Corsair Community

Water temp hardly changes?

wzrd

VFpfFqN.jpg

Hi

I'm new to AIO and I don't fully know how the heat of CPU is transmitted while its stressed. The temperatures of idle and stressed scenarios are like below.

Idle

CPU: 50C

AIO: 20.6C (X)

Stressed

CPU:80C

AIO:21.7 (Y)

(Picture)

Water temp difference(X-Y)= 1.1C

The water temp hardly changes. Is it normal behavior of AIO? My impression is its not working properly but PC doesn't shut down so far, so it is at least cooled by AIO?

[EDIT]

Clarify the numbers.

Edited by wzrd

Yes, it’s normal. As you are putting heat into the cooling system, the fans and radiator are moving it out. Coolant temperature change is the measure of conducted heat in vs dissipated heat out. When you put in more than you can remove, the temp goes up. Move out more heat than is added, coolant goes down. Room temp or more specifically case ambient temp is the minimum possible coolant temperature. Realistically, +2-3C over ambient is the bottom rung.

If you want to test the premise, set the fans to zero and run the stress test again. This time you can watch the coolant temp tick upwards. Regardless coolant temp changes involve a sustained wattage over time. It never jumps about like the CPU dancing on the pins.

Yes, it’s normal. As you are putting heat into the cooling system, the fans and radiator are moving it out. Coolant temperature change is the measure of conducted heat in vs dissipated heat out. When you put in more than you can remove, the temp goes up. Move out more heat than is added, coolant goes down. Room temp or more specifically case ambient temp is the minimum possible coolant temperature. Realistically, +2-3C over ambient is the bottom rung.

If you want to test the premise, set the fans to zero and run the stress test again. This time you can watch the coolant temp tick upwards. Regardless coolant temp changes involve a sustained wattage over time. It never jumps about like the CPU dancing on the pins.