now and this issue will become widespread once its release is communicated and published on the corsair site.

And as you can also read, I already re-installed 3.19 to check the CPU usage bug - profiles still all deleted, folder empty btw, completely vanilla.

Dont know why you defend corsair that much. Yes, obviously you are a betatester but there is an abvoius bug which cant be ignored and defended.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:42 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.