The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Cooling

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-10-2018, 12:49 AM
thebartster thebartster is offline
Registered User
thebartster's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 8
POST ID # = 972083
thebartster Reputation: 10
Default LL140 / asus aura

Just built a new pc, only have one of these at the rear for a little bit extra RGB at the back of the case. Evertyhing went great, the build was a success! LL fan lighting up and looking cool. I then download some software, Asus Aura, for my GPU/mobo. The instant Aura finished installing, the LL stopped lighting up and now i can no longer get my LL fan to light up.
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 09-10-2018, 01:06 AM
Zotty's Avatar
Zotty Zotty is offline
CORSAIR Beta Team
Zotty's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: South Staffordshire, England, UK
Posts: 3,051
POST ID # = 972087
Zotty Reputation: 52
Default

Hi buddy.. need more info..

How do You have the LL fan Wired up?
Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 09-10-2018, 01:16 AM
thebartster thebartster is offline
Registered User
thebartster's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 8
POST ID # = 972088
thebartster Reputation: 10
Default

Yeah i have it wired into the top rgb header on the motherboard. Like i said, it was working fine, then the instant asus aura installed, it stopped lighting up. I uninstalled aura, tried the diffrent versions of the software they offer on their website, nothing. I just cant get it to light up anymore.

Last edited by thebartster; 09-10-2018 at 01:19 AM.
Reply With Quote


  #4  
Old 09-10-2018, 01:22 AM
Zotty's Avatar
Zotty Zotty is offline
CORSAIR Beta Team
Zotty's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: South Staffordshire, England, UK
Posts: 3,051
POST ID # = 972090
Zotty Reputation: 52
Default

So the Fan is wired direct to the motherboard?... that's your problem buddy..

Corsair Fans need to go to an RGB Fan LED Hub and indeed need a Commander Pro or a Lighting Node Pro for the RGB Fan LED Hub to connect to...

more below...

http://forum.corsair.com/v3/showthread.php?t=173880
Reply With Quote


  #5  
Old 09-10-2018, 01:25 AM
Zotty's Avatar
Zotty Zotty is offline
CORSAIR Beta Team
Zotty's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: South Staffordshire, England, UK
Posts: 3,051
POST ID # = 972091
Zotty Reputation: 52
Default

Fairly confident your fan is now damaged dude...
Reply With Quote


  #6  
Old 09-10-2018, 01:35 AM
thebartster thebartster is offline
Registered User
thebartster's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 8
POST ID # = 972095
thebartster Reputation: 10
Default

I see, i was under the impression if i had 1 or 2 RGB headers i didint need to get a HUB, (I only wanted the 1 RGB fan). Also, it was literally running fine with its default scheme for a day until i installed aura.
Reply With Quote


  #7  
Old 09-10-2018, 01:40 AM
Zotty's Avatar
Zotty Zotty is offline
CORSAIR Beta Team
Zotty's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: South Staffordshire, England, UK
Posts: 3,051
POST ID # = 972097
Zotty Reputation: 52
Default

I have the Asus z370-f my self... i can't see any headers suitable for plugging the RGB side of the fan into. all have different sockets to the fan.

Don't be surprised if you killed the fan dude :(.. surprised it lasted a Day my self.. some of those headers are 12v... the fan is 5v for it's RGB
Reply With Quote


  #8  
Old 09-10-2018, 01:47 AM
thebartster thebartster is offline
Registered User
thebartster's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 8
POST ID # = 972099
thebartster Reputation: 10
Default

Havent been playing with computers for over 10 years, so its a learning curve getting back into it. Everything else went well, except, this. According to my mobo manual, theres some 12v RGB slots, and also some 5v RGB slots. but, it was in a 12v slot.
Reply With Quote


  #9  
Old 09-10-2018, 01:54 AM
thebartster thebartster is offline
Registered User
thebartster's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 8
POST ID # = 972101
thebartster Reputation: 10
Default

Didint do any reasearch into the fans, thinking i could just plug them in, silly me.
Reply With Quote


  #10  
Old 09-10-2018, 01:56 AM
Zotty's Avatar
Zotty Zotty is offline
CORSAIR Beta Team
Zotty's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: South Staffordshire, England, UK
Posts: 3,051
POST ID # = 972102
Zotty Reputation: 52
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by thebartster View Post
Didint do any reasearch into the fans, thinking i could just plug them in, silly me.
yeah it's a bit of a minefield out there buddy..


I did the same as you.. time away from PC's. did the Console life for while as my kids grew up.. they all left home now so i came back to Pc's

Last edited by Zotty; 09-10-2018 at 01:58 AM.
Reply With Quote


  #11  
Old 09-10-2018, 01:57 AM
Zotty's Avatar
Zotty Zotty is offline
CORSAIR Beta Team
Zotty's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: South Staffordshire, England, UK
Posts: 3,051
POST ID # = 972103
Zotty Reputation: 52
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by thebartster View Post
but, it was in a 12v slot.
Dead Fan dude :(
Reply With Quote


  #12  
Old 09-10-2018, 02:01 AM
thebartster thebartster is offline
Registered User
thebartster's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 8
POST ID # = 972104
thebartster Reputation: 10
Default

Fan still works fine just no light :( you sure it dead? :( Appreciate the info also my man.
Reply With Quote


  #13  
Old 09-10-2018, 02:05 AM
Zotty's Avatar
Zotty Zotty is offline
CORSAIR Beta Team
Zotty's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: South Staffordshire, England, UK
Posts: 3,051
POST ID # = 972106
Zotty Reputation: 52
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by thebartster View Post
Fan still works fine just no light :( you sure it dead? :( Appreciate the info also my man.
the Power side of (makes it spin) is a separate circuit to the RGB side of it. so it will spin fine... but I would be super confident you popped the RGB side of it
Reply With Quote


  #14  
Old 09-10-2018, 02:07 AM
Zotty's Avatar
Zotty Zotty is offline
CORSAIR Beta Team
Zotty's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: South Staffordshire, England, UK
Posts: 3,051
POST ID # = 972107
Zotty Reputation: 52
Default

And Don't feel bad about it dude.. you are not the first and wont be the last....

its the reason i did the Faq thread i linked to.... just not enough info supplied in this RGBz world....
Reply With Quote


  #15  
Old 09-10-2018, 02:08 AM
thebartster thebartster is offline
Registered User
thebartster's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 8
POST ID # = 972108
thebartster Reputation: 10
Default

Yea i understand, thanks again
Reply With Quote


Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:32 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.